We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff”
Review of Inn on the Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Coast
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a lovely big room with nice views out to sea. The staff were excellent from the moment we arrived and made you feel really welcome. Breakfast was very good - even though the hotel was packed, we didnt have to wait too long for a table. The food and drinks in the bar and restaurant were very good and well priced. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your next visit with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    194
    54
    12
    19
See reviews for
215
295
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Salvador
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our room was big and gave us enough room to put up our travel cot. Breakfast was fine and highchairs provided. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant food was a little overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn on the Coast.
Our staff appreciate your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Clean, friendly and lovely breakfast. Nice small bar and pool table provides good entertainment. On site parking is brilliant and views are fantastic. Really great location right between Portrush and portstewart. Preferred room to the front towards the road as opposed to the back by the railway line. Be early for breakfast. Seating not great, very very Small.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeks873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for your review of Inn on the Coast. We appreciate you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed 2 night--it was a nice-sized room, hot showers, plenty of outlets, good wifi, excellent breakfast. Free parking behind the building and easy access to major point of interest in Northern Ireland. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzdameanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for your fair and concise review.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ireland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Travelled as a young couple in April 2014 to take in the surrounding areas!

The hotel is in a good location just outside of walking distance to Portrush where a taxi is £5 each way. The hotel is easily found and has great parking around the back.

The staff are friendly and very helpful, the rooms are spotless and very big, the bed very comfortable. The breakfast which was included in the price was big and fresh and was great to wake up to each morning. The bar is very homely which several TVs and ping pong/pool tables.

Really couldn't fault this hotel atall and would definitely go back to stay if I were to return to the North Coast.

Room Tip: one with a sea view would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meestawhips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for the great review. Come back and see us sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Me the hubby and our 2 children aged 5yrs & 2 1/2 yrs stayed here on the 15th Aug 2014 for 1 night to visit Portrush. The hotel was nice, we stayed in room 201 a family room & found it clean, comfortable & roomy. They only con is its a little dated but nothing major. The breakfast was delicious. Overall a great stay & would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixeyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Inn on the Coast.
We look forward to seeing you all back in Portrush sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

So this was our second trip in 12 months to the hotel. Have to say even in High season they run a great ship. Staff very friendly an helpful and rooms good. If I was been picky I'd say get bigger tvs in rooms

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank irishrambler0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele K, General Manager at Inn on the Coast, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for the review. Come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.2 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
953 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
683 reviews
1.1 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
376 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Coast

Property: Inn on the Coast
Address: 50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
#2 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Inn on the Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Coast Hotel Portrush
Mclaughlins Hotel Portrush
Inn On The Coast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing