We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of Restauarant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Review of Restauarant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a really lovely meal in Royal Court , They do a two course evening meal for 11.95 which was well worth every penny, starter choices where not as good as main or desserts so two of us had the starter and main course combo and other two had main course and dessert combo! All meals where really lovely, plenty to eat and very tasty , would recommend, the a la carte menu also looked very good,. we where lucky enough to have a table at the window and overlook the fantastic views across the sands and gold course, As a family we will return on our next visit to Portrush.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martsi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    89
    29
    17
    5
See reviews for
95
135
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned from holiday and dined in the Royal Court Hotel on 3 nights. The food on each night was absolutely delicious, the staff were very friendly and attentive, can't wait until i'm in the area again, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

we stayed at the royal court last weekend from the moment we arrived we were impressed with the location my wife myself and one daughter and son in law we arrived on sat to be followed by our younger daughter and husband on sunday the rooms were spacious and spotless very pleased so far the ladies on reception could not have been more friendly the staff at this hotel all enjoy there jobs there food in the restaurant was very good the waiting staff to bar staff just go the extra mile in all we booked not knowing the area and would not miss the chance to revisit later in the year the views alone are worth the visit the food the friendly staff I think this hotel is worthy off another star suberb

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A one-night stay to kick off our holiday. Our room was comfortable for the three of us, and we enjoyed the sitting area downstairs as well as breakfast the next morning. The views are spectacular and made our stay brilliant! There's a geocache practically on the property! We also found Dunluce, a medieval castle ruin, around the corner, a must visit. Would love to come back for a stay some day....

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TikimomCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Carlsberg dont do hotels, but if they did.... after the great weekend we just had at the Bushmills suite, room 111, this is a strong contender for my favourite hotel. I cant believe its only a 3-star! I've been in higher rated hotels that fell short by comparison to the Royal Court. The room is fabulous, it has to be the best view in Ireland, and that's no exaggeration. From the White rocks all the way along the Royal Portrush golf course & Skerries to Portrush and beyond to Donegal. I challenge you to find a better view anywhere in Ireland. As well as the great view from the bay window the room is exceptional. Two baths, yes 2 of them. I can hear a cynic crowing in the background, you can only use one at a time, but that's missing the point. The suite of rooms were magnificent. Great view, great rooms, good breakfast and a very good carvery evening meal on the Saturday. I've red one or two negative comments about the food from other reviewers, I can only confirm our experience was 1st class, indeed 5-star. Another nice touch was the newspaper at breakfast, cooked while you wait, rather than food kept heated under lights all morning. I believe we had free internet in the room (however I didn't use it, I was too busy enjoying the view). Ok so the lobby decor might not have the crisp modern lines at an Ibis or premier Inn, but the hotel has a relaxed friendly atmosphere, and the staff were more than helpful. This all makes for a relaxed break and I can think of no place better. If you need a break this is the place to go. The only problem is that word is going to get out and then everyone will want to be there. Already planning to return later in the year.
Apologies for the quality of the photos but they were taken on a camera phone! Room 111 is directly above the dining room. Magnificent!
Finally, this is a genuine review from a seasoned traveler. Check my other reviews to confirm I usually rate 4-stars but The Royal Court ticks all the boxes and easily gets 5 stars. Hopefully, you found this report helpful, if so remember to click the yes button below.

Room Tip: Dont mess about get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smakibbfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My Wife booked a short break for us and my Mother and Sister. From the minute we walked in the staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were great and had a balcony plus wonderful views not only of the Antrim Coast but right across to Scotland.
Breakfast had a great choice and again wonderful service. Dinner was included and again could not be faulted, the wine list was extensive and superb value.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMXDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My 9-year old daughter and I were recommended this hotel by a local friend and we were so glad of his referral. We arrived late, wet and tired on a Monday night, staying in the area to visit friends during the next few days. From the moment we arrived and for the whole of our stay, we both found the experience thoroughly enjoyable. The staff are all exceptionally helpful and genuinely friendly; the bedroom accommodation was very highly appointed and beautifully maintained - we had a standard room for the first 2 nights, which was spacious, warm and well decorated, with a double and single bed. For our final night, we upgraded to the Jefferson 4-poster suite, as a treat for my daughter. What a beautiful room! With a separate comfortable sitting room overlooking the sea, the views were incredible, the bed immensely comfortable, the room warm and the bathroom immaculate. I can't praise the hotel highly enough - we will definitely be back in Spring!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MammaMiaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.2 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Property: Royal Court Hotel
Address: 233 Ballybogy Road, Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing