We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely guesthouse in a lovely part of Ireland and run by a lovely couple.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenacres Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Banbridge B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely guesthouse in a lovely part of Ireland and run by a lovely couple.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our second stay at this Guesthouse, run by a really welcoming couple, Margaret and Ronnie. We were spoilt to bits and treated as part of the family. When one of our sons arrived to see us at breakfast time he was invited to have breakfast with us as well!! The food is really good, all home made and so well presented. The lounge is nice and comfortable and within a few minutes of sitting down we were always offered hot drinks and homemade cakes and biscuits. Be warned, we had both put on weight after our stay!! Nice comfortable room and beds, there is nothing not to like!! Lou and Jenny.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do enjoy having you stay at Greenacres when you are over visiting family.
We are now preparing for Christmas I do look forward to baking and making for our guests I have just made a new marmalade with a little of the Christmas spirit next time your over you will be able to sample.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
24
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The warmest welcome, the best breakfasts, and stunning views of the Mourne Mountains and the Northern Irish countryside from every window. We have stayed at Greenacres many times and there's nowhere I'd rather go. We go to Banbridge to visit family, and this friendly family home is very much a part of that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Ronnie and I always enjoy seeing you and your family , I know Hollie enjoys her walks and misses you when you leave. Our girls are still laying so guests can benefit from the free range eggs. We all look forward to seeing you all in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We love staying at Greenacres. There is always a warm welcome from Margaret and Ronnie (and now Holly too!) and the accommodation, food and service are second to none. Enjoying the beautiful views across the hills of County Down whilst eating one of Margaret's first-class breakfasts is a real delight. But it's the heart that makes the home, and the kindness and care we always receive are what makes us keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Ronnie and I appreciate you taking the time to write a review . We enjoy having you stay at Greenacres, I have just finished making another batch of marmalade, and hope to get started on the chutneys soon.
Solar panels are up and running, we look forward to seeing the improvements it will make to the running of Greenacres.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A real home from home. Margaret and Ronnie were so welcoming--advice and information was given willingly. Margaret was even able to arrange for us to visit the Bronte Interpretive Centre (the main reason for our stay). The evening meals were first rate and excellent value for money. Breakfast great too, especially the eggs!! We were treated as one of the family and felt totally at home. Holly (the dog) welcomed us as well.
Margaret and Michael

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Ronnie and I did enjoyed having you stay at Greenacres.
We hope that the rest of your trip went well and that you were able to take in more of our beautiful countryside.
We hope you both get the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Greenacres. We were in N Ireland for 2 nights for a sad family occasion and we knew we could rely on Margaret and Ronnie to give us the TLC we needed. They did not disappoint. They were totally unruffled by 9 of us descending on them, made us welcome and comfortable, gave us a first class breakfast (don't miss the home made wheaten) and lent us umbrellas for the funeral. We didn't have an evening meal during this stay but have done previously and thoroughly enjoyed it. Greenacres is our N Irish accommodation of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary241818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you Mary for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry that your visit this time was to attend John senior funeral.
We hope in the near future that you do get the opportunity to visit us again.
I have just made some wheaten bread for our guests for there evening meals to night.

Best wishes
Ronnie and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Margaret could not have been more welcoming or friendly if she had tried. Nothing was too much trouble. I stayed for two nights and had very early starts each morning. Margaret made me fresh fruit salad on both mornings.

Travelling alone, I did feel a bit lost at times, but Margaret's lovely friendly nature cheered me up. She printed out directions for me each day and was kind enough to share her scone recipe with me. For the first time in my life, I have produced perfect scones, thanks to Margaret.

Margaret Gray

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you Margaret for taking the time to write a review, I am so glad the scones turned out well for you , I enjoy baking them , it gives me pleasure knowing that others enjoy making them too. We hope you get the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Many thanks go to Margaret and Ronnie for providing such a delightful place to stay whilst visiting relatives. Every detail had been thought of and all of our family could not have asked for more. Margaret became part of our holiday as she was great company but we never felt imposed upon. We all enjoyed the hearty breakfast and I especially appreciated the lengths Margaret went to in sourcing local produce including home made preserves, breads and eggs from their own chickens. The boys appreciated good quality wifi(!) and a tv in their rooms to relax before bedtime. Thanks too go to Holly the dog and Rusty the cat who were equally excellent hosts. I don't know if the boys or Holly had the most fun! A definite recommendation for all travellers to the area whether alone, a couple or a family. The quality of the meals alone were worth more than the cost of the stay. Thank you to Margaret and Ronnie and I hope we stay with you again some time - even just to restock on the black currant preserve!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review ,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us , We hope you do get the opportunity to visit us again, hopefully I can make more blackcurrant preserve.

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbridge
4.7 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
212 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hilltop Lodge B&B
Hilltop Lodge B&B
#1 of 4 in Banbridge
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
97 reviews
3.8 mi away
Golfkeel Cottages
Golfkeel Cottages
#1 of 1 in Banbridge
14 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Guesthouse

Property: Greenacres Guesthouse
Address: 15 Brague Road, Banbridge BT32 5JZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With almost twenty years of experience, we are the only Grade A Guesthouse in the area, located five minutes’ drive from the A1 dual carriageway and the Bridgewater Outlet. We have won numerous awards including runner-up in the Ulster Guesthouse of the Year Competition. Greenacres is a spacious, well-appointed, and tastefully decorated home, set in mature gardens. We cater for all dietary requirements and use only the best locally-sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenacres Guesthouse Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing