We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downshire Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Went on a week night for a birthday dinner. Busy for a week night, service good. Ate of the bar snacks menu and both got the 8oz burger on onions with peppered sauce one with chips and the other with lattice fries. Only complaint i had was the burgers could have been cooked that bit more the centre was to pinky for my liking and couldnt eat it. Mentioned when paying and apparently other people have mentioned it and its suppose to be like that, perhaps next time i will asked when ordered for it to be cooked a bit longer. Overall good

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank wilson139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We didnt stay at the hotel but called in for food in the restaurant. We hadnt booked and although they were very busy they managed to find us a table.
The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. They really made every effort to please.
The hotel decor was gorgeous and extremely clean.
The restaurant was a hive of activity and hardly an empty seat there.
Our food arrived promptly and was very nice. To be honest, it wasnt the most spectacular meal I've had but I had no complaints. It was fresh, plentiful and well presented but just lacked something.
The entire meal was very good value and we had change from £40 for 2 mains, 3 glasses of wine and a couple of coffees after.
Can be very busy and noisy but it all adds to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

had a meal here last night the food was lovely the only thing wrong it was served on a cold plate, my food went cold really qiuck. we eat in this hotel quite a lot and have all ways enjoyed so will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marienewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Downshire this weekend on a short visit to N Ireland.

Most welcoming staff we have met in any hotel anywhere in the UK or Ireland. Superb spacious and spotlessly clean room - and food to die for.

Why this hotel has only a 3 star rating is beyond me. We have stayed in 5 - star hotels at 3 and 4 times the price with zero personality, awful food and staff who didn't give a stuff. If you are in Northern Ireland this is the place to stay. Forget the diet for a few days and live life the way it should be lived - the Downshire Way. Leslie on reception - for this lady alone, 6 stars.

Room Tip: If you want the best room, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the downshire on Saturday 7th July for one night. On arrival, we were shown to our room which was nice but very noisy (we had expected this though as it was a Saturday night & the downshire is a very popular place for all ages) I went to reception to ask to be moved as I had work the next morning and the girl on reception was more than helpful, she moved us to a far quieter room (which had a great big flat screen tv!!)
We are regular visitors of the restaurant and I must say, we were not disappointed! Lovely steak, cooked to perfection in a lovely setting of a dining area.
We also had our breakfast in the same dining room the following morning - absolutely spot on! Just what we needed on a Sunday morning! :)
Overall, top class food, brilliant staff, and although our first room was a little dated compared to our second room, both were spotless!! Thank u :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmcc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was my 4 th or 5th visit over the last few years, and the Downshire just gets better & better. Lovely setting, really friendly staff - can't do enough for you. Food is superb, and a good choice. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when I'm in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuartw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Sunday 1st July 2012
Having been going to the restaurant in the Downshire for years, we have always been very happy with the service and the excellent food, so had no hesitation in meeting up with friends who were passing through on their way to the airport. The table was booked for 6 o'clock to allow sufficient time for a relaxing meal before our guests had to leave. Our orders taken well within ten minutes of being seated but he waitress immediately returned to tell us that there was no curry left. According to the website evening meals are served from 5.30, so within half an hour the curry was finished! Two of us quickly chose again.
We waited, time was ticking on and still we waited, watching the clock, as our guests had a plane to catch. By now it was coming up to ten to seven so I found a waitress who was re-setting a table and asked her if there was any possibility of getting our food. Her reply assured me that it was 'just coming now'. Okay! Good! But...you've guessed it!.. We waited! As it got to seven o'clock we were discussing the possibility of leaving. Our guests would be heading off without having eaten.
I again went to find out what had happened to our meal and was fortunate to find the receptionist who immediately went to sort it out. Thanks to her we were served within a few minutes, but our guests had to rush through their meal...one course only...and rush off. Absolute disaster!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Meryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbridge
0.3 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
100 reviews
12.1 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
18 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
18.1 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downshire Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downshire Arms Hotel

Address: 95 Newry Street, Banbridge BT32 3EF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Downshire Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Downshire Arms Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing