We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip in the Mournes!”
Review of The Mourne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mourne Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a perfect stay at the Mourne Lodge! The Staff is so nice and attentive, we had a real contact with them.
Moreover, rooms are very nice with comfortable beds! The Hostel has also a very good location, at a few minutes from walking trails.

We really enjoyed our stay there and we advise you to try it!

Marc and Maud from Belgium

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maud_decraeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and sorry we are only getting back to you now. We have recently upgraded from hostel status to guest accommodation. So happy you found everything good during your stay. Perhaps you will pass on the good word to others and do visit us again if you are coming to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

6 of us just spent the weekend as guest's of Mairead at the Mourne Lodge Hostel. Spent the day out on the trails in Rostrevor on the Saturday then headed over to Atticál to stay in the Mourne Lodge. Beautiful location, really nice hostel, nice room lots of hot water with lovely staff. Would highly reccomend a stay here if you're up in that neck of the woods either hiking or cycling as it is excellent value for money. Excellent breakfast and Mairead made us hot cross buns for the trip home. Make sure you head up to Attical GAA to the new club house for a few pints.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamboCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. Sorry we are only getting back to you. We have recently upgraded from the hostel category to Guest accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and perhaps you will return and visit us again someday for some more mountain biking in the Mournes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the visit. Mairead was sweet, warm, pleasant and very helpful. The lodge is close to Kilkeel. Mairead directed us to where yo eat. we had a fantastic me, amazing priced, abd were stuffed. Thank you and Kind regards

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbrodsly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry we are only getting back to you now. Hope you are keeping safe in Israel and not finding life too difficult. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the Mournes and perhaps you will come and visit us ah=gain some day. We have upgraded the centre from hostel to guest accommodation category and are continually improving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Mourne Lodge?, Mourne B&B?, Concnafeola Centre or Mourne Hostel???

What's in a name? A lot. Disappointing if this is a lodge or B&B, typical but expensive if this is a hostel. I've stayed in plenty of both and this is a hostel (when we booked it was for a B&B/Lodge).

We got bunkbeds, a shared bath with lots of hot water but a shower head that had so much pressure, you could get welts!

Breakfast was instant coffee, cold cereal and instant oatmeal. The plus was the fresh fruit salad. After all the yummy Irish breakfasts we'd been having, this really missed the mark.

I'd give this place a pass if you are expecting a lodge/B&B experience which I was.

Rating it poor is harsh but rating it average is wrong if you are expecting a lodge/B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Sorry to hear your experience was not what you expected. We do try to provide a variety of accommodation from private rooms which are all ensuite with tv and tea and coffee making facilities. We do have cheaper rooms which are suitable for families, again these are ensuite. You also have the facility to prepare your own breakfast in our self-catering kitchen, however, breakfast can be included in the price depending on how you book and we did state on our website that the breakfast included is a continental as this is what most of our guests have requested, however, you could also order an ulster fry. I purchased an expensive instant coffee which is called Azera, we normally serve cold milk with cereal, hot porridge was also available for you and of course some of these problems could have been sorted out if you had discussed them with us in the morning. We offer a good price for a family of four which includes breakfast at approximately £20 per person. However, I do hope this did not upset your holiday in Ireland too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I've just returned from a walking holiday travelling around Ireland, and this Charming Hostel was definitely a highlight of my trip. The Lodge is ideally located for exploring the stunning Mourne Mountains, but what makes this place special is the warmth of the welcome from Mairaid and her staff, the willingness to help and offer advice on the area, and a general adherence to the highest standards of cleanliness and customer service. Well Done! Diolch O Galon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

It was a real pleasure to have you with us and your comments are much appreciated. You have a lot of experience in the field of managing hostels and self-catering coming from the lake district and I know you found our centre very clean and relaxing. We do hope that you will return to Ireland one day and of course you will be most welcome in the Mourne Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is definitely hostel accommodation with bunk beds, shared bathroom facilities etc.

This is not in itself a problem providing you are aware of this. The staff were very helpful but the premises need to be careful of its pricing as it is charging B&B rates for hostel accommodation.

Room Tip: Clarify in advance what type of room you will be allocated. Some rooms have more facilities than oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry3361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

While you had a shared bathroom, there was no one sharing on this particular occasion. Some of your friends had private facilities but of course they paid a little more money. I do appreciate your helpful comments and of course these will be taken on board when we come to review our policies for next year. One night stays at the weekend tend to be more expensive than during the week. I do accept that bikers would love a hearty cooked breakfast in the morning and again this is something we will be looking at. Our present policy is based on comments from guests who have stayed with us many times. Do hope you enjoyed your stay in Ireland and got some good weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

stayed here last saturday night and had worst experience of my life. had booked a family room (which on website showed a double bed and bunk beds). i had phoned in advance to say we would be calling mid-morning to leave our bags (since check in wasnt until 5pm) and was told this was no problem. on arrival I was greeted halfway up stairs (leading to Reception) by a less than friendly host telling me 'the rooms arent ready'. My first impression was needless to say not what i expected.
After parting with £100 for the room we went on to belfast. As room wasnt ready wasnt able to view it - unfortunately. The owner said she would move our luggage into our room (which she didnt do)
On returning that evening - what a shock we were in for ! On opening the door of our room to my horror we discovered it contained only 4 bunk beds - no double. Words cannot describe the embarrassment and disappointment I felt. And it was to get worse - when we were informed that we had to share an en-suite with another family in an adjoining room. There werent even towels in the room. I spoke to the owner about my disappointment and she waffled on about 'the other family room (containing the double bed) having been taken'. Ii felt both let down and deceived.. I have travelled the world and never have I had such a bad experience as at this accomodation.
I want to warn any other family thinking of booking here - AVOID and dont waste your hard earned money on what is essentially a hostel for back-packers .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank desm233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkeel
9.6 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
9.7 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
160 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
6.3 mi away
The Oystercatcher
The Oystercatcher
#3 of 8 in Rostrevor
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mourne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mourne Lodge

Address: Bog Road | Atticall, Northern Ireland, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kilkeel
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Mourne Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mourne Lodge gives excellent budget accommodation set in the heart of the Mourne Mountains in County Down, Northern Ireland. Rooms are en-suite with a mixture of private, single, double, twin, triple, four bed and a large family room. The centre provides secure car parking, laundry facilities (at an extra cost), bike storage, self catering kitchen, lounge, restaurant and conference suite. Our new renovation includes a new wood burning stove in the lounge, extra shower facilities, BBQ and patio area as well as free Wi-Fi throughout! Breakfasts are available in our restaurant every morning from £5 and evening meals can be booked in advance. We have a picnic basket, flasks, chairs, free bikes and wet-gear for the outdoor enthusiast as they explore the stunning surrounding areas. Families and children will be warmly welcomed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Mourne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mourne Lodge Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing