We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst sunday lunch ever experienced with lots of attitude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmont Hotel

Belmont Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The worst sunday lunch ever experienced with lots of attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

I would give 0 as a score if possible, Family celebration lunch today and what a huge disappointment...

The attitude of the Older Gent serving was dreadful, so not a great start no wonder it is bottom of the Banbridge list (3 out of 3) Was simply menu and barked at for orders, must have missed charm and customer service training day or just a case of should no be there!

Food arrived, Prawn & Egg Salad, Frozen water logged prawns x 3 and overcooked boiled eggs, not a great start to what was to follow! Main Course: Baked Gammon, well no baked involved, was just a slab of tasteless ham, vegetables arrived via silver service.. had to ask what they where, a serving dish of green mush (Broccoli and Cauliflower) Deep Fried roast potatoes that tasted of tainted dirty cooking oil, desert was ok as not home-made and bought in frozen so really could go wrong! Coffee was warm brown liquid that came from a much needed cleaned coffee maker!

The above was bad enough, but as celebrating a 50th Anniversary my Grandmother asked for an omelette, this was impossible as the manger explained the head chef would go mad when he arrived later to discover his under chefs had done this, his attitude is menu or nothing, so i apologise to the chef who will be told off for making the said omelette. The head chef should be ashamed of his attitude and the slop that he is serving from the kitchen and described as Sunday lunch.... the days of running a kitchen with fear from both mangers and chef are 30 years out of date!

I hope the directors of this hotel read reviews and take note of the appalling service and standards the management and staff are offering as this is YOUR Money!!

I recommended you avoid the Belmont Hotel completely or eat at your peril !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    23
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
20
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I suggested that our group of friends visit here for dinner as I had previously enjoyed meals in the restaurant. My ste,ak along with another was cooked wrong (well done instead of medium), there was also something which had a putrid taste to it which i struggled to swallow. After alerting the staff and asking for the steak to be changed they came back with one at least twice the size but it had the quality of a casserole or stewing steak. The girls had one bite each to try and both had to spit it back out into their napkins. Throw in the fact that it was even more well done than the last which was sent back and you see where my problem lay.

I explained the situation and recieved sincere apologies from the head waitor who offered to replace it again but as everyone else had finished i did not want to wait another 15minutes.

To add insult to injury we were charged full price and when i mentioned that i was not happy paying for my steak as it was a shambles and largely unedible, the man at reception argued the point that it was fine, there was nothing wrong and that i should pay full price (which i didn't)!

Goes to show the customer isn't always right eh?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Food was very good and traditional. Management had a very attentive style and the food served was of an excellent nature.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked the restaurant for 6 people on Easter Sunday as a treat to ourselves, whilst the restaurant was busy, for Easter Sunday we thought it would have been packed.
We were all quickly taken to the main dining area, seated and given our menus, we all opted for starters. I myself went for the tomato and basil soup, it was ok very salty, but ok, 2 people had the mushrooms covered in breadcrums. This was terrible, the mushrooms were covered in a goo, nothing crispy about these!!
For the maincourse most of us ordered the Turkey & Ham, this again was very dissapointing the turkey was very dry and the ham was a joke - thin slices of packet ham that you would buy in a supermarket.
All in all it seemed as if there was no thought put into this menu regarding presentation and content if the Belmont think because it was Easter they could serve whatever they want and customers either take it or leave it, time will tell when it comes to repeat business.
The staff and service made up for a poor day out which is why I have given them a 3.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Went here for a family meal. To be honest nothing that we couldn have had at home.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gothball81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night with my boyfriend. It is a lovely building and decorated to a very high standard. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and spacious although the en suite is on the small side. I was surprised that the official rating for the hotel is 1 star because it far exceeds some 3 star hotels I have stayed in. However be aware of the nightclub on site. This was not an issue for us as we included VIP tickets to the club in our package but it can be quite rough and when we were coming back to our room the police were outside the hotel. The noise outside goes on til about 2 am, something to consider especially at the weekend. Breakfast was perfect, no complaints. Overall a pleasant stay at this hotel, rooms clean and comfortable, food is very good in the restaurant for evening meal and breakfast and good location for Banbridge and Co. Down sight seeing!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Called in for a quick snack downstairs in the bar. After sitting for half an hour we had to ask the Barman if he could call someone to take our order. We waited for exactly one hour for our food to arrive. There were few customers in the bar but we discovered later that there was a party upstairs and obviously not enough staff on to cover. One meal was burnt so ...won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OAP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbridge
2.6 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
13.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
12.0 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
8.0 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilltop Lodge B&B
Hilltop Lodge B&B
#1 of 4 in Banbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Property: Belmont Hotel
Address: Rathfriland Road, Banbridge BT32 3LH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Hotel Class:2 star — Belmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing