We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal with prompt and professional service”

Downshire Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Banbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely meal with prompt and professional service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our walking group had booked this meal to follow a walk up and around Slieve Gullion in South Armagh. There were 16 of us for the meal and a table was set up for us before our arrival. Very prompt service within an attractively laid out restaurant and a very relaxed atmosphere. Good menu choices and lovely food which was enjoyed by all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“downshire arms”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

having spent a lovely evening in a banbridge bar we decided to go to the downshire arms.having been there before i thought id like to go again....what a mistake i made....on our way in through the door a young lady was refused admission even though she had passed three doormen on the way in with no difficulty...what happened next can only be described as unbelievable..the doorman and i use that term loosely not only swore at the woman but then continued to insult her from behind the front door..there was absolutly no call for the ignorant and arrogant attitude from a so called member of a security team towards a member of the public....having seen all i needed to see i walked out...ill gave one recommendation about the downshire ..AVOID..there are some lovely bars in banbridge unfortunately this is not one of them....

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Constantly Consistent”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The title says it all The Downshire delivers 7 days a week with good service, food and atmosphere a credit to the Owner Nigel who has worked hard to give its customers one of the best eateries in Banbridge

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent service - pity about the food ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Ate here last night. Excellent service but let down badly by standard of food. Overdone steaks , bland Thai prawn starter , everything covered in paprika, white chips, hard apple in crumble.
What a pity.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n/ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a lovely meal here went for traditional fish and chips and was not disappointed they came with the chips in a wire mesh basket lined with newspaper was a lovely touch and fish beautifully cooked dessert was enormous really good sized portions on all courses lovely food and great service will defiantly return. Excellent value also and great parking area .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downshire Arms Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Banbridge, County Down
Banbridge, County Down
 
Banbridge, County Down
 
Banbridge, County Down
 

Been to Downshire Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing