We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we went twice in a week!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alive Surf School

Alive Surf School
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Winner - Best Family Activity Provider in Northern Ireland 2011, 2012 adn 2013 ! 'Alive Surf School is the longest running surf school in Northern Ireland and has taught over 11,000 people of all ages, shapes and sizes how to surf! Our simple philosophy is to 'be safe and have fun', we excel at both of these goals and our lessons start from only £20 per person.All lessons last for 2 hours and include all equipment, a drink and snack for afterwards there are even free hot showers at the beach. Our instructors are all fully qualified beach lifeguards, surfing instructors and some have even surfed for Ireland......Book you place now for a really awesome day out!
Carnforth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good we went twice in a week!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

First off, Ricky, Ash and Greg are 3 really decent guys and their attitude towards us as absolute surfing beginners was brilliant. We are a family of 4, 2 forty something parents, a teenage girl and a 7 year old boy and went for our first lesson last Saturday and had a really tremendous time, so good that we came back for another session the following Sat. On both occasions the guys made learning fun, we never felt unsafe at any time and they also took special attention to keep a close eye on my son. Highly, highly recommended...Thanks a million!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Surf tastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second lesson with the guys from Alive and it was great to see that the genuine enthusiasm, encouragement & skills of the instructors haven't changed!

The instructors have the ability to engage both the young & not so young in the class & encourage everyone to have a go & enjoy themselves!

All in all a great couple of hours craic! Highly recommended - you won't regret it!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ClayreT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome days craic...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is what my two boys thought about Alive, (one 17 and one 12) instructors r class, know how to make everything fun,want to surf everyday ;-) As from a parents point of view, brilliant, safe, very well supervised lessons with very friendly guys, thanx a million guys from 2 very happy boys and 2 very happy parents :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fantabulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Surf School in Northern Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've been using Alive Surf School for 3 years now to deliver an Autism specific surf programme with Autism Initiatives NI for both adults and young people. The instructors are a big part of why this programme has been such a great success. They go that extra mile to make surfing fun and achievable whilst taking time with everyone to make sure they get the most out of lessons.
A great day out for all the family or community groups with the added bonus of a packet of tayto crisps at the end of the lesson!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PauGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls LOVED it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked my niece and her friend for a surf lesson with Alive and they both loved it. They really, really enjoyed it and said it was one of the best things they have ever done - despite the fact it was lashing rain! Had emailed them in advance with questions and they were really helpful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadLynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alive Surf School also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Alive Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing