We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food :-)))”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downshire Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we went for my friend's 40th birthday...good crowd of us! the service was so quick. polite staff. I have to say I have the steak, it was the best ever :-) .... the portions size are huge. we will definitely be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Downshire Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed with hubby and sons in family room and single room. The showers in both rooms were temperamental to say the least! Hotel tried to fix the family room shower but didn't make too much difference. The noise from the bar and smokers outside was a bit of an issue as well especially since it was very warm so the window had to stay open. The staff were friendly and food was good so overall ok. The rooms are a bit overpriced for what they are in my opinion but you don't have much choice if you want to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Having eaten at this Resturant over the years and I have never been disappointed in the quality of food offered. Friendly polite staff offer the best service and advice on the menu. Try Yhe Downshire Arms Hotel Resturant and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soupyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

the Downshire is situated on the main street in Banbridge. we took 2 friends of ours who were visiting us from Finland to the Downshire for a meal in May 2013 as usual the food was fantastic. the Downshire Steak is well known and as usual didn't let us down. our friends were very pleased with the portions and were very impressed with the standard of service we received, and we all felt that the meal was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernIrelandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Food is fantastic, I had the burger pepper sauce with garlic fries, absolutely mouth watering, and believe me you won't go home hungry. Great value, service and atmosphere, always a warm welcome. Will go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joblack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great anniversary meal in the restaurant with my family. The hotel was a Georgian Inn and a stop for stage coaches on their way from Belfast to Dublin. Thankfully the current owners have kept the character of the place in their choice of decor and furniture. Tablecloths, fancy cutlery and candles all added to the sense of occasion. Child friendly - Service was very good and the food was excellent.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Anigmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Went on a Sunday of the bank holiday weekend. Had some food in the bar and stayed on for drinks as there was a group on later. Incredibly they charged £5 admission for this which I thought was rough for a Sunday night. The place soon filled and there was a great atmosphere as quite a few had been in drinking all day! The group came on very late, well after 10pm, but they were excellent and had the place rocking! Turned out to be a great day/night. Only negative was the bar was too small for such a crowd.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coisty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbridge
0.3 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
92 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
218 reviews
12.1 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
8.5 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
258 reviews
15.3 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downshire Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downshire Arms Hotel

Address: 95 Newry Street, Banbridge BT32 3EF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Downshire Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Downshire Arms Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing