We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenacres - home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenacres Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Banbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I visited Greenacres Guest House in Jan 2014. Hosts Margaret and Ronnie gave me a very warm welcome on arrival which included a warming cup of tea and cakes.The surrounding countryside was beautiful on my approach to the house as was their large garden to which guests have access. My room was well furnished and nice and clean. I had a double bed, TV, en-suite shower/toilet/handbasin and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfasts were plentiful and varied. Evening meals were an inexpensive extra cost and saved having to worry about eating out. The hosts always had a cup of tea or coffee ready for guests when they came in after a day out with a little extra cake and biscuit on the side. There is a large lounge room for the use of guests with a big TV and music CDs. A car is a must as Greenacres is 2.5 miles from Banbridge in a quiet, peaceful county setting. I felt really at home and very comfortable and in part this was due to the warmth of Margaret and Ronnie. An excellent place to stay for touring or for some R& R and highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you Marilyn for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you stay with us, and our glad you where able to take in some of our local tourist attractions.
Also being able to take a trip to the Titanic Quarter just 30 minutes drive from Greenacres. or if you don't want the hassle of driving, there is a regular bus service from Banbridge to Belfast and then hop on the metro to Titanic Quarter.
We hope the rest of your trip goes well with family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Felt like part of the family!
Ronnie met us when we couldn't find their home. They accomodated our fluctuating arrival time, and even ensured we made it to the nearby parade. Sitting outside and sharing experiences with the Maynes and their guests in the cozy patio area. Farm fresh eggs for breakfast, nice morning walk to watch a calf fed from a bottle, and visiting with their horse and chickens were all part of the relaxing atmosphere. An actual menu to order your breakfast from. Rubarb picked in the morning & eaten in a pie in the evening! So much home cooking and wonderful baking skills! Next visit we will reserve all our dinners at the Mayne's.
Can't wait to return!
The Kruemmers
Michigan, USA

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you Sue for taking the time to write a review. This summer was our best weather wise and everything in the garden grow. Rhubarb season has ended and its covered over for the winter. As you know I love cooking and trying out new recipes .We hope on your next visit you will be able to enjoy these. Our girls are still laying so that our guests can enjoy free range eggs.
Looking forward to the festive season .
Ronnie and I look forward to seeing you all at Greenacres again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our second stay at this Guesthouse, run by a really welcoming couple, Margaret and Ronnie. We were spoilt to bits and treated as part of the family. When one of our sons arrived to see us at breakfast time he was invited to have breakfast with us as well!! The food is really good, all home made and so well presented. The lounge is nice and comfortable and within a few minutes of sitting down we were always offered hot drinks and homemade cakes and biscuits. Be warned, we had both put on weight after our stay!! Nice comfortable room and beds, there is nothing not to like!! Lou and Jenny.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do enjoy having you stay at Greenacres when you are over visiting family.
We are now preparing for Christmas I do look forward to baking and making for our guests I have just made a new marmalade with a little of the Christmas spirit next time your over you will be able to sample.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The warmest welcome, the best breakfasts, and stunning views of the Mourne Mountains and the Northern Irish countryside from every window. We have stayed at Greenacres many times and there's nowhere I'd rather go. We go to Banbridge to visit family, and this friendly family home is very much a part of that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Ronnie and I always enjoy seeing you and your family , I know Hollie enjoys her walks and misses you when you leave. Our girls are still laying so guests can benefit from the free range eggs. We all look forward to seeing you all in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We love staying at Greenacres. There is always a warm welcome from Margaret and Ronnie (and now Holly too!) and the accommodation, food and service are second to none. Enjoying the beautiful views across the hills of County Down whilst eating one of Margaret's first-class breakfasts is a real delight. But it's the heart that makes the home, and the kindness and care we always receive are what makes us keep coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Ronnie and I appreciate you taking the time to write a review . We enjoy having you stay at Greenacres, I have just finished making another batch of marmalade, and hope to get started on the chutneys soon.
Solar panels are up and running, we look forward to seeing the improvements it will make to the running of Greenacres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A real home from home. Margaret and Ronnie were so welcoming--advice and information was given willingly. Margaret was even able to arrange for us to visit the Bronte Interpretive Centre (the main reason for our stay). The evening meals were first rate and excellent value for money. Breakfast great too, especially the eggs!! We were treated as one of the family and felt totally at home. Holly (the dog) welcomed us as well.
Margaret and Michael

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Ronnie and I did enjoyed having you stay at Greenacres.
We hope that the rest of your trip went well and that you were able to take in more of our beautiful countryside.
We hope you both get the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Greenacres. We were in N Ireland for 2 nights for a sad family occasion and we knew we could rely on Margaret and Ronnie to give us the TLC we needed. They did not disappoint. They were totally unruffled by 9 of us descending on them, made us welcome and comfortable, gave us a first class breakfast (don't miss the home made wheaten) and lent us umbrellas for the funeral. We didn't have an evening meal during this stay but have done previously and thoroughly enjoyed it. Greenacres is our N Irish accommodation of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary241818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayne, Owner at Greenacres Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you Mary for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry that your visit this time was to attend John senior funeral.
We hope in the near future that you do get the opportunity to visit us again.
I have just made some wheaten bread for our guests for there evening meals to night.

Best wishes
Ronnie and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbridge hotels
4.3 mi away
Hilltop Lodge B&B
Hilltop Lodge B&B
#1 of 4 in Banbridge
103 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
232 reviews
3.8 mi away
Golfkeel Cottages
Golfkeel Cottages
#1 of 1 in Banbridge
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
100 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Guesthouse

Address: 15 Brague Road, Banbridge BT32 5JZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banbridge
Price Range: £25 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With almost twenty years of experience, we are the only Grade A Guesthouse in the area, located five minutes’ drive from the A1 dual carriageway and the Bridgewater Outlet. We have won numerous awards including runner-up in the Ulster Guesthouse of the Year Competition. Greenacres is a spacious, well-appointed, and tastefully decorated home, set in mature gardens. We cater for all dietary requirements and use only the best locally-sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenacres Guesthouse Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing