We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strangford Arms Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$453
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rayanne House(Holywood)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
89
89
37
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
89
37
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall tvpleasant receptionistcurrysmall hotelbreakfast staffroom was clean and comfortablepiping hotscampipavlovahotel barvery pleasant staylovely mealulster frystayed here for one nightcouldn't do enoughwell worth a visittea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just back from a nice weekend at this hotel, booked this hotel as a change from staying in the the centre of Belfast, pleasant friendly staff, good atmosphere. Room very clean and peaceful. Food was good at a reasonable price. Hotel is near to shopping centre and just 15 mins from Bangor and coast road to Portaferry. There was a wedding there on the friday eve and they all looked to have been catered for at a high standard... Would love to return again soon :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broxi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed overnight here as part of a bridal party. The welcome was warm and all the staff were lovely. The alcohol is reasonably priced, considering it's a hotel (and normally the rip the arm out of it) but we were pleasantly surprised at the cost of everything.

The building and rooms are small, but I would say cosy is a more fitting word. The bedrooms themselves are very modern, we stayed in 225(?) and the rooms there looked like they had been renovated recently. The bathroom was lovely, the shower was great and although the bed wasn't comfy to my taste, I still got a good nights sleep!

We ate, obviously as part of the wedding, the food was good, only criticism, their mash potatoes weren't creamy / buttery enough for me! Pavlova dessert was AMAZING!
Breakfast the next morning, although delicious wasn't great for choice. Their contenental menu wasn't particularly big and neither was the fry we received.

Strangford / Newtownards is beautiful, you don't have to go far to be beside the sea. The hotel is central to Newtownards town and there is everything within walking distance. For those wishing to travel to Belfast it is about a 20 minute drive away. It's certainly worth travelling towards Ballyhalbert and Portaferry though for beautiful coastal roads and little nooks and crannys.

A huge kudos to the night porter Daniel, who was hilarious and kind enough to indulge drunken members of the bridal party by having a chat and a bit of banter. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerStrangford, Owner at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your custom and for taking the time to post your complimentary and constructive comments. We very much value all our customers and we encourage everyone to voice all positive and negative opinions concerning all aspects of our business. We are striving to achieve first class, friendly service, excellent food and beverage in clean, pleasant and comfortable surroundings. A special thank you for praising Daniel, as this gives him great encouragement that his personality and efforts to create an enjoyable environment are acknowledged and appreciated.
Many thanks once again for your custom and we hope to welcome you back to the Strangford Arms Hotel and LeWinters in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We attend here quite a few times. Sometimes it can be hit or miss depending on what you go for. I must say I've never had a bad experience with the food although my husband has. Some of the staff are great others could do with a lot more training. Probably best to go in with no expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank OVH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were using the hotel for a flying visit to see family and friends before departing to Australia. As a family of four with two young, extremely active, boys we are not always welcomed with open arms. The staff were wonderful, nothing was any trouble and their tolerance levels for two blond haired wrecking balls was exemplary :)
Only criticisms are room slightly too small but not unworkable and lack of air conditioning, though as Northern Ireland is not always this warm (avg 25 degrees), that can be forgiven

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenOlliePonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerStrangford, Owner at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

On behalf of the Partners, Management and staff, I would like to thank you for your custom and for taking the time to post your complimentary comments about all our members of staff who looked after you during your visit. I was so pleased to hear that we made your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I wish to thank you for choosing the Strangford Arms Hotel and we hope that we can welcome you and your family back on your next visit to Northern Ireland. Also it would be great if you could bring that good weather back with you again!
Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for the Resturant on Saturday evening for four .... Arrived only to be told no booking and no table after 3/4 uncomfortable minutes finally shown into the large room to the front filled with 20-30 drunken women at a hen party , vile talk , noisy to the point you couldn't hear the people on the other side of the table !!!!!! Ordered ribeye steaks one cooked medium the other medium rare ? and on arrival waitress didnt know which was which so decided to say "I will just guess ha ha ha" Seriously ???? Ordered more drinks had to re ask twice finally recieved half way through our meal !!!! The bill arrived £97 asked to use £20 voucher / cash from one couple and a card from us to pay the remainder ..... By the reaction of the barman you would think I had asked him for a kidney!!!!! Decided to take a drink in the Bar/club ( Cattle Market ) on arrival of the entertainment two songs in we all decided it was time to go !!! Won't be back in a hurry ....

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerStrangford, Owner at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your custom and for taking the time to post your comments. I was sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the service you received at LeWinters during your last visit. As to your reservation, unfortunately for some reason it wasn’t recorded and for the waitress and the cashier’s unprofessional attitude, and poor drink service, I do apologise! We conduct regular Management and Staff meetings and we have addressed these issues with further in-house training, so as to alleviate these unnecessary service issues reoccurring. Hen Parties are welcome but they must conduct themselves in a respectful and orderly manner. The Manager on Duty informed me that although they were in high spirits, he did not witness or hear any inappropriate behaviour but if you found the party offensive then I do apologise however we always have Managers on duty to address such issues.
As for your comments about the Entertainment, I am sorry that the band did not meet with your approval. As for your description of our venue as a “Cattle Market” this is purely down to personal opinion! Fortunately we have built a very successful venue over the past 14 years which provides great music in a safe, enjoyable and friendly environment!
I hope that this will not deter you from frequenting the Strangford Arms Hotel in the future as we do very much value and appreciate all our customers. Thank you again for your custom and comments as it helps us strive to achieve first class, friendly service, excellent food and beverage in a clean, pleasant and comfortable surroundings.
Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews