We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Spa Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adelphi Portrush

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adelphi Portrush
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Spa Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel 2nd to 4th Feb for a mini spa break. The hotel is located very centrally and we had no prob with parking, granted it was February and Portrush not exactly buzzing with tourists, which was most delightful for us. I found the hotel had a very relaxing atmosphere and as recently refurbished was very modern and clean. The breakfast was most delicious with part buffet, followed by hot breakfast to order, which leaves it very fresh and hot and not dried up or greasy in any form. Our package included a 4 course evening meal which also was well presented and delicious. The staff on all occasions were extremely pleasant and dealt with any queries most attentively. I had a one hour facial and my daughter had a massage and an express facial and we loved our pampering. It was very good value for money and we will return when the weather manages to rise above zero.

  • Liked — Good value mini break
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MsBronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    155
    43
    7
    8
See reviews for
140
328
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

At the time of writing the Adelphi is ranked the number one hotel on trip advisor in County Antrim outside of Belfast and it was on this recomendation that I booked a weekend stay just after the new year. On visiting the hotel's excellent website I decided to book a suite and also booked a facial and papmering session for my wife with the on site beautician. On arrival the first task was to find a parking space and while this was easy on a January weekday, right outside on the road, you should consider that in high summer parking is at a premium in Portrush. The Adelphi is a boutique hotel converted from a couple of the old sea front guesthouses so doesn't have a car park so you may have to park in one of the town car parks during the day and move the car to the on street parking outside at night. The suite itself was excellent, comprising a sleeping area and living area with televisions in both as well as comfortable leather seating, dvd player, a spacious wardrobe and easy to use safe. The bathroom has a heated floor and offers the option of both shower and bath. On the ground floor the hotel has an attractive communal area next to the restaurant which impressed us greatly at breakfast as the hot food was prepared to order and wasn't merely laid out on the serving table with the cereals, fruit juices, croisants and fruit. There is a hot breakfast menu which is excellent and offers four alternatives. We ate there once for our evening meal and regretted not eating there on the other nights of our stay. To offer a comparison we chose to eat in the best rated restaurant in Portrush on another night and have to say that the food in the Adelphi was better by some distance. This restaurant is not exclusive to patrons so I highly recommend it even to those who chose to stay elsewhere in the town as being, in my mind, far better than anything the Harbour complex can offer. The staff were excellent. No matter how busy, the desk staff always had time for an hello as any guest passed while the bar and restaurant staff were superb in both service and courtesy. Sadly I can't comment on the fitness suite as I didn't use it but other guests advised that it was excellent while the beauty treatment offered by the hotel to my wife was also of the highest calibre.

  • Liked — The bed, the spa, the food, the living space, the bathroom, the service
  • Disliked — car parking could be a minor issue in summer
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank captainbeecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

The Adelphi in Portrush has the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff I have ever come across. It is a family owned and run hotel that has been recently renovated, I'm not sure when, has good food and was very good value, at about £75 per night per double room including breakfast, over the New Year break inc New Year's eve.

It is on the main street in Portrush, but the double glazing is new and is upto the small amount of traffic noise. There is no parking but plenty nearby. It is very convenient for The Giant's Causeway.

To give an example of the level of service, at 1.45am on New Year's day when we returned from our New Year's eve binge. We were greeted with complementary champagne and 10 minutes later complementary hot food in case we were a bit hungry before going to bed. - Amazing.!

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

I have stayed in a lot of hotels and use trip advisor to advise me on where to stay but this is the first time I have been motivated to get off my virtual backside and write a review of my own.

The room I stayed in was lovely, and all the reviews are accurate - it's just a fantastic place to stay.

I was unsure where to stay in Portrush as there are several hotels in the area, but I went onto the Adelphi homepage and learnt that the hotel is very eco-friendly....something I believe is unique in today's hospitality and tourism industry, so decided to give it a go.

On arrival I was greeted with a big smile from the owner (Mark Holmes, a lovely and very intelligent man) who explained to me that the hotel consisted of the most up-to-date technologies that contributed to the hotel being very sustainable. My external reading on the internet then highlighted the fact the hotel is probably the most environmentally friendly hotel in Northern Ireland! It uses state of the art technology along with practical designs that provides excellent thermal comfort for clients with minimal energy use. On top of this the structure has excellent sound absorption qualities so noise generated from kids running up and down the corridors (normally associated with hotel environments), neighbouring rooms noise and even transportation noise generated from cars on the main street along the front of the hotel is unheard of. Now not too many people can say they stayed in a hotel that does all of this (Oh did I mention it has a spa too!).

The hotel contains Spa facilities too which is very important in order for the hotel to cater for current day demands. These facilities are excellent! The tiled floors that have under floor heating removes that cold tile feeling under your feet and eliminates that dank smell commonly associated with poor managed and designed spa facilities.

Above the front rooms of the hotel overlook the sea which is extremely important for a person like me as I am a surfer. It enables me to check the swell from my room!! On top of this a surf shop is located right opposite the hotel allowing my friends to hire surfboards without having the need to travel for miles to rent one.

Overall I can say you will not be disappointed with the hotel. The property exceeded my expectations for value, hospitality, room quality and location. A truly rememble experience and one I will definitly be doing again

Thanks Adelphi for a wonderful stay

Liam

  • Liked — Friendly environment
  • Disliked — Nothing springs to mind
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawless351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

A winter weekend away was a real treat at the Adelphi, the location is perfect for exploring the area. The family room we stayed in was perfect. Large, with lots of extras like DVD player for the kids. The Breakfast was great lots of chioces and the dinner (I had Tuna with Lime salsa) delicious !! The staff were really helpful and friendly, considering we tortured them with food allergy questions they were very understanding. There is a great longue with daily papers to relax in and the health suite is a perfect way to unwind.
I can highly recommend the Adelphi, and know we will be back in the summer.

  • Liked — The room and food
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was great !
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank berniemc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

Booked the adelphi as it looked great.

I got a great reate from the internet. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was large also and very up to date.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and always gave a smile.
Did not not have time to vist the spa but will on my return visit.

The only down side was our room overlooked an area that people would walk past and when we staye dthere was strong winds and there seemed to be so kind on wind trap and you would have thought the window was going to come in at times. Mind you it made the stay more exciting.

Really loved my stay the braskfast was yummy and offered a great choice.

Parking can be intresting but it just means you get to see more of Portrush.

We will be back.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, Price
  • Disliked — My room veiw however think others are much better.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank belfast76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

Had a great time at the Adelphi. The room was excellent - spacious and well presented. We had one of the larger rooms where you get a living area with a second TV and it was basically a second room. This was good as one person could sleep while the other watched tv. Bathroom nice. Leisure facilities good, unfortunately only available 3-8pm - it would be nice to get in there in the morning. Breakfast good and the dining room is nice. Didn't try the restaurant as the vegetarian options were the 'same old same old' that everyone offers, and there were plenty of other restaurants to choose from. Staff friendly. Definitely recommended.

  • Liked — Seating area with 2nd TV
  • Disliked — Boring vegetarian food options
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Portrush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Portrush

Property: Adelphi Portrush
Address: 67-71 Main Street | Portrush, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portrush
#1 Green Hotel in Portrush
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Portrush 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Portrush is like a Boutique Style Hotel, and offers unparalleled luxury coupled with a quality of service that is second to none. Situated in the heart of Portrush, Adelphi Portrush is proudly owned and managed by the Holmes family. 28 Luxury en-suite bedrooms Health suite - Spa, Sauna and Steam Spa beauty and treatment Salon Fully licensed Bistro restaurant Lift to all floors, fully accessible Free internet, wired and Wi-Fi Complimentary guest computer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Adelphi Portrush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Portrush Hotel Portrush
Adelphi Hotel Portrush
Portrush Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Portrush Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing