We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Edenvale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edenvale House
Ranked #1 of 5 Newtownards B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Diane is a wonderful hostess! It was the first accommodation that we stayed in on our trip and we were so impressed! Her house is charming and our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Her breakfast table was set beautifully and her food is amazing! She has a lovely home surrounded by pastures with horses and cows. Would definitely recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Edenvale for six nights and were made so very welcome in this comfortable beautifully decorated house with stunning views over the Lough .Nothing was too much trouble for Diane and absolutely every need was catered for.We have generally stayed at B and B's over the years and have found some very good ones particularly when using the Sawday Guide Book but nothing surpasses this and I don't think ever will.Thank you Diane.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Edenvale. Diane is the perfect host. The house is beautifully decorated and every need is attended to. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The location is beautiful with lovely views of pastures and Strangford Lough in the distance. Very convenient to Mount Stewart gardens a must see if you are in the area. Diane's breakfasts are fabulous. We would highly recommend Edenvale.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSM0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This B&B is spotlessly clean and is run by someone who is so helpful, friendly, kind and charming. The breakfast table was a sight to behold - we've seldom had such a great start to our day. We had everything in our room that you could think of, and nothing seemed too much trouble. As regards location, it is about 2 miles south of Newtownards town on the east side of Strangford Lough. We really cannot praise Edenvale House highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMEdQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My sister and I stayed at Edenvale House for three wonderful nights and we were treated like royalty. Our room was spacious and lovely. The breakfasts prepared by our hostess Diane Whyte
were scrumptious. This was our second stay and we will definitely stay again! We highly recommend this B&B to anyone planning a visit to the Ards.

Room Tip: To guarantee your stay there make your reservation as soon as you have a date as this is a much soug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We enjoyed a few nights here a few months ago and it was the highlight accommodation of our trip to Northern Ireland. The room was perfect, the bed and linens especially were deserving of a five star hotel. I had one of the best nights sleeps in a long time, here. As well as the superbly appointed room, we experienced outstanding service throughout. We really were made to feel at home...and we were very sad to leave. Breakfasts were filling and set us up well for our days travelling about the countryside. Location-wise this is perfect (even for Belfast, which is only 20/25 mins away and having now stayed in Belfast I cannot see a reason why I would choose city centre Belfast over Edenvale). The lough is stunning and Mount Stewart is extremely close by. I honestly can't find any fault at all and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CocoaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Choosing a B&B over a hotel is always something of a gamble; you sacrifice corporate predictability for the possibility of individuality and character. Edenvale House makes it a risk worth taking. Our room was faultless with a spectacular view, comfortable four-poster bed, separate dressing room and spacious bathroom. And the breakfasts... far superior to most deluxe hotels (hot fruit compote was a treat). Add a most gracious and thoughtful hostess and you have the recipe for a perfect stay in a beautiful part of Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Room over-looking the Loch is of course the best... but all the rooms appeared very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorinthianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Edenvale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenvale House

Address: 130 Portaferry Road, Newtownards BT22 2AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newtownards
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newtownards
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenvale House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Edenvale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edenvale House Newtownards, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing