We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Alive Surf School

Alive Surf School
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Winner - Best Family Activity Provider in Northern Ireland 2011, 2012 adn 2013 ! 'Alive Surf School is the longest running surf school in Northern Ireland and has taught over 11,000 people of all ages, shapes and sizes how to surf! Our simple philosophy is to 'be safe and have fun', we excel at both of these goals and our lessons start from only £20 per person.All lessons last for 2 hours and include all equipment, a drink and snack for afterwards there are even free hot showers at the beach. Our instructors are all fully qualified beach lifeguards, surfing instructors and some have even surfed for Ireland......Book you place now for a really awesome day out!
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughter and I went out for a lesson with Greg last Sunday and we had such a good time even though the water was pretty flat at times. Greg was a great instructor he provided us with clear and concise safety instruction and above all we had fun in the learning.A big thank you and we cant wait to get out surfing again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oonaghbhuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portrush, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic fun, give it a go.......”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Fantastic week surfing with Alive surf. Both kids enjoyed surf school very much. Great instructors, well qualified, very safe.......great fun. Many thanks to Ricky who bought all the kids an ice-cream on the last day. If your interested in learning to surf in a safe, fun environment then this is the place to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My daughter had her birthday party with alive surf school. Ash was fantastic with all the kids. Most had never tried it before and all are now bitten by the surf bug! My daughter now wants to go back for lessons. Couldn't have asked for better. The setting was just perfect for a birthday picnic after the surfing. Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience even with the flat water”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went out on Saturday with Ash and Greg/Craig (sorry) and have a brilliant time. We knew before we started that the water was pretty flat but the lesson was informative and safe. I learned loads and we still had a great time in the water!

Massive thanks guys

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caoimhe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try it!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Alive surf school - great name!
Because after you try this you will certainly feel Alive!!
From the simple booking process, to the friendly qualified staff (our instructor was Hano)
we couldn't have had a better experience!
We learnt so much in a 2hour time slot!
I had researched surf schools in the area and choose Alive due to the ease and booking - also whilst other schools appeared cheaper they charged for changing rooms.
This is an experience not to be missed and I will definitely try it again!
(we are not the typical surfer chics - 2 slightly overweight uncoordinated 30somethings)
it did take us 15mins getting into the wet suits but its definitely worth it.
so whatever you age, size, ability - give this a go! we loved it!
Thanks Alive!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank elspeth_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alive Surf School also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Alive Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing