We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”
Review of Adelphi Portrush

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelphi Portrush
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maidstone, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We used this hotel whilst travelling around Ireland for a few days. Excellent location for driving along the Antrim Coast (on the way there) and then seeing the Giants Causeway, The Rope Bridge and Bushmills Distillery the next day. Not aware of any car parking, but we got a spot across the road from the the building. Beautiful room; massive bed and modern and spacious bathroom. All you would need; tea making facilities in room, TV etc. Breakfast was lovely - great choice. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang01622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    164
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
150
342
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Had looked at reviews of this hotel prior to booking and was really looking forward to my stay. Unfortunately, our stay was average. The rooms were spacious and clean and the location ideal but the restauratn staff were unaccomodating. We tried to book dinner on arrival and the very polite receptionist said to contact the restaurant. I went in and asked to book a table for 2 for later that evening and response being ' we're full' - I understand that they could have been busy but no I'm sorry, are you a resident etc... We did opt to dine elsewhere in 55 North and it was amazing.... Its a pity how one member of staff can let a full establishment down... Pity!!!! But I wouldn't return. Plenty of lovely places tp stay here...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Had a very relaxing short break in a very welcoming family hotel. Good food and friendly service, especially enjoyed the pampering in the Massage and Beauty Room.. Would highly recommend a visit to Marie for a de-stress and professional treatment.

Anne & David

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macdogNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co. down
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Stayed sun&mon night and had upgraded for a very reasonable £10 to king room with seaview in advance just in case they were taken.was well worth it. There is fairly busy on street parking but there are plenty of free secure car parks and spaces within a short walk.

The owner like myself is gluten intolerant and the chef personally came into bistro to see me and arranged a delicious special breakfast for the 2 mornings, inc gluten free sausages and potato bread which i havent been able to eat for years!!!

Bistro is very well priced and although our break included a meal, we booked both nights with a window table. Modern contempory decor and chill out music and very good service and choice of wines.The bistro was busy too with general customerspassing by, even though it was a quiet sunday and monday evening.

Very cosy personal hotel but not intrusive.very comfy lounge with a big open fire and leather settees where you can sit and have a drink and much to my hubbys pleasure...access to the remote control!!

The chef also left me several gluten free menus at reception which really added to the personal touch.

I cannot comment on non seaview rooms as i did not see these but i am certain the standard would still be high.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousCo_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehead , Co. Antrim
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Booked the Adelphi on the 15th Feb for 3 nights commencing 16 Feb. Asked for a sea view room.
I have often passed the Adelphi but had never been inside.
Upon arrival we were checked in by a very pleasant young lady who offered us assistance with luggage.
We used the lift and found the room after a short search. The lift does not open onto corridors as in a purpose built hotel. Bear in mind it has been converted from a guest house so even though there is a lift you may still have a few steps to undertake, But not too many.
The room was right at the front and had the sea view. It was well appointed and had an excellent bathroom. On two of the evenings we were there for some reason the central heating to our radiators went off at about 5.30P.M
A phone call to reception resolved the problem on both evenings. The standard of breakfasts varied over our 3 days. The Ulster Fry was poor and appeared to be prepared in the deep fat fryer.
I have found this so often in hotels in Northern Ireland. An Ulster Fry tastes so much better properly prepared with as little fat/cooking oil as possible. Visitors leave with such a bad impression of the Ulster Fry. I have read and heard about it so often. There was a choice of other hot food which was much better.
We ate in on 1 evening and it was good.
I had been worried about parking as there is no hotel car park. I had no problem parking in the street. Bear in mind this was February so low season. It may be different in summer.
One advantage is the number of restaurants within walking distance of the Adelphi if you fancy a change. Two are within 30 seconds and others 5-6mins walk.
The Adelphi is run slightly different from a hotel as it does not appear to be registered as a hotel. For example the reception operates 9.00A.M.-9.00P.M. There is a number to ring in cases of emergency outside these hours. This probably contacts the owners who live on the premises.
Upon our return to the Adelpli at night at approx 9.15P.M. the front door was locked the bar appeared to be closed and nobody was about. Entry is easily gained with your bedroom access card which also operates the front door when locked.
The Adelpli was kept neat and tidy and was the best price in the area.
Our room and bathroom were kept very clean. First class shower in the bathroom.
I would recommend the Adelphi and will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limavady
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This was our second time staying here. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with everything you needed. Tried out the spa and jacuzzi which was absolutely great and so relaxing. Food was was really good and great value. All the staff were friendly and made you feel very welcome. We would thoroughly recommend it and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newcastle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymiscaw
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The Adelphi is a clean and well presented hotel. The staff are excellent and very friendly. Spa is an added bonus, but beauty treatments need to be booked well in advance. It is an ecxellent location, within walking distance of the bars and restaurants. We ate in the hotel, food is served in generous portiions and staff are willing to adapt the menu to cater for vegetarians. A good value hotel - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellemagee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
985 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,816 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
766 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
722 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Portrush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Portrush

Property: Adelphi Portrush
Address: 67-71 Main Street | Portrush, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#1 Green Hotel in Portrush
#1 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Portrush 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Portrush is like a Boutique Style Hotel, and offers unparalleled luxury coupled with a quality of service that is second to none. Situated in the heart of Portrush, Adelphi Portrush is proudly owned and managed by the Holmes family. 28 Luxury en-suite bedrooms Health suite - Spa, Sauna and Steam Spa beauty and treatment Salon Fully licensed Bistro restaurant Lift to all floors, fully accessible Free internet, wired and Wi-Fi Complimentary guest computer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adelphi Portrush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Portrush Hotel Portrush
Adelphi Hotel Portrush
Portrush Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Portrush Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing