We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, terrible breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strangford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newtownards
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice room, terrible breakfast”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I recently visited the hotel and stayed on a Saturday night. I was very impressed with the standard double room. Good size and very clean. The view from the window was a wall, though this didn't annoy me as it is dark early evening anyway. I had a lovely meal in Le Winters. our waiter was a young boy, and was very pleasant. I thought the meal was reasonably priced, the drink is a bit pricey but I expected that. The bar was lively and had a great atmosphere. The whole evening was fantastic, but the next morning was such a disappointment. The breakfast was horrendous. The cooked breakfast was cold, I tried to call the waitress over to see if it was available to even get it heated in the microwave. She just walked past me on two occasions. I ended up having a yoghurt for my breakfast. If I was to stay again I would choose the room only option.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_K380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    72
    31
    24
    27
See reviews for
59
64
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Check in was very quick and very easy and thats always good after a long day.

I was a bit dissapointmed at old bobbled tatty sheets on my bed when I got to my room so rang reception. Fair play to them they came up and changed it straight away.

Here goes, positives:
-Food - Nice food in the bar attached to it.
-Cleanliness - I even had a bath on that night, and I'm pretty fussy with bathrooms.
-Staff - Everyone I spoke to was friendly
-Comfy bed

Negatives
-Service in bar - I waited 20 minutes at least between courses and had to pop my head round the kitchen to get my main.
-Prices of food - Thought it was a bit steep, even for Ireland.
-No Gym or pool facilities

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed in the superior room and was immediately impressed with the size and standard of the room, especially the shower and bath in the bathroom. The room was extremely clean and modern. My partner and I ate in the hotel's restaurant which had a great atmosphere and the menu was very varied; I ate the Chicken Valentino which would beautiful. The waitress 'Sara' was extremely polite and very helpful, and other staff member 'Richard' who we met various times throughout our stay always asked if we were in need of anything, and suggested we go to the local cinema and provided directions and cinema times which was great. He also advised we return to the hotel bar afterwards for drinks as they would be having a live band which we were unaware of, and did so which was also great entertainment as it meant we didn't have to go wondering in the area. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for couples or groups of friends and plan on going back in a couple of months.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

2nd review in a month but just have to comment on how good it was. Family of 7 called in Sunday lunch time with no booking. Lots of tables reserved but they promptly found us a table with minimum fuss.
Great helpful staff couldn't do enough for us. Great varied menu with lots of choices. Food served promptly and quality very good.
Great access from the car park at the rear , really good for baby buggies or wheel chairs.
Well worth a visit

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davidnorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We ate here for a family meal out and although the food was very good, the service left a lot to be desired. For example, we weren't given menus for twenty minutes after being shown to our table, despite it not being particularly busy. The drinks orders were very slow too- it was quicker getting up and going to the bar ourselves than waiting for the table service staff who actually got the orders muddled up twice! Our waitress was glum and grumpy and clearly did not want to be there which was off putting. Everyone's food was very good, it was just a shame about the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newtownards hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Have eaten here several times and it is fabulous. Great choice for vegetarians and my son just loves coming here on a Sunday, when there is a bouncy castle out and lots of activities for the little ones. Staff are very attentive and it is very well priced. Nice, clean surroundings and friendly,welcoming atmosphere. Will be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for two nights, excellent service from all the staff. Food was very good. Manager was very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to the Bridal suite( we wern't on our honeymoon ) which was lovely and spacious. Would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtownards
2.8 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
948 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.4 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,664 reviews
16.2 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strangford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strangford Arms Hotel

Property: Strangford Arms Hotel
Address: 92 Church Street, Newtownards BT23 4AL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newtownards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newtownards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strangford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strangford Arms Hotel is ideally located in the lively town of Newtownards,15 minutes drive from Belfast city centre, 10 minutes from George Best Belfast City Airport and Bangor town centre. This Victorian listed building has been extensively refurbished to the highest standards and now incorporates 39 luxurious En-suite Bedrooms, Conference & Banqueting Suites and the award winning LeWinters Bistro, Bars & Restaurant. Wireless Internet access WiFi is provided complimentary for all residents and delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strangford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strangford Arms Newtownards
Strangford Arms Hotel Newtownards, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing