We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped us off when trapped in snow.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strangford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newtownards
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Trapped in snow, 20 miles from home. I was have been a very regular Strangford Arms restaurant customer. Well, NO MORE!!!! When they had us over a barrel they upped the priced from £71.10 per night to £99.00 even through the cheaper price was on the internet site. The manager was unhelpful to my and other peoples situation and would offer no discount or consideration. Very displeased. Will never recommend or use again, it was a chance for them to shine with lots of people dependent on them. Strange given that the Hastings 5* hotel is only 6 miles further up the road, more luxurious and cheaper than £99!!

Heather Millar

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank irishpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2007

I have stayed In the Strangford Arms on a couple of occasions and although It's bedrooms were quite dated it was still a nice place to stay, very relaxing and the staff are great. On my last visit i was a bit worried because their prices have shot up quite a bit but when i got there i could see why the hotel had been tastefully refurbished to a very high standard in my opinion (FAB). The bedrooms are a million miles from what thet were and the reception area was beautiful. So my point is go to the Strangford Arms even if your a guest who had a bad experience with the accomodation you'll see a big difference YOU WON'T REGRET IT !!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fabalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

have stayed here a total of 3 times and everything went grand.

breakfast had a good selection. bar downstairs was good.

try get a back room if you want sleep cos the bar can get noisy.

decent enough location and price, no complaints

rooms were fine

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hellrazor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We have just returned from a weekend at the Strangford Arms Hotel as a member of the Dunoon Argyll Pipe Band I would just like to thank the staff at this Hotel for a memorable Visit we were full of mixed thoughts before arriving at this hotel after reading the reviews about this establishment ,we all found the reviews well the bad ones could not be further from the truth,the hotel was clean the staff friendly polite and very helpfull, nothing was a problem, allthough i personally only ate the breakfast which was very tasty and the service prompt other band members did eat in and were delighted with the menu we all found this hotel clean ok the bedrooms are basic, but comfortable, didnt have a problem with the hot water, at all, there is ongoing refurbishment being carried out but this was not a problem, special mention and our heartfelt thanks go to wee Nicole, Mandy, Chris, Alec the bouncer,and the night porter Cant remember all the names but ALL the staff were brilliant all the lads and lady on the door in the evening.Great hotel Great Staff and Great Weekend cant wait untill next year

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kennymcleod6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Dear Sir/Madam.

We recently stayed with yourselves from Friday the 4th of May to Tuesday the 8th, and although it is not normally something I would do, I feel that on this ocassion I should let you know how I felt about our short stay at the Strangford Arms.

Our room was apparently "one of the few" that were still bookable due to extensive refurbishment and was in a rather poor state. The wallpaper was leaving the walls in several places and the net curtains were an off-brown colour due to the fact that the room was a smoking room. Neither my fiance or myself smoke and we didn't request a smoking room. There was also a cigarette burn in the bottom sheet that despite room changes, managed to survive for our entire stay without being spotted..and more annoyingly..survived on my side all the time!

The toilet door did not close, and if one attempted to close it it became jammed and required a fair effort to open again. There was, however, pleanty of hot water and a decent shower so a sticky door was not a major problem, and alone would not even be worth a mention.

Our radiator was on constantly, and would not be turned off leaving no choice but to open the window, which during the day for the brief time we were in the room was not a problem, but at night meant that street noise had to be that bit louder if we didn't want to go for that 'sweedish sauna' feel.

Noise was definately a very big problem, and we were not told at any point that our room would feel like it was directly on the dance floor. We were also not told that the member of staff responsible for the sound system had either an inner ear problem, wanted an inner ear problem, or was suffering from a bass fettish as his constant re-adjustment of the bass control edged us closer and closer to loosing blood from the ears. Add to this the fact that anyone wanting to converse through the medium of speech ran to the corridor outside our room to have long conversations with their mates about birds/blokes they had pulled or with their birds/blokes about their mates..or to call an ambulance because they were bleeding from the ears. This we put up with until closing time, where it was replaced with the normal alcohol related jabbering, testosterone related threatening or just plain noisemaking until cabs, ambulances or police cars had removed everyone from the pavement. Now, I know you cannot be held responsible for the pavement area, but given that your bouncers seemed to have the easiest bouncing related employment in the civilised world I would have thought that the opportunity to slap about a few drunks for the benefit of paying guests with bleeding ears would have been a welcome end to an otherwise uneventful evening.

But...your staff were great, polite, looked damn smart and your food was very good. We decided to stay up and get slaughtered on our last full night rather than try to sleep, and were very happy at how little it cost to severely damage the lifespan of our respective livers, it would have cost me much more to make my self as ill as I was back home. The bar was big too, and I never had to wait long to be served.

Like I said, i'm not a grumbler by nature..Im a manager in a callcentre so resorting to behaving like the mindless monkeys I have to suck up to day in day out is really only something i'd do reluctantly...just thought i'd share a light hearted review with you..it's not going to watchdog...i'm not calling the DTI....i'm not taking it to the European court of human rights, or the nspca, or even the centre for the protection of the inner ear. But if you wanted to offer a discounted stay once your refurb is done, or something nice to say "yeah..thanks for moaning..here's something to shut you up" that'd be great!

Booking was in the name of XXXXXX address is below:

XXXX
XXX
XX
X

Cheers.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank E5SEXBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

Absolutely disgraceful. My colleagues and I have been barred because the smoke from our cigars (that the hotel sold us!) set off their fire alarms at numerous points in the night. Not only were we not offered other seats, but the manager was downright rude when he blatantly told us "our custom was no longer welcome" and that we were to leave. The only reason this hotel survives, is because no other hotels exist in this town and hence a monopoly...don't stay here, choose a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reverandspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2007

I have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions, just glad that my company was footing the bill as I would not consider it value for money. Being a contractor hot water is a must after working all day, Never stayed at a hotel where hot water was usually not available!
Following a previous miserable experience staying here last month several requests were made before I arrived, the hotel assured my company that I would be housed in a decent room with hot water.
Arrived after working a 14hr day desperately in need of a shower and was given a room with no hot water and a bathroom infested with earwigs, Peeling painted tiles and lots of green mould. eventually found a room with hot water after checking out a few more rooms with the night porter.
Stayed here for 4 nights, most of the time this room had no hot water. Other problems on previous visits such as fire alarms going off frequently or a very early mornig call when i didn't request one were a bit annoying.
If you stay here dont expect luxury, it's very basic.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WalesChrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtownards
2.8 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
573 reviews
12 mi away
Beechlawn House Hotel
Beechlawn House Hotel
#38 of 45 in Belfast
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,086 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
5.4 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strangford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strangford Arms Hotel

Address: 92 Church Street, Newtownards BT23 4AL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newtownards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newtownards
Price Range: £56 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strangford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strangford Arms Hotel is ideally located in the lively town of Newtownards,15 minutes drive from Belfast city centre, 10 minutes from George Best Belfast City Airport and Bangor town centre. This Victorian listed building has been extensively refurbished to the highest standards and now incorporates 39 luxurious En-suite Bedrooms, Conference & Banqueting Suites and the award winning LeWinters Bistro, Bars & Restaurant. Wireless Internet access WiFi is provided complimentary for all residents and delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Strangford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strangford Arms Newtownards
Strangford Arms Hotel Newtownards, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing