We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beryl”
Review of Ramona Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramona Lodge
Ranked #26 of 28 Portrush B&B and Inns
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beryl”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for a wee family break, would definitely recommend Ramona House to anyone going to Portrush. Lovely room, excellent breakfast, and very friendly staff; Robert and Jennifer were so pleasant and welcoming to us all. (They even managed to organise good weather for us!!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    4
    7
    11
See reviews for
8
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed with my family from 19-22 Aug. B&B ideally located beside recreation grounds and great park for the kids. Robert and Jennifer were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were spotless and plenty of towels in bathrooms. Large sitting room which we availed of on a number of occasions. Breakfast was beautiful. Large selection. Excellent service and staff very attentive. Definitely recommend this to families. Just park car and everything within walking distance. Great hosts. Roisin McMahon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have stayed here six times all together simply because in my opinion it is the best guest house in portrush! The service is excellent the views are fantastic and Jeniffer and Robert are great hosts! Would reccomend it highly! See you next year!

Maurice Lyttle

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricelyttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

stayed here with the children in have 2 say i cant say a bad word about the place. we were made to feel very welcome and were catered for in every way. the owners were lovely people and the breakfast was beautiful with a good variety to choose from. will definately go back to stay at the ramona lodge. clean, tidy, welcoming and most of all family friendly. what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne32_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

we had stayed in room 6 it was nice with a lovely view from our window it was clean and tidy and the staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was lovely to cant wait to go again soon as they were lovely people that run the guest house

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed here overnight during mid July. Average accommodation at a good price £27.50 per person per night, although bear in mind this is an old victorian style house so it is a little rough around the edges. Some re-decoration would help and it does have a lot of creaky floor boards. There are better B&Bs in the town but they charge a little more. Good location, we had a room with a sea view with tennis courts, playground, crazy golf over the road. On street parking wasn't a problem. Might be worth mentioning there are some steep steps to the front door (this is the nature of the properties on this part of the street). Front garden well tended to with outside benches.

The only thing letting this place down is the cold, rude and unwelcoming attitude of the landlady! Didn't say 'hello', no friendly chat, at breakfast didn't say 'good morning' or ask how we had slept. Breakfast was abruptly thrown infront of us - landlady didn't ask if we wanted a full cooked breakfast and just assumed we ate meat. Breakfast served 9am-9:30am. Felt that we were just an inconvenience to her. The only time she smiled was when we paid her.

If you are after a friendly welcome look elsewhere, for a cheap no thrills room for the night then it's a decent choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pault1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayRamona, Owner at Ramona Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Don’t quite know how to respond to you. I can only apologise and assure everyone else a warm welcome – we have regular guests who I know would disagree. Perhaps I was under pressure at the time, I don’t know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portrush hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Despite other reviews we found this accommodation good value for money. It was very clean and the owner was very welcoming. The room was basic but very comfortable. Ideal for an overnight stop in Portrush. Close walking distance to the Ramore Wine Bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynmarhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portrush hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarmont Guest House
Clarmont Guest House
#18 of 28 in Portrush
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prospect House
Prospect House
#19 of 28 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#11 of 28 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Beulah Guest House
Beulah Guest House
#13 of 28 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portrush Holiday Hostel
Portrush Holiday Hostel
#1 of 7 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramona Lodge

Property: Ramona Lodge
Address: 8 Ramore Avenue, Portrush BT56 8BB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Edwardian house offering traditional bed and breakfast accommodation overlooking the recreation grounds in Portrush with a seaside location. Situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood yet close to the town centre and harbour with its restaurants. Comfortable, basic and clean accommodation with all double/twin/family rooms en-suite with hospitality trays and TVs. There is a spacious lounge and dining room for the exclusive use of guests. Steps to front door, ample parking in Ramore Avenue and sunny patio/garden area at the front with seating and sea view. Cots and highchairs available. Credit/debit cards and Euro accepted. Rate includes linen, towels and breakfast. Breakfast, normally served between 9-9:30am, consists of a traditional Irish breakfast (bacon, sausage, egg, soda bread, potato bread) and a choice of cereals, orange juice, yoghurts, fruit, grapefruit and tea/coffee. Directions to Ramona: Follow M2 and A26 from Belfast. Follow A2 and A37 from Londonderry/Derry. When entering Portrush, follow signs towards Landsdowne on the one-way system. The house is situated on an elevated site on the right opposite tennis courts and bowling greens. Transport: The Bus and Train station is 10-15 minutes walk away. We recommend travelling by train from Belfast and Derry via Coleraine. The train journey from Portrush to Derry is not to be missed for its coastal views. Pickups can be arranged from the station in Portrush by arrangement. Restaurants: The Ramore Restaurant complex at the harbour (3 minutes walk from Ramona) is renowned in Northern Ireland. In particular we recommend Ramore Wine Bar for its fantastic fresh tasting food and lively atmosphere, and the Harbour Bar, the oldest bar in Ireland. However we love 55 Degrees North (another restaurant 10 minutes coastal walk from Ramona) for its stunning unbroken views of the ocean and highly competitive meal deals. Portrush is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty with the Giant’s Causeway, Dunluce Castle and miles of sandy beaches to mention but a few of the highlights. You won’t be bored while taking a break in Portrush but we would be delighted to give you further advice on what to do, so please ask though also recommend Causeway Coast and Glens, and Discover Northern Ireland websites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ramona Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramona Lodge Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing