We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We recently held our wedding here and can't speak highly enough of the place! Everything ran very smoothly and the food was lovely, there was even enough left over for people to have 2nd's.

Excellent service and highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bolts18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    97
    34
    18
    6
See reviews for
113
152
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My son and I stayed for 6 nights in a room with a view over Royal Portrush GC and beyond to the west. The room was adequate for our needs, the bathroom was a good size and well maintained.The only complaint is that the shower had very little power.
Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of variety. We did not eat in during the evening as we were either hosted by relatives in the area or we wished to experience the Harbour area in Portrush.
Our purpose of the visit was golf and visiting relatives. The hotel is a stone's throw from Giants Causeway if you can throw a stone 10 miles. Probably achievable for Finn MacCool!
Staff were very friendly and welcoming and we have no hesitation in recommending this very reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a view over the golf course - that will ensure that you are not disturbed by any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJD091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stumbled upon this hotel while looking for a place to stay while cold and wet. We had just been in Bushmills and inquired at a hotel that offered us a room for 150 pounds which was dark, on the ground floor and the window was a meter away from the parking lot.
Next we came here and they let us see two rooms, once facing the sea and the other facing the parking lot. We chose to pay the 10 extra for the sea which was worth it because after we settled in we saw a double rainbow from the balcony (pic included).
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was really yum and huge portions we couldn't finish it, and reasonably priced. We had a panoramic view of the sea with the sunset to the right and the brightest rainbow I ever saw to the left. Just perfect for the night of our mini-moon the day after our wedding.
Later we also realized that our bath was a whirlpool bath! Score!
Brekky was made to order so it was fresh.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with my Husband and mother & father in law. I had booked the hotel 3 months previous and when we got there the staff were very helpful. We arrived on a Sunday evening in the middle of their dinner rush hour so when we checked in our room above the kitchen we were disapointed that we could hear kitchen noise. As we were staying 3 nights we asked to move. The staff were very friendly and helpful and moved us to a room at the front with seaview which was very clean, spacious and comfortable. We booked for 3 nights B&B and 2 evening meals and would highly recommend it. The food is absolutely fantastic - the choice and portion sizes were amazing and it really made our stay enjoyable. The big breakfasts and evening meals after action packed days at the Giants Causeway & Rope bridge were just what we needed. I strongly recommend a walk along the beach from the hotel into portrush (about 30-40mins). Excellent stay!

Room Tip: Book a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoroGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This hotel sits on one the most stunning views possible in NI, overlooking White Rocks Strand, Royal Portrush GC, Portrush and Co Donegal in the background. Food was very good at the wedding reception, service good and drinks prices were good, for a hotel. The decor of the place was a little dated but clean and sound.

As I have indicated above I thought the price was steep given the hotel. All views are free. Dont believe I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We arrived in Ulster yesterday night, rode the Enterprise and had a wonderful sunset curry on board, and then found a pure gem of a hotel in Belfast - now we have moved up to the coast and found The Hotel that likes to Say "No"

You know the sort of thing - lots of polished mahogany and chintz - lots of certificates on the wall - and a complete lack of knowledge of what is customer service and how to apply it!

We haven't even had our first night here, but we have found enough to dislike to be put off the place for good.

We arrived shortly before nine p.m. - The restaurant was shut, so we asked about room service. There isn't any outside meal times - wasser point of that?!

This is the highest price we have paid for a hotel room this year. The view over tin roofs of the car park when the north channel is only ninety degrees away is a poke on the nose!

Breakfast will not be served before eight a.m. and we have to be on the 07.50 train to Belfast on Tuesday - fasbulous!

All the beer is on gas pumps - oh dear, oh dear, oh dear!

Now we are looking forward to our first night here after a supper of room tea and a packet of crisps - DREADFUL!

Room Tip: Move on - nothing to see here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TBirdFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for a short honeymoon during the very cold and snowy spell last December. We had the Hotel to ourselves. The Hotel is very clean and a bit old-fashioned, which was nice. The staff are very friendly and the food is very good. We had breakfast in bed and it was delicious. The White Rocks beach nearby is stunning.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlykale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
987 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
704 reviews
4.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,818 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
271 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Property: Royal Court Hotel
Address: 233 Ballybogy Road, Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing