We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

room was very warm and very noisy late in the night, so make sure and ask for a room on a quiet level.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Magherabuoy is a brilliant hotel. I have ate dinner there on many occasions they provide a brilliant carvery.Also there is a cafe attached to the hotel which makes brilliant scones and homemade desserts! Definitely worth a visit! I have also stayed the night in a spacious, clean, up-to-date room. I also had my wedding there and from the moment I met Bridget the events coordinator i knew my wedding was in safe hands. Every detail was perfect even when we changed our minds so many times. The Magherabuoy is so versatile. They can accommodate wedding receptions from 10 guests to 200! Bridget was amazingly helpful in every detail from the dinner menu to the chair covers! They have great settings for photographs with the coast close by and also great indoor settings for the wetter days! We couldn't have asked for a better day and we couldn't have done it all so efficiently without their help! Thanks for everything and we would recommend you 100%!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The hotel is situated a short walk or drive from the center of town and is a good choice for visiting sites along the antrim coast. Rooms are spacious and well kept. Staff are really great- super friendly and helpful. The hotel often hosts events and depending on the event, some evenings, the place might have the air of a club. The rooms are separated from the main hall so noise was not a problem. Had a really good steak one night for dinner from the restaurant. Breakfast buffet had good choices and was constant and good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

To be fair I only enquired about the Magherabuoy as all Portrush hotels located IN town were all booked out. It's about a fiver taxi ride into town. Reception staff were very pleasant and room was spacious, airy, clean and bright;
Slight blot on the scorecard - breakfast was greasy (I know it's called a fry for a reason but it was a little overgreasy for my taste)
All in all, a good hotel, just add the price of taxis onto the room rate if you intend spending time in town and having a couple of drinks in the process.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GAWA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Magerhabuoy for one night and although the Hotel is very nice, with good standard of accomodation the noise between rooms is awful. We could hear the rooms upstairs and beside us, along with constant road noise. Breakfast was included in the room price and was nice but it took them a long time to replenish empty cooked items.
When we told the receptionist that we weren't happy with our stay she simply smiled and continued with the payment. We definately won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loryarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights to visit the north Antrim coastline and it is very well located in order to do this and it is well placed for Portrush which is a 5 Euro taxi fare away..The Good parts.....A good clean and modern spacious hotel with plenty of car parking space.Very helpful Reception staff and the hotel staff are very friendly.Rooms are well appointed and comfortable but some face residential houses and have no net curtains so you need to note this..Breakfast quality varies dependent on where it is and what is going on in the hotel.This is a large hotel and caters for conferences and weddings.We experienced a large conference and two weddings which made it a bit hectic so you need to be aware of this.On our day of arrival we were told the restaurant was closed due to the conference numbers but the Bistro was open so we settled for this as we had travelled from England and did not fancy going out that evening.Upon our arrival at the Bistro at 8pm we were told that had closed early which left us with not much option but to go out for a meal.The receptionist was very apologetic and when we returned after our evening meal we were advised that the General Manager had arranged for us to have a complimentary meal in the restaurant during our stay.
The restaurant however was only offering the Bistro menu which was a bit disappointing and whilst the starter and pudding were fine the main course was not good..To make up for this we did not have to pay for our drinks which went part of the way for make up for the below par meal...We have stayed in numerous Best Western Hotels so our expectations are always high ,so on the food front this hotel fell a bit short.
We also were located close to some wedding guest's rooms and so on one night we were kept awake until the early hours..Whilst we have a few moans the hotel was generally of a good standard but we suggest you check to see what is going on during the time of your stay as it appears popular for large functions so may not suit all holidaying guests

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms appear best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Well situated for visiting North Antrim coast line including Bushmills, Giants Causeway, and Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge. Spacious room well equipped and reasonably good value. Although well equipped the bedrooms, albeit with comfortable beds, were lacking in character and comfort due to non sound absorbency of carpets and lack of upholstered chairs at the table in the room. En-suite was spacious and very clean. We used the bistro for dinner as the restaurant was closed which was pleasant enough and with a very eclectic mix of customers!! Whilst the hotel all seemed very adequate it was just missing that bit of pzazz that would make it a memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to ensure a front facing room at least on the first floor to obtain any ocean views as the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PedroBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.5 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
1.1 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
422 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#6 of 8 in Portrush
278 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magherabuoy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magherabuoy House Hotel

Address: 41 Magheraboy Road, Portrush BT56 8NX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#5 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range: £63 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magherabuoy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished country mansion and three-star, family-friendly hotel offering luxury, en-suite bedrooms and free on-site car parking. Some rooms with views across the Atlantic Ocean. Bedrooms include large doubles/twins, superior, family and accessible bedrooms. Broadband is free throughout and the Hotel offers a range of dining options. Tea room open Mon-Sat 10am-4pm. Carvery Lunch served on Sundays from 12.30pm-2.30pm. Food is served in the Bistro every evening from 4pm. Located under two miles from Royal Portrush, the Hotel is ideal for those wanting to sample the famous links. Also within a half hour's car drive of the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Magherabuoy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Magherabuoy Hotel
Best Western Portrush
Portrush Best Western
Magherabuoy House Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing