We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in august.i couldn't fault the hotel. on arrival the receptionists were very friendly. The rooms were very spacious and immaculately clean. rooms were serviced promptly . breakfast was buffet style food was piping hot and there was great variety. The staff were very attentive and would go out of their way to help. we had to move rooms for the second night and we had to be away early and the staff offered to move our luggage. will definitely.stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Magherabuoy House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

on the first night we stayed he we decided to try the restaurant, it wasn't good. after waiting 25 minuets for some one to take our order we decided to approach the staff our selves. when are drinks arrived you needed binoculars to see them as they where tiny! when our starters arrived the chief hadn't even got the curtsy to pop then in the micro wave for long enough, so they where still frozen in the middle ( we sent them back twice and they where still frozen). when we got our mains two of us had ordered stake for starters it was burnt when we asked for medium rare second it was that tough you could stand your fork up in it and third it was cold and it tasted like it had been micro waved

after the meal we went back to our room it was ok but very tired and a bit disproportional we had a tiny tv on a enormous wall you also had a tiny picture and a big wall. the beds where the worst though there is just no words to describe how bad they where and to top it off that night the hotel kept having power cuts it would come on and then go off again making it impossible to charge your phone.

the next morning we got up and went to the buffet breakfast ( expecting it to be as bad as the meal ) but it was actually really good there was lots to choose from and the cooked meat was very nice.

im sorry but for what we payed we have definitely stayed in better hotels if you are going to portrush then i would definitely recommend you go to the ramada hotel not this one

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed one night last bank holiday weekend. Room was fine, but very little hot water.Had food in bar area and it was not very good. Went to breakfast (8am) and buffet area not set up properly and food was not great. Not sure I be returning to this hotel in a hurry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I am just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel with my wife and our 2 boys,aged 8 and 11.This was our first visit to this hotel,and I have to admit that it was 'fantastic'.Our room consisted of a double bed and two single beds and was nice and modern,as was the bathroom.The breakfast was a buffet type and could not be faulted in any way.The breakfast did us all day,to tea time!!! Or room was serviced promptly by the housekeeping staff.All drinks in the bar are very reasonably priced, and we could walk into Portrush in about 15 mins.I would recommend anyone looking to stay in Portrush, to book this hotel.....you won't be disappointed!!......we will definately be back in 2014!!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Adamco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights with husband and 2 children.. All staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast and evening meal was lovely. Cleaning staff came in on second morning and left more towels, tea/coffee etc. Thank you.
Will stay again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a wedding and have to say from start to finish i could not fault anything rooms very spacious food lovely and it caters for all kinds family couples whatever you want it sisuated about 1/2 mile outside portrush so its nice and quiet. I would definatley stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

It had been a while from we have eaten here and because we have always enjoyed it we came back but we were very disappointed. The man who seated us was not very friendly. He was in a stripy shirt and not sure if he was a manager or not but our menus were thrown down at our places before we sat down. We had a toddler with us but I had to ask for the colouring pencils and paper and get them myself. (they needed sharpening). We then asked for a spare plate to put my toddlers dinner on as he doesn't eat big portions yet and we give him some of our food but this man brought out a large dinner plate that was really HOT. The waitress was really nice that served us our food but the portions were small and we left still hungry. Very disappointed and will not be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.5 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
1.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
710 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
411 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,854 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#6 of 8 in Portrush
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magherabuoy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magherabuoy House Hotel

Address: 41 Magheraboy Road, Portrush BT56 8NX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#5 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range: £69 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magherabuoy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished country mansion and three-star, family-friendly hotel offering luxury, en-suite bedrooms and free on-site car parking. Some rooms with views across the Atlantic Ocean. Bedrooms include large doubles/twins, superior, family and accessible bedrooms. Broadband is free throughout and the Hotel offers a range of dining options. Tea room open Mon-Sat 10am-4pm. Carvery Lunch served on Sundays from 12.30pm-2.30pm. Food is served in the Bistro every evening from 4pm. Located under two miles from Royal Portrush, the Hotel is ideal for those wanting to sample the famous links. Also within a half hour's car drive of the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Magherabuoy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Magherabuoy Hotel
Best Western Portrush
Portrush Best Western
Magherabuoy House Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing