We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't want to come home!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Collie Kim says 'Pets Welcome - I'll watch the cat-flap!' Master bedroom with clock radio & sleigh-bed. Also hair dryer.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Collie Kim says 'Pets Welcome - I'll watch the cat-flap!'
Master bedroom with clock radio & sleigh-bed. Also hair dryer.
Christmas at the Huston Farmhouse Portrush
Roasting enclosed fire in the extension to the kitchen. Underfloor heating. Sofas for 6.
Spaniels enjoying the fields
Kim enjoying the fire in the Cosy Living Room. TV, DVD Bluray all in here. Rough walls for cosy feel
Sign at end of lane to guide visitors. Set of semi-detached houses across the road. Bus stop 50m.
Aerial picture of farm. No other rental properties on site.
Lounge seats 6 with enclosed multi-fuel stove. Stove is independent of underfloor heating.
Lounge - picture windows - views over hills to South and West.
Kitchen with 6-burner gas cooker and 2 electric ovens and separate grill.
Diamond models the gate at the end of the house from the garden to the yard - keeps many dogs in.
Dedicated private bathroom upstairs - shower and bath with comfy seat! Shaver socket 110/220V.
Twin bedroom. Clock radio, wardrobe. Garden view to South towards Coleraine.
Single bedroom. Now wardrobe. Clock radio. View to historic farmyard with whitewashed outbuildings.
Downstairs shower room - walk-in power shower. Shaver socket.
Kitchen from lounge. Farmhouse table seats 10.
Winter scene 2010 from the lane, towards Farmhouse.
Master bedroom - view 2
Porch at Christmas
New 2016 - child gate keeps dogs downstairs. Can also be used for children! Easily removed.
Double USB charging socket in kitchen. To left of sink.
If you don't have dogs or children to keep downstairs, open gate then push this tab & lift to remove
2018 and the last of the doors and windows in the yard are sympathetically replaced.
2018 windows replaced in byte and stable plus new stable doors.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portrush, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sophie H
Blackhall Mill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to come home!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Just returned home from a weeks visit to The Huston Farmhouse and we were all sad to leave! Booked originally as a base for us to attend a wedding in Portrush we were accompanied by our two children under 6 and the useful grandparents.

The farm suits a family very well with separate bathrooms upstairs and down and a snug TV room for the kids. There is not a high chair or a cot which is something to note if you have wee ones but this could easily be rectified and we took our own along.

The accommodation was spotlessly clean upon arrival and I am a fussy guest so I am not easily impressed! The bathroom upstairs was beautiful and the underfloor heating kept us very cosy.

Near to both Portrush and Portstuart the farmhouse is a great base from which to explore Northern Ireland's beach lined coast and causeway. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness of the house
Liked least: Not much space to unpack. Master bedroom could do with a wardrobe.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
So glad you had a great time at the Farmhouse, we look forward to having you all back. Don't wait for another wedding for an excuse to visit.

And of course there's the 10% discount off published rates for returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oddjob60
north london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed 5 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I travelled with my husband and 2 children of 21 and 19. The standard of decoration and facilities is outstanding. The master bedroom and bathroom are huge. The kitchen is very well equipped and has everything you require.
The booking was easy ans information received helpful.
We would return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size, peaceful equipment
Liked least: cleaning out the fire
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2012
Delighted to hear that a group with older children - doubtless they want called adults - loved their time at the Farmhouse. These days the wifi seems to be a big draw with all the family. We hope you will be back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linear_gr...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed 26 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This is a return trip for us to the Huston Farmhouse and we had another fabulous stay. We had some gorgeous weather permitting great walks on the nearby beachs and when it rained we just lit the stove, snuggled up and did a jigsaw (thoughtfully provided by the owners) and watched the rain from the picture windows. The house has everything a family could want and the children are already asking when we can go back again. Perfect half term.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped house - everything you need is there
Liked least: N Ireland weather!! Not much that can be done about that!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2012
So glad you enjoyed your return visit to the Farmhouse. We look forward to welccming you back in 2013.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clara H
Moira, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - so pet friendly, we've booked again! Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We absolutely loved this property. It is beautifully finished and well maintained. It is obviously a much loved family holiday home, which is well looked after by Gladys. We have struggled to find nice accommodation which is genuinely pet friendly. We have 3 Shetland Sheepdogs and they are our babies, so when a property says 'Dogs welcome - outside' that is just not going to be good enough! We were delighted to find that not only were our boys welcome in the house, but there were dog beds, food bowls, chews and pooper scooper bags provided. Our welcome pack was equally impressive with tea, ground coffee, sugar, milk, butter, wheaten bread, veda bread and more! The house is spacious and well equipped (there is even WiFi). The patio and garden were great so we could keep an eye on Riley, Finn and Bailey whilst they played outside. The views were lovely and the location is ideal for visiting the beaches and attractions of the North Coast and further afield, or just chilling out with a book from their wee library. If you're out and about, don't forget a trip to Morelli's in Portstewart for an ice cream to enjoy on the Strand.
Thank you so much Adrian & Felicity for a lovely break. We can't wait to go back for a fortnight in September.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pet Friendly
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2012
Glad you and the dogs had such a good time. Have passed your praise on to Gladys our cleaner. We look forward to welcoming you and the 'boys' back next month.
Adrian Huston
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomack777
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay in Beautiful Cottage on the Coast”
Reviewed 18 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My dear friends & I recently vsitied from Perth, Australia. The farmhouse gave us a wonderful place to spend a relaxing week with my son & daughter-in-law who joined us from Belfast. We spend the few days of our stay visiting Giant's Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede, Bushmills Distillery, Portrush, Coleriane, Rathlin Island and had a wonderful meal at the nearby Bushmills Inn. One of the hightlights for me was waking up to the gentle sounds of the countryside every morning - it is difficult not to relax & unwind in such beautiful & peaceful surroundings. It was wonderful cooking together in the evenings and sharing a meal around the beautiful table which is the focus of the cosy kitchen. Adrian was so helpful throughout our planning and our stay - even called to check we were all settled in! A beautiful cottage and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen Table to congregate & share a meal
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay. The farmhouse kitchen table seating 10 does tend to be a focal point in the house and Felicity and I are glad you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmElizJo
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“First Class Accommodation”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We were a diverse group comprising two generations of a very exacting family, one member who was disabled and a large, lively dog.

I found booking very easy and was grateful as we needed to book a break at short notice. Adrian was very accommodating.

When arrived the welcome was warm on a cold, windy North Antrim evening. The underfloor heating provided versatility and flexibility to allow all of us to choose the temperature of each area of the house. The layout of the house was well thought out and the location of a downstairs shower room next to a bedroom meant that my mother, who has mobility problems was able to look after herself at night.

The upstairs master suite was well appointed and provided a haven from the rest of the family when needed. I thought it would be the perfect hiding place for parents seeking to escape demanding children!

My dog Smilla is a lively Malamute and her favourite place was in the garden. She had plenty of space to play and was able to take early morning walks off the lead along the lane at the back of the house.

Overall, the descriptions and photos from the website did not do justice to the reality as the sense and atmosphere of a true home from home is hard to put across in two dimensions!

Definitely a gem to be recommended and very attentive owners who were most helpful throughout booking and stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Top quality accommodation with a warm welcoming feel and plenty of thoughtful touches
Liked least: It would help if there was a sign at the road as the bottom of the lane was easy to miss.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2012
As your party had tourism industry experience, your comments and feedback is especially appreciated. We look forward to your next trip. Adrian Huston
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanjnr
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home, a place to relax, perfect location, made to feel very welcome, even the dogs!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Trying to find somewhere to stay anywhere in Northern Ireland with the children, never mind the dogs can be almost impossible! Stumbled upon this farmhouse with the help of google, and what a find! And the bonus that it's on the Antrim coast, and the dogs were made very welcome! I love having a holiday at home and not having the hassle or worry of leaving dogs into kennels!
The house was perfect, loads of character, with separate bedrooms for the kids, so no late night giggling and carrying on instead of sleeping, and what was even better is they were on a different floor to us!
Lovely welcome pack of milk, tea, coffee, sugar, bread and biscuits!
The house is 2 mins from Portrush town, meaning you can enjoy what Portrush and local area has on offer but then leave the hustle and bustle behind and relax when you get back to the house!
Perfect break, great for beaches, Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-rede rope bridge!! I didn't do it as I had to mind the dogs, thank goodness for that excuse, once is all you have to do the bridge and I did it 20 years ago!!
The property has been given a 3 star rating, but feel that this should be higher http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYHet6bPBVQ&feature=youtu.be

I wish Adrian and Felicity all the luck with the property, I'm sure we'll be back again, and if you ever thought of selling it ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, dogs welcome, spacious house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2012
The fact that we make pets welcome turns out to be a big selling point. Felicity and I are delighted you enjoyed the stay so much - you clearly enjoyed the aspects of the house we like best - a bit of space from the children, room for the dogs inside and out etc. We are now working up a list of good dog walks for visitors - feel free to email me any to include for future guests.
And yes - in the unlikely event we are ever selling...I will let you know.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Adrian & Felicity
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing