We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Mount Stewart House
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Newtownards
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Remarkable 18th-century house and 98-acre garden that reflect the rich history of the Stewart family who played a leading role in British social and political life.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Was there for the spring fair and car boot sale.
There wernt as many stall as the years before which was a bit dissappointing ,but it was a lovely day and the weather was good too !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    144
    44
    9
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A visit to Mount Stewart House is very worthwhile, from a stroll around the beautiful gardens to a tour through the wonderfully refurbished house itself. Then finishing off with lunch or a tasty snack in the well run restaurant with chef Jason and crew, you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good time”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

the café was not too full and we were able to have some nice soup and coffee. The grounds are excellent however and well maintained. A must visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dont go to house”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went to the house with my two sisters today and was extremely disappointed there was nothing to see as nearly everything was wrapped up or put away and with virtually nothing to see please please don't go if its the house you want to see.at least untill all the renovations are complete in 2015 ' the gardens are nice if you want to pay £7 to walk around some of the gardens.but the house absolutely not you will be very disappointed right now.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank thomasbrowne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Felt like a princess!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I got married in Mount Stewart House. On the plus side the setting was wonderful and the photos were beautiful - I really did feel like a princess on my special day. On the downside we weren't allowed to get married until 2pm because of ongoing tours which left very little time for photos and mingling with our guests - we barely got to any of the beautiful gardens for photos. And considering how much we paid for such a short time of using the facilities (a lot - I still haven't told my husband how much!) I would have at least appreciated some sort of discount on a National Trust membership but this was refused.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Stewart House also viewed

 
Newtownards, County Down
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Been to Mount Stewart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing