We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anvershiel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anvershiel House
Ranked #8 of 30 Portrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great B&B located near the PSNI Station Portrush on the Coleraine Rd. Plenty of parking available. The house itself is lovely. The rooms are very comfortable and have all the facilities you need, tv, tea/coffee etc.

Erna was a wonderful host and extremely helpful. She has a vast collection of leaflets and maps detailing all the local attractions and is not shy to share her

A short walk away from the centre of Portrush and literally a 20 minute drive from The Giants Causeway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvingillmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    18
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

You check in to Anvershiel as a guest and when you check out, you leave as a lifelong friend of Victor and Erna Bow.

This B&B is in a prime location. You can take a short walk to a train station, where you can go to Derry or Belfast. The Giants Causeway and Bushmills Distillery are less than a 15 minute drive away. For dinner or drinks, just take a 10-15 minute walk to the Harbor area of Portrush where there are several pubs and restaurants and stores. It's a lovely stroll at sunset.

If golf is in your plans, Anvershiel is within a walkable distance to Royal Portrush & Rathmore Golf Club (the Valley Course) and a very short drive from Portstewart and Castlerock.

The food is wonderful and I dare anyone to walk away hungry. Victor cooks an Ulster fry of gigantic proportions, so bring your appetite to breakfast!

All the rooms are comfortable, sparkling clean with plenty of natural light. Each room has a TV, hot water for tea and plenty of closet/drawer space for your clothes and luggage.

Victor and Erna kept us smiling and were extremely helpful with our golf, dinner and sightseeing plans. We shared a lot of laughs and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are en suite. There is a first floor room available if mobility is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TFC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
203 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Erna and Victor are the couple who own this B&B on the main street, Coleraine Road, heading into Portrush. Though I was there for the Northern Ireland International Air Show, this location is very convenient for being out at the viewing grounds though a little far from the center, about 3/4 of a mile/about a kilometer. That being said, it is away from the hustle and the bustle and nice and quiet. There's plenty of parking and both Erna and Victor are wonderful host/hostess with plenty of information about the area and the history.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zHojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Erna and Victor's personal attention made this B&B our favorite of our 6 week tour in the UK. When we arrived, Erna gave us her full attention in her lovely sitting room as she shared information, maps, and advice about Portrush. Then, she ushered us to our lovely, spacious, immaculate en-suite room. We had arrived late, and started to go to bed when my husband suddenly lost his memory. The ambulance and medical system were wonderful, and Erna's support for me was extraordinary. She visited us in the hospital, and thankfully my husband's memory returned with no consequent medical issues! Erna went above and beyond to help us recover our balance over the next few days. We enjoyed the beautiful beach just a few minutes walk from the house, relaxing in an unusually sunny Ireland! We loved watching the families enjoying the sun and sea together. Later, we strolled through the town, which reminded us of a 1950's beach town in New Jersey...very relaxed, fun activites for families, unpressured and beautiful. We highly recommend a visit to Portrush, and would make it as long as your travel plans allow. It's a wonderful place to unwind, and Erna and Victor are remarkable hosts.

Room Tip: Our room was on the water side and was very quiet. Everything was excellent! ( I checked excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank begladwhenigetthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We are just home from a fun-filled weekend in Portrush. We consisted of two adults, an elderly lady and two children. Erna and Victor were beyond nice, always conversing if met in the hallway. Erna was also excellent when it came to recommending places to entertain ourselves. The breakfast was absolutely exquisite, and on our second morning we were even offered second helpings, which was much appreciated. I could not recommend this B&B enough if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballofwool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed one night at Anvershiel and had a wonderful time! Erna was so helpful with recommending places to eat and also giving us directions to Bushmills, etc. The B&B was spotless and our room was very large. We slept very well and had a wonderful breakfast! I hope we are able to visit again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were driving into Portrush and I spotted a B&B with a vacancy sign and turned in. It was the Anvershiel B&B. Our hosts, Erna and Victor were absolutely wonderful. Not only do they have a wonderful house, they are gracious and generous. They pointed out good places to eat and drink - literally, they took us outside and pointed to each location in town as most of Portrush could be seen from their B&B. Our room was immaculate and everything worked just dandy. We slept soundly and got up to a sumptuous Irish breakfast. Talked a bit of golf with Victor and took off for Bushmills Distillery and the Giant's Causeway. Highly suggest you call ahead though because they are usually booked solid during high season.

Room Tip: Call early for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave_in_Cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portrush hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antrim House
Antrim House
#5 of 30 in Portrush
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvershiel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvershiel House

Property: Anvershiel House
Address: 16 Coleraine Road, Portrush BT56 8EA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anvershiel House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Anvershiel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvershiel House Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing