We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for a two star hotel”
Review of Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great value for a two star hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed last week for four nights, room basic but clean. tea and coffee and good biscuits in the room as well as hairdryer, toiletries, tv etc. For the price a excellent package. The basement hold the bar/restaurant which was very good. A hearty portion! which sadly I failed to finish each night! The breakfast was equally good quality and portion size. I found the staff friendly and whatever I asked for I got, so yes It was refreshing to get a stay that was pleasant. On the internet the menu was £25 for 3 course which was fine, but when I got there I ate every night starter and main with a free drink for under £15, so pretty pointless going elsewhere. Well done the Belmont.

Room Tip: quieter in the rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuePip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
22
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fermoy, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I fail to understand the number of comparatively poor reviews, We checked in for an overnight stay, we were eight in number, hardly a great booking. We were welcomed at reception like good friends! The staff assisted us in every way possible. We had an evening meal that seemed to everyone's satisfaction, If I could complain in any way it would be the enormous quantity of food presented. The quality was however not compromised. Our room was very adequate, the bed comfortable (if a little low for me - I find it difficult to get up out of a low bed due to lower spinal damage - my problem not the hotel's) The bathroom immaculate,
The next morning we had a vast breakfast and went to dress for the wedding, the ladies had booked for "hair and nails" and were directed expertly by the reception staff. The rest of us had begun to vacate our rooms when staff told us that an arrangement had been made for a late checkout, Hurrah! A change of plan meant we were eating again in the Belmont after the wedding at the local council offices (all went well, the registrar was wonderful) and we returned to the hotel. They had arranged a side room for us and also printed a personalised menu. This meal, our third in a row, simply overwhelmed us all. I know that I sat down still full from our previous meals but somehow managed to eat, and enjoy, a really great minced meat pie.
Finally we paid our bill, which seemed reasonable, and took our leave. As we left again I felt we were leaving friends!
I might add that the ONLY reason I gave this hotel four stars was because since it was a large private home (I presume) the shape of some of the bedrooms is a little strange,due to the need for en suite bathrooms. If I could have I would have given four and a half!

Room Tip: Talk to the reception staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_S1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I stay here whenever I am working nearby on business. Breakfasts are very good. Rooms are perfectly clean and fit for purpose bearing in mind you are not being charged the earth. Staff very friendly. What's not to like?

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We had booked a table for Mother's Day for a family gathering. The menu of 3 courses was reasonably priced at £17 per person, however we all agreed that the choice of starters on offer was extremely poor, and outdated! This was disappointing, and I had a difficult time choosing anything at all - melon/soup/curried egg mayo (?)/BBQ chicken wings with a blue cheese sauce/chilled juice(!!!) Very, very strange.
Main courses were fairly good, and certainly choice was better.
The wait between courses was also interminable.......I know it was Mother's Day, but still not good enough..

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmeharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I had a sirloin steak in the restaurant and it was very poor quality and taste. Even the chips were not nice. It was reasonably priced but obviously a very poor cut of meat. Very disappointed and will never be back as this is the second time I have been here in the past few months and been disappointed. Hate wasting money on something that you don't enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlover1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a nice meal during the week, the downstairs bar was not too busy and the atmosphere was perfect for a quiet no hassle meal. I had the steak sandwich which was delicious, steak perfectly cooked as requested. Nice selection of cocktails from the bar and resonably priced. Would return for a meal and drinks anytime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My partner and I called in over the Christmas break for our evening tea, ,before long Al came along and as smartly as usual took our order ..Within a short time our meal arrived cooked to perfection as always and served by lovely polite staff .We didn't have a sweet as after our tea we couldn't fit anything more in .We shall call again keep up the good work and thank you to one and all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbridge
3.5 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
212 reviews
11.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
122 reviews
15.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
148 reviews
8.8 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Property: Belmont Hotel
Address: Rathfriland Road, Banbridge BT32 3LH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Belmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing