We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in Newtownards
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Every meal is cooked freshly only when it's ordered, not precooked, no artificial additives are even allowed in the building. all ingredients are hand picked each day and cooked by our chefs who come from south east asia themselves. the recipes they use are family recipes handed down from their parents and grandparents not something from a text book or catering college. Real asian cooking
Restaurant details
Description: Every meal is cooked freshly only when it's ordered, not precooked, no artificial additives are even allowed in the building. all ingredients are hand picked each day and cooked by our chefs who come from south east asia themselves. the recipes they use are family recipes handed down from their parents and grandparents not something from a text book or catering college. Real asian cooking
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Fantastic food. Bring your own wine. Service was great and staff were very friendly and helpful. Varied menu with specials. Aroma of the food was amazing. Really got your tastebuds going. Had a great atmosphere. Loved the outdoor walled garden area to sit and have a drink while you wait for your table. We have booked already to return.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank JACKTARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thanks for your comments they are greatly appreciated, we do next to no advertising & instead rely on the word of mouth & feedback from our valued customers. This ensures that all team members are focused on providing quality to our customers at every opportunity, this is easier when you really believe in what you are doing.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

872 - 876 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

had a chicken pad tai take away for lunch
superb n good value
friend had tai grreen curry it very nice too

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 782xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thanks for your comments they are greatly appreciated, we do next to no advertising & instead rely on the word of mouth & feedback from our valued customers. This ensures that all team members are focused on providing quality to our customers at every opportunity, this is easier when you really believe in what you are doing.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We have been twice now to Tuk Tuk and our only worry is that they may move to Belfast and leave Ards! The food is lovely and so different. The rice in the pineapple is gorgeous. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and look after you.
It is definitely putting Ards on the map and a place worth visiting.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gillianh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thanks for your comments they are greatly appreciated, we do next to no advertising & instead rely on the word of mouth & feedback from our valued customers. This ensures that all team members are focused on providing quality to our customers at every opportunity, this is easier when you really believe in what you are doing.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We called at this place one afternoon to try it out as we had been told it was quite good and we found that the food and staff are indeed well up to standard. The owner came over to us and introduced himself inquired if we were happy with the food and told us if wanted to order anything that was not on the menu as long as we gave enough time he would ensure that he would get us what we wanted. The only downside to the cafe is it is very small but is very cosy

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank groomsport337
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thanks for your comments they are greatly appreciated, when it comes to the size of the restaurant we agree with you 100% but small is beautiful as it allows us to better concentrate on the quality, we do next to no advertising & instead rely on the word of mouth & feedback from our valued customers. This ensures that all team members are focused on providing quality to our customers at every opportunity, this is easier when you really believe in what you are doing.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Saw the sign for Tuk Tuk in Newtownards and as a local decided to do some research on Trip A. After reading the reviews decided to give this place a try. Boy was that a good decision. Booked for Monday night expecting to be in a relatively quite bistro- no, place was busy.

Set in one of Newtownards old stone houses, this small and compact bisto has a great ambiance and a quirky decor, loved the assortment of Chinese paper lamp shades and the very comfy rattan cane chairs. The table looked to be recycled doors with a clear glass top ( loved this ) and the menus handwriiten backed by recycled corrugated cartons.

Menu is wide enough to suite a variety of tastes, and it is a BYO. They do charge a small fee to cover use of glasses etc, and that was OK.

Everything is cooked fresh to order.

The waiting staff explained the menu and the specials and given we were a party of 8 he informed us that due to the very small kitchen , the food could be brought in stages. That again was fine at least we were kept in the loop.
Starters Chicken Satay Skewers, Veg Spring Rolls, Pork & Prawn Dumplings delicious, well cooked and yes freshly cooked.

Mains varied from. Sweet and Sour Chicken- beautiful delicate flavours perfectly balanced.
Green Thai Curry-Chicken, Red Thai Beef and Red Thai Chicken Currys, again the hot spice of these dishes did not over power the overall flavour the balance was spot on.

One of the party had the Pineapple dish,which consisted of a full fruit hollowed out the pulp mixed with rice, prawns etc and baked in the oven- This dish not only looked great but was absolutely delicious- some food envy was evident.

The portions sizes were generous and the service efficient and friendly,the food was served when ready,there was a lot of sharing as a result. The only minor issue was the rice portions, a little on the small side for the amount of sauce etc, especially with the curry dishes, but hey at the end of the day it did not spoil a great meal.

Would I recommend Tuk Tuk- absolutely if you like Asian food, cooked fresh in a good atmosphere definitely go. I would advise booking to ensure a table even on a weeknight. Chatting with the owners they informed us they were booked at the week-ends for the next 7 weeks. We were fortunate to get a party of 8 in on the Monday we went (we only booked at 11am), but the owners phoned at 5:30 to ask if we were still coming demand was that high.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank greekirelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thanks for your comments they are greatly appreciated, we do next to no advertising & instead rely on the word of mouth & feedback from our valued customers. This ensures that all team members are focused on providing quality to our customers at every opportunity, this is easier when you really believe in what you are doing.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro also viewed

Newtownards, County Down
Newtownards, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.