We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than most 4 star hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edenvale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edenvale House
Ranked #1 of 5 Newtownards B&B and Inns
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Better than most 4 star hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Four nights of sound tranquil sleep followed by enormous breakfasts - what more do you want! Diane is wonderful and Pip the Jack Russell, a great footballer. We stayed in the Garden Room with views over Strangford to the Mournes. Bed was extrememly comfy, room was spacious and beautifully furnished. Loads of guides and reading material. Breakfast was bountiful, fruit - hot & cold, home cooked bread, porridge on offer! full cooked options. The choice was endless and all very good indeed .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

A lovely old house overlooking Strangford Lough. The breakfasts are amazing - if you do them justice you will not need to eat the rest of the day! This family-run b&b can show big hotels a thing or two. We had the Garden Room - well, 3 rooms actually (bedroom, dressing room & bathroom). The owners are very friendly and full of Irish charm. It was lovely there.

As a bonus Edenvale House is within easy reach of Mount Stewart. Bangor, Belfast & WWT Castle Espie.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

This is a beautiful B&B in a lovely location. The rooms are gorgeous and Diane has thought of everything. Breakfasts are exceptional - fresh fruits and fruit compotes, freshly baked bread, perfectly cooked Ulster fry.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne6fy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

Diane Whyte welcomed us to her lovely home for a two night stay and we didn't want to leave. The house is beautiful both inside and out with views of Stranfgford Lough and open countryside from most windows. It was spotlessly clean everywhere and there were so many lovely little touches to make us feel welcome - from the fluffy bathrobes and slippers to the decanter of sherry, selection of toiletries and lcd tv.

The breakfasts were outstanding. No hotel I have ever visited has put on such a delightful spread. We had fresh fruit and berries, hot fruit compote, yogurt, fresh fruit juices, every imaginable cereal, hot home-made wheaten bread, platters of soda bread, potato scones, pancakes, baskets of muffins and croissants, sausages, bacon & eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes and toast!

On arrival we had tea and coffee in the lounge - china cups and saucers and antique tea cosy of course - on a tray replete with delicious home made cakes. The whole house wouldn't have been out of place on a film set.

I hesitate to recommend this place as Diane has only 3 rooms and I don't want to be unable to get in next time we go! We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Its beautiful practicality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skywritertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.IRELAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2004

This is the best B and B you could wish to stay in.....beautiful rooms, spotless and full of lovely bedding, furniture. Lots of extras. Mrs Whyte is a really lovely person who coudn't do enough for you.
The breakfast is superb. We have retutrned many times and recommend it to anyone. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

Helpful?
13 Thank DELIGHTED-GUESTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtownards
14.6 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
17.1 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
18.7 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.0 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
18.0 mi away
Shelleven Guest House
Shelleven Guest House
#2 of 19 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenvale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenvale House

Property: Edenvale House
Address: 130 Portaferry Road, Newtownards BT22 2AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newtownards
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newtownards
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenvale House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Edenvale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edenvale House Newtownards, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing