We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in the Bushmills Suite - amazing!”
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here in the Bushmills Suite for 2 nights to celebrate a special anniversary. A beautiful suite with large windows so you can sit and take in the views looking over Portrush Golf course and the Atlantic Ocean which were just amazing!

If you're looking for a place to stay that's just a bit special this is it! A spa bath in the bedroom, your own dining table, plenty of seating areas and a view which is spectacular, you've got it all here! The one let-down when we were there was the bathroom. It was clean enough but needed modernising. That may well be done by now.

Food in the restaurant is always consistently good. We've been to several wedding receptions here and some buffet lunches and although a lot of the dishes served here are very traditional, even old fashioned, they are always well cooked and tasty.

Would I go back? Yes, it's a good hotel with stunning views from the dining rooms and I would definitely like to stay in the Bushmills Suite when the next special occasion comes round.
Also an excellent venue for wedding receptions.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsAllyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Royal Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were in Portrush for a family wedding party,several of the party stayed in the Royal Court. My husband and I stayed for two nights, in room 104 the first night and 102 on the second. 104 was over the smoking area and quite noisy. Room could do with redecorating, especially the bathroom fittings. Room 102 was very good, great view and just the sound of the sea.
Staff are very friendly and obliging, nothing was too much trouble. We felt very welcome.
Breakfast was ok, could do with a better selection of fresh fruit and a menu would be good.
We had dinner with family in the carvery room, menu had a good selection. We had a pleasant evening with good food well served.
Could I suggest that the bar review their wine selection on the small bottles,only Jacobs creek semillion Chardonnay and a Chilean Sauvion were available. Neither of which would be great.
I would recommend this hotel, for its friendly staff,location and dinner menu.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majella78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a great hotel, stayed one night for a wedding, the room was very comfortable, we had club sandwiches in the restaurant, they were not good, cold, even the butter didn't melt, side salad was very poor and no dressing on it, the carvery looked very good though. The view from the restaurant is amazing and the next morning we went for a walk a long the beach. Staff very friendly and hotel spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dualta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently with our 11 month old baby and were overall very impressed. We had travelled up from cork and stayed in drogheda night before to break up the journey. The hotel we had stayed in the night before had been drab and unclean so we were delighted to find the room in royal court hotel spotless and nicely decorated.
The staff here were over and above. We had a civil wedding to attend and they obliged us with an early check in. On arriving back in hotel for carvery meal afterwards, the food was fantastic and there was a great selection there. Again the staff very attentive and courteous.

The location was great, a stone's throw from the beach and the view from the hotel was incredibly beautiful. It made me wonder why we ever need to leave ireland to go on a holiday abroad. We didnt have time to explore all the sites and attractions nearby, which was the only pity (as they were so close!) but hopefully we will return next year for a proper holiday.

Overall royal court hotel is exceptional, just a shame de photos of the hotel on website dont do it full justice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Robinson_Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Four adults and two children visited for evening meal. Good selection on carvery and tasted great! Only fault was two mistakes with the childrens food. We ordered mash but got chips and ordered jelly but got ice cream! Both were rectified. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mummy77312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was used as an overnight stay whilst touring Northern Ireland.The views were amazing,the staff were out on their own but unfortunately the sleep was not very good.We stayed in an executive Double with a double and single bed in our room but both beds were very very soft and not helpful for anyone who suffers,even slightly,with a back problem.However everything else was just as you would expect,clean rooms,clean hotel,helpful friendly staff and fantastic food.If you enjoy a sleep in a soft bed then this hotel is absolutely perfect for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view....
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redfred172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

went for an overnight stay while the hotel is a bit dated the rooms were spacious and very comfortable. amazing view from our window was an added bonus , staff were very friendly very homely feel to the place . must just mention that bed !! very comfy !! will definetly be back!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepper031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
1.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
710 reviews
2.2 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
689 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
695 reviews
4.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Address: 233 Ballybogy Road, Portrush BT56 8NF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portrush
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range: £86 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel occupies one of the most picturesque positions on Northern Ireland’s famous coastline, overlooking the Seaside town of Portrush with panoramic views from County Donegal to the Scottish Isles and over to the Giant’s Causeway. The famous Links Course, Royal Portrush Golf Club is also right on our door step with the 4th hole protruding enough for our diners and guests to enjoy. You never know who you might be watching.With plenty of activities in our local area including, Links Golf Courses, the Legendary Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, beautiful beaches and coastal walks, and lets not forget Irelands Oldest Distillery, which was granted a royal licence to distil ‘uisce beatha’ translated, water of life in Gaelic or as we know it today Whiskey, in 1608, located in Bushmills. These are to name but a few, there is always plenty to do and see for all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Portrush
Royal Court Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing