We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for walking holiday”
Review of The Mourne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mourne Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in August, using a package which included room, breakfast, packed lunch and an evening meal, excellent value.

A bit shocked at some of the earlier negative reviews, I can only put these down to the guests being confused as whether this was a hostel or a guest house/hotel. I thought the website and the confirmation emails from them made it all very clear that it is a hostel. They do not claim to provide the same service as a hotel. Having said that I have stayed in a lot of hotels nowhere near as good that charged a lot more money.

The food was excellent! We had porridge, toast, fruit salad, fry up and the options of eggs cooked how we wanted them every day for breakfast. The packed lunch was freshly prepared for us each day at breakfast, and we had a choice of fillings for the sandwiches (as many made for us as we wanted) and fruit, crisps and a chocolate bar. The evening meal cooked for us was delicious, and they were happy to make it for the evening and time of our choice, and even the type of meal we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble....

The room was a ground floor double room, very spacious, with a flat screen tv with built in dvd player, plenty of room to spread out. The best things were the bed and mattress - really good quality. The bathroom was en-suite with a shower instead of a bath. And we had our own tea making stuff in the room. Everything was clean and tidy.

There was an additional kitchen for residents to cook and eat their own food, as well as one for pre-paid meals to be cooked and served. All the communal areas were clean and tidy.

The location was very good, the hostel is a bit isolated, but it is on the Mourne rambler bus route over summer so very easy to access, and has a very handy local shop beside it. The shop was really handy for buying sweets and treats, and had a good range of pre-packed meals if you are going self-catering at hostel. A taxi from Newcastle / Kilkeel was not that expensive if coming back late at night after evening meal. Plenty of excellent walking in the area.

Best of all was the level of service, Mairead could not have been nicer or more helpful, she suggested restaurants and places for us to visit, booked a restaurant for us, and even gave us a lift back from Newcastle to the hostel. The other walkers at the hostel also said the same thing.

Room Tip: one of the re-furbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanbusybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for this wonderful report and we are sorry that we have not responded sooner. We do read our reviews carefully and with great appreciation but this has taken us some time to get back to you. Hope you will visit us again and we will have an opportunity to show our appreciation personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked a private double room with en suite , it was extremely clean and well presented and we had a very restful sleep , they even let us have our well behaved small dog to stay as she goes everywhere with us. We didnt book breakfast as we like to eat later and wanted to be away early to make the most of the lovely area. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Christine, thank you for this lovely comment. It is much appreciated even though we are only getting back to you now. I do hope the holiday was good for you in the Mournes. Perhaps you will visit us at another time when we can really spoil you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Mourne Lodge on 13th Sep'13 and we must say that it was an awesome experience. Maurie made us feel at home. The rooms are neat and clean. The breakfast was wonderful! It is till date the best B&B we have stayed at :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geetanjali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comment. Sorry we are only getting back to responding to you now. It was a pleasure to have you in the Mournes and we hope you will return to us sometime to finish all those walks and mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at The Mourne Lodge whilst visiting family in Kilkeel. The location was perfect for our stay, and we really couldn't have asked for me.
We didn't arrive at the lodge until extremely late, but this was not a problem for Mairead and her team.
We booked a double room, and this was exactly what we were given, The room had everything needed for our including an en-suite. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, there was no shortage of hot water and breakfast was lovely. Mairead looked after us extremely well, and nothing was a problem - Even drying out our rained on clothes, and providing us with umbrellas.
Please be aware this is a voluntary organisation - Any profit made goes back into the local community. The team give up their time for this, and do an amazing job. People complaining should remember this, and perhaps book a hotel if it is a hotel experience they are looking for.
It is great value for money - I would definitely return and look forward to doing so.
Thank you to Mairead and her team for looking after us so well through what was difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bringmesunshine30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your really helpful and generous comment. Sorry we are only getting back to you now. So glad you enjoyed your stay and your holiday in the Mournes. Do come again, there's lots more mountains to climb!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here recently for one night for my cousins wedding and I cannot wait to go back again! It's in a perfect spot in the beautiful Mourne mountains, the beds were really cosy and the lady who runs it is an absolute delight! For her alone I can't wait to go back there! She was so welcoming and kind to us while we were there it really makes the place stand out in my mind (this is the first review I have ever taken the time to write!). My sister had thought breakfast was included in the price and so we all arrived downstairs, starving, hung over and late (she waited for us), to find out we had only toast and cereal. Maurade could obviously sense our dismay and proceeded to cook us a full breakfast, poached eggs fresh from the farm, everything homemade and delicious! Then after that she insisted we had hot cross buns and a pot of tea! I forgot a jumper and was cold so she gave me a cardigan to wear while I ate my breakfast! It reminded me of sitting in my granny's kitchen while she used to try to fry pancakes as quickly as we could eat them! I would definitely recommend people to stay here, I don't know how anyone could call the owner unfriendly! (Just read the bad review someone left) She is possibly the friendliest woman I've ever met! If it is, essentially a hostel then it is the cosiest most homely hostel I have ever stayed in! You can of course clearly see what it's like from the pictures provided. But I do hope, for whoever wrote this review, that this continues to be 'the worst experience of their life'!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucybell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for this kind comment. Sorry we are late in responding to you. These all help to develop our centre in the Mournes. We are pleased to tell you that we have moved from the hostel category into guest accommodation and are constantly trying to improve our facilities. Do come again if you are in the area! Always welcome, even for a coffee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a perfect stay at the Mourne Lodge! The Staff is so nice and attentive, we had a real contact with them.
Moreover, rooms are very nice with comfortable beds! The Hostel has also a very good location, at a few minutes from walking trails.

We really enjoyed our stay there and we advise you to try it!

Marc and Maud from Belgium

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maud_decraeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and sorry we are only getting back to you now. We have recently upgraded from hostel status to guest accommodation. So happy you found everything good during your stay. Perhaps you will pass on the good word to others and do visit us again if you are coming to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

6 of us just spent the weekend as guest's of Mairead at the Mourne Lodge Hostel. Spent the day out on the trails in Rostrevor on the Saturday then headed over to Atticál to stay in the Mourne Lodge. Beautiful location, really nice hostel, nice room lots of hot water with lovely staff. Would highly reccomend a stay here if you're up in that neck of the woods either hiking or cycling as it is excellent value for money. Excellent breakfast and Mairead made us hot cross buns for the trip home. Make sure you head up to Attical GAA to the new club house for a few pints.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamboCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. Sorry we are only getting back to you. We have recently upgraded from the hostel category to Guest accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and perhaps you will return and visit us again someday for some more mountain biking in the Mournes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkeel
9.6 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
9.7 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
160 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
6.3 mi away
The Oystercatcher
The Oystercatcher
#3 of 8 in Rostrevor
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mourne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mourne Lodge

Address: Bog Road | Atticall, Northern Ireland, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kilkeel
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Mourne Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mourne Lodge gives excellent budget accommodation set in the heart of the Mourne Mountains in County Down, Northern Ireland. Rooms are en-suite with a mixture of private, single, double, twin, triple, four bed and a large family room. The centre provides secure car parking, laundry facilities (at an extra cost), bike storage, self catering kitchen, lounge, restaurant and conference suite. Our new renovation includes a new wood burning stove in the lounge, extra shower facilities, BBQ and patio area as well as free Wi-Fi throughout! Breakfasts are available in our restaurant every morning from £5 and evening meals can be booked in advance. We have a picnic basket, flasks, chairs, free bikes and wet-gear for the outdoor enthusiast as they explore the stunning surrounding areas. Families and children will be warmly welcomed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mourne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mourne Lodge Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing