We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food nothing special”
Review of Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Went here for a family meal. To be honest nothing that we couldn have had at home.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gothball81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night with my boyfriend. It is a lovely building and decorated to a very high standard. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and spacious although the en suite is on the small side. I was surprised that the official rating for the hotel is 1 star because it far exceeds some 3 star hotels I have stayed in. However be aware of the nightclub on site. This was not an issue for us as we included VIP tickets to the club in our package but it can be quite rough and when we were coming back to our room the police were outside the hotel. The noise outside goes on til about 2 am, something to consider especially at the weekend. Breakfast was perfect, no complaints. Overall a pleasant stay at this hotel, rooms clean and comfortable, food is very good in the restaurant for evening meal and breakfast and good location for Banbridge and Co. Down sight seeing!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Called in for a quick snack downstairs in the bar. After sitting for half an hour we had to ask the Barman if he could call someone to take our order. We waited for exactly one hour for our food to arrive. There were few customers in the bar but we discovered later that there was a party upstairs and obviously not enough staff on to cover. One meal was burnt so ...won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OAP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I recently stayed in the belmont during a business trip, my company organising this accomodation. First impressions of the hotel going up the sweeping long drive are good. This could be the perfect setting. In reality the hotel could do with a bit of an update. Whilst most of the public rooms were fine the bedrooms had a rather tired feel to them. Something you would tend to expect from a budget B&B rather than the country hotel this looks. Generally the service was ok but at times everyone seemed a little too busy to take the time to speak and I didnt get the feeling of a nice atmosphere. I was warned when I checked in that the hotel would be noisy on the Saturday night due to the nightclub attached to the hotel. Finally the hotel looks great with its floodlights lighting it up. Trouble is these tend to light up the bedrooms too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

While we haven't stayed at the Belmont, we have had a couple of extended family meals here recenty. Whiile the restaurant has an olde world feel to it, the staff are extremely attentive and the food is excellent. The steaks in particular are huge! Also they generally include some side orders with the meal, which makes the food very good value. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Glenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I received a warm welcome on arrival by the staff and they were polite and helpful throughout my stay. Unfortunately the room was disappointing and did not represent good value for money. The television in the room had limited channels and these were not tuned in properly, i.e. channel 1 was in fact channel 4,etc. A few of the channels were on more than one station and a lot of the stations were fuzzy. There was also no remote control for the television and the only sky channels were sports channels. The bathroom was a nice size however, the shower was mouldy and the water filled the shower tray within 3 minutes of the shower being on. There was also no place to store toiletries whilst in the shower meaning they 'swam' around your feet while showering!! The bathroom window also had a piece of the frosted sticker missing and there were rooms opposite that might have been able to see in. The room was off the landing of the stairs and was noisy with other guests and staff. Overall the room was very tired looking with mismatched furniture and looked in need of refurbishment. Definetely not worth the £75 price tag!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapixiefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed at The Belmont Hotel and although the hotel is in lovely mature grounds the rooms really do need a bit of updating, our shower cubicle was full of black mould and there was nowhere to put the toiletries in there only of the shower floor, not good when bending is a problem and the bedside lamp was useless as there was no plug socket nearby to plug it into plus a few other annoyances. However the staff are all very polite and effecient together with very good food in the restaurant. We would not stay there again, definately not 4 stars this one.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbridge
2.6 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
229 reviews
12 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
264 reviews
17.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
17.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Address: Rathfriland Road, Banbridge BT32 3LH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Price Range: £112 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing