We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the little ones”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ark Open Farm

Ark Open Farm
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Newtownards
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for the little ones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Open farm, wide range of animals, unusual breeds of animals, donkeys, ponies, cows, goats, llamas, deer, rabbits etc, pleasant staff, lovely wee cafe. Children get to cuddle the animals. Play park for the kids too and picnic tables.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kabelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    28
    6
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable time had by all!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Me & my fiance took our daughter here for her 1st birthday & we all had a great day!! Our daughter's birthday is 3 days before Christmas so we went to visit Santa. Santa was brilliant, our daughter was a bit young to appreciate it but the other children were so excited!! I told Santa it was our daughters birthday & when we arrived to Santa's grotto he sang Happy Birthday to her, it was magical I was so pleased it was such a thoughtful thing for him to do. We loved seeing all the different animals at the farm, & there was a young man letting the children hold the smaller animals like rabbits, chicks, turtles etc. There's a play area & toy tractors etc for the children to play on. They had put on a trailer ride around the farm on the back of a quad but due to bad weather adults couldn't ride along with the children which was a bit disappointing as our daughter obviously couldn't go on her own and it would've been a lovely end to the day. The food in the cafe was freshly made & very reasonably priced. We will definitely be going back for more visits to the Ark farm!! A family must!! Remember wellies & a camera & possibly a change of clothes for the more adventurous children who like to get dirty!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolam1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Basic but enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Whilst, for adults, this is a very basic working farm - wellies are a must!! It's very 'hands on' but nothing very exiting. However.....my grandchildren LOVE it - it's one of their favourite places to go!!

Helpful?
Thank MariaNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for children and children-at-heart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We were afraid that our children (aged 11 and 14) might be a bit too old for an attraction like this, but we needn't have worried. What you can see will depend on how recently the animals have reproduced, and that'll affect your whole experience, but there are sure to be cute young animals of some description whenever you go. The older animals, while less cute, can be interesting, as there are several rare breeds and informative plaques. The highlight of a visit will be the opportunity for the children to handle some of the animals, such as rabbits and young chicks. One important point to note is that it doesn't take long to see everything - perhaps half an hour to look at every animal and bird and read all the information - but children will probably want to stay longer.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank HibernophileBT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant birthday party at Ark Open Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Held my daughters 4th birthday in Ark Open Farm at the beginning of December 2011. We had ages ranging from 3yrs to over 50's and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The facilities were great and the tour of the farm was great fun.
Would highly recommend to anyone, we all had a great day and my daughter thought she had the best birthday party ever!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank vince05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ark Open Farm also viewed

Newtownards, County Down
 
Newtownards, County Down
Portaferry, County Down
 

Been to Ark Open Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing