We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
85
11
2
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
11
2
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomlovely campsitesnooker tablekipperswarm welcomesmoked salmonenjoyed our staygiants causewaybeautiful roomwould stay againpeacockskarenportstewartfacilitiesaccommodationhousecockerel
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My friends and I arrived at Maddybenny a little later than we expected, but Karen didn't seem to mind at all. We were welcomed into the B&B and shown our cozy rooms immediately. The farm is beautiful, the breakfast delicious and filling, the owners charming and the location perfect. We enjoyed exploring Portrush, the Giant's Causeway and the Black Hedge. Karen was helpful in getting us on the early train to Belfast by getting up early to make our full breakfast. She even threw a couple of things in the laundry for us! The rooms were very comfortable, clean with bright linens and plenty of hot water from the instant heater in each shower - something most Americans aren't used to, but so efficient! We highly recommend Maddybenny and hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: The rooms over the kitchen and dining room get wonderful warmth from the Aga stove underneath. It allowed us to sleep with the windows open and still be toasty!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dearsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

A quick 10 minutes into town and all of the sites with a full Irish breakfast...makes this our top choice when returning Northern Ireland. The host, Karen, is exceptional! Lots of helpful advice and stories to tell, she made sure all of ourbgroup's needs were met. After a long day of touring the area, we crashed into comfort. The Inn allows for a close feel without feeling cramped. My spouse and I felt welcomed along with our group of friends. Did not get a chance to explore the farm, though. Wifi works only in the living room areas (only minor suggestion to make it even stellar!). Excellent choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I am a year late in writing this review. Thoughts of Maddybenny have often been on our minds during that year. Karen and Fred do a wonderful job making their guests feel right at home. Our room was clean, welcoming and comfortable, complete with live peacocks preening outside our window. Traditional Irish breakfasts were hearty and delicious.. Location is peaceful and beautiful, great for exploring the area including Dunluce Castle, Portstewart, Portrush, Giant's Causeway, Bushmills Distillery, Carrick-a-rede rope bridge and all the other local sights just waiting for you to discover them. Wonderful hospitality Irish style by way of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadiantravellovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had stayed here for a night (in the B&B) some years ago and because of that experience and its location but now with 2 children in tow decided to stay in the cottages for three nights . Hospitality was the same high standard even as the running of the place had been passed on to the next generation of the family to that when we first stayed.

Fantastic location for all the Antrim coast attractions. Just a few miles out of Portrush but totally in the country feel.

Cottage was ideal for family. It was 2 bedrooms but the biggest was sufficient for a double bed, a single and the baby's cot. Cosy feel to it. Playground outside was good for 5 year old and the animals (horses and peacocks) were a constant fascination to both. Child gate for stair case was thoughtfully provided. TV could have been a bit bigger but other than that cottage was well equiped.

Complimentary Wi-Fi was handy to have to plan days should the weather cause a change in outdoor plans as it can do in this part of the world.

Only downside of staying in the cottages was that you cant get breakfast as that was one of the memorable things of our previous stay!

I wished we stayed longer and hope to get a chance to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSCAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This quaint family run guest house simply could not be better. The family are very attentive to your needs and nothing is too much trouble, rooms are warm,comfortable and well equiped. Wide range of breakfast on offer. All beautifull. Have stayed and few times and highly rate this guesthouse as one of thee best. Cant wait to visit again.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews