We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for children”
Review of Ark Open Farm

Ark Open Farm
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Newtownards
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangor, Co Down
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great for children”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Take your children/grandchildren to this great little farm. On the main Bangor to Newtownards road, just across from the Somme Heritage centre near Conlig. A great experience for children (and adults!) to see close up many varieties of farm animals, big and small

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    6
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A lovely place to be on a sunny and dry day”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just love this place. Even though I don't have young kids anymore it's still nice to go and talk in a silly voice to all the animals!

You can buy grain to feed the ducks and hens.

Great wee cafe . tea-shop - lovely home cooking and baking, and not expensive.

However, you can take a picnic with you as there are seating areas.

Great place on a sunny dry day to entertain your kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaLou1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Proper Farm Feel”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Honest to goodness fun. Feels like they have just opened the farm up to visitors. Animals all seemed happy / content clean and well looked after. No attempts to dress the place up so don't expect lots of signs or educational bumf on the walls which is a plus point. Staff very gentle, care of the animal uppermost but good with kids and adults dying to hold the baby rabbits ( sorry I got carried away ) nice day out for all ages :))

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff have attitude problem, stale bread and sour milk served.”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

On arrival the ark farm looked very run down, at first I thought that this was part of the charm. It soon became clear that this attraction was far from charming. Considering the entrance fee the selection and quality of animals was poor. The animals are being kept in poor conditions and looked as if there areas had not been cleaned out in quite some time. On visiting the cafe services slow and staff had a bad attitude. I was made to feel as if I had caused them some sort of hassle because I ordered food. We were presented with stale bread sandwiches and they explained that they had run out of bread and had quickly defrosted some frozen bread. This bread was stale. It was reluctantly replaced. The milk that came with the coffee was sour. On raising this issue I was snapped at and had the price of the coffee refunded. We proceeded to the kids playground and this is seriously unsafe. Broken toys and 2 very dangerous slides. My daughter injured her elbow using the slide. How this place is allowed to be open is beyond me and I hope that an officer from the health and safety executive visits soon before some is seriously hurt.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Robb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle co. down
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best day out ever!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We visited the farm on Easter tues. we took our 18 month old daughter. Wow. It was brilliant! Lots of new baby animals to see and pet. She got to stroke a rabbit and bottle feed a lamb! Although it was very busy there's plenty of space to walk around. The park is excellent. I like how although they have a restaurant,they have also provided picnic benches, meaning larger families or people on a budget can still enjoy the day. It would be easy to spend a whole day wandering around there's so much to see. Can't wait to go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank scooby89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ark Open Farm also viewed

Newtownards, County Down
 
Newtownards, County Down
Newtownards, County Down
 

Been to Ark Open Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing