We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Coast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for the air show with 3 kids aged 6, 7 and 9. Great spot, can walk to Portrush or Portstewart (we did both). Rooms are fine, basic, clean, good value for money. The outside looks a lot worse than the inside. Bar food is great!!!!! Ate here 3 times in 2 days because of value, location and quality. Games room off the bar/restaurant made meals enjoyable. Staff very friendly and made us feel welcome. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrigoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the great bar food and our games room. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    184
    48
    12
    17
See reviews for
204
279
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

On arrival at the hotel a very warm welcome from the reception staff awaits. Indeed all of the staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful.
The room was spacious but the fact that it was not possible to open a window made it feel a bit uncomfortable. The breakfast was top class and the bar / dining area was very cosy and appealing.
There was music advertised but did not happen as the musician failed to turn up. I was a bit disappointed on the second day to discover the bathroom had not been cleaned properly and that there was no milk left with the tea and coffee facilities. One other feature that was off putting was that a trolley of dirty laundry was left in the stairwell for the duration of the stay.
While this review contains a number of negatives I feel that more attention to detail would ensure very positive reviews in the future
Eoin

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the negative experiences during your stay and thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We are delighted you enjoyed the top class breakfast and our cosy and appealing dining area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I had a very nice stay with my family. The reception staff was very friendly and we found the room to be very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good on our first day, but the second day seemed to be a bit overwhelming for the staff, with missing items at the buffet (no yogurt) and the milk for the tea curdled. The restaurant was very good in the evening and the game room much appreciated. The location was nice enough, walkable to the centre of Portrush.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjsubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your review. Our staff thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious comfortable bedrooms. Sorry for your experience at breakfast on your second day. We are delighted you enjoyed our games room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend. Room not clean. Stained bedlinen! Out of date decor. Furniture from the eighties. Breakfast was awful. Hotel needs a revamp. Can't really use the word hotel to describe. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Belfastdining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Surprised at your review as most of our guests since May 2012 have enjoyed their stay.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lurgan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

we stayed for seven nights in august and had a great time, can really recommend this hotel. the staff were really friendly and helpful, great breakfast and you can have a great meal in the evening. rooms spacious and clean, we had a lovely view of the coast and could have stayed longer.will definitely be back,

Room Tip: stay on first floor and ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucylurgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your review. Our staff appreciate your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our great breakfast and spacious bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

What a wonderful location. This was our 1st stay in Inn on the Coast and we will be back. We had a family room with a great view. It was very spacious, very clean and very comfortable. It was lovely to have biscuits on the tea tray. Good sized en-suite with shower gel and hand wash and clean towels. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit from a self service table. Good selection of cooked breakfast along with tea, coffee and toast were served by staff. Breakfast staff were very helpful and pleasant despite being very busy. Bar staff also very helpful.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebekahBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious family room with the great view. Our staff appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hotel was lovely - very spacious and clean and in a lovely position. Staff were excellent - couldn't do enough for you. Room was lovely and big, bed was so comfortable - had a great nights sleep. Arrived around 8pm and went straight into the restaurant for dinner which was lovely - they tailored it for my special dietary needs which was also great. Off the restaurant was a games room for children with table tennis and a pool table - we had a go at both and loved it. Did not have any problem with traffic noise even though our room faced the road. Car park was a bonus - plenty of room. Great hotel at a reasonable cost with good food and lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our restaurant food and games room for children. Our staff appreciate you kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.2 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Coast

Property: Inn on the Coast
Address: 50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portrush
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Coast Hotel Portrush
Mclaughlins Hotel Portrush
Inn On The Coast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing