We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having a party!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Having a party!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It's a great hotel, good rooms, nice public areas and very friendly staff. Situated just on the outskirts of town, you will either be using a taxi or staying to eat and drink in the Hotel bar bistro area….. but if you go at the weekend, you would need to be ready for a party because there seems to be a younger crowd using the hotel on weekends and it can get a bit rowdy. But not in a bad way, just noisy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying-inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    107
    61
    30
    6
See reviews for
94
160
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I spent a very long day driving the Antrim Coast and ended our day in Portrush. We were delighted to find Magherabuoy House. It was so clean and staff were so friendly and so helpful - it was just a wonderful place to end a wonderful day. Our room was large and clean and comfortable. The desk staff could not have been more pleasant, thank you. The restaurant was clean and food was delicious. The early morning views out to sea were spectacular...and breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Visited in feb 2013 and planning another trip this year at some stage. Lovely spacious rooms with massive comfy beds! Lovely breakfast, great location with plenty of parking! Only a short distance to the town and beach. Would recommend :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

As a bit of a break after Christmas me and my husband booked into the hotel, on arrival the room was not ready so we headed to the bar for some lunch and a drink which turned out to be very nice and the bar was full of very pleasant staff. The room was clean, spacious and we both were very impressed. After hitting the main town for a meal we returned for a good nights sleep this is when things went dramatically down hill. From about 2am the noise began there where quests running up and down the corridors without any consideration for the other quest in the hotel they were banging doors, shouting at one another and smoking in the hotel which has a no smoking policy. At no point did any member of staff come and deal with all the goings on, this noise continued on until 7am and on having enough of no sleep all night we got dressed and checked out which we have never had to do before in any other hotel in Portrush or further a field. So on this note the 60 mile drive home to Belfast was the worst ever.

I will definitely not be recommending this hotel to anyone and we will not be returning anytime soon. It will be the Ramada or the Adelphi we will be returning to everytime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If going to the north coast great hotel to say, room big and clean the shower is amazing ,food great, stayed 2 nights we really got a great deal online from there web site,the breakfast was really filling as , we hope to be back in th near future .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Reception nice n welcoming. Room big but carpet had patches added n looked dirty. Tv very small n atmosphere not cosy due to size n no pictures. Bed comfy n bath was good. Breakfast uninspiring. Was in bar room as quiet on the Friday. Saturday busier. Food ok but try town restaurants as lots of character. Overall ok stay but missing something n not sure what.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airportspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Friday night with girlfriend, room was so large and very clean. Although clean there were big patches of carpet on the floor which was a bit odd. Bathroom was spotless and the power shower was amazing. We visited the bistro and both had the burger melts made with steak with the red onion relish very well seasoned and tasted beautiful and the cheesecake was really light and tasty. Overall a nice place but could do with a severe decorative overall both inside and out.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mclovin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.5 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
953 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
664 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
376 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magherabuoy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magherabuoy House Hotel

Property: Magherabuoy House Hotel
Address: 41 Magheraboy Road, Portrush BT56 8NX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#5 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Magherabuoy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished country mansion and three-star, family-friendly hotel offering luxury, en-suite bedrooms and free on-site car parking. Some rooms with views across the Atlantic Ocean. Bedrooms include large doubles/twins, superior, family and accessible bedrooms. Broadband is free throughout and the Hotel offers a range of dining options. Tea room open Mon-Sat 10am-4pm. Carvery Lunch served on Sundays from 12.30pm-2.30pm. Food is served in the Bistro every evening from 4pm. Located under two miles from Royal Portrush, the Hotel is ideal for those wanting to sample the famous links. Also within a half hour's car drive of the Giant's Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Magherabuoy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Magherabuoy Hotel
Best Western Portrush
Portrush Best Western
Magherabuoy House Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing