We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK at best.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bushtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK at best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just back from a few nights in the Bushtown Hotel. I don't want to say that this was a bad stay but we have certainly had better.

The appearance of the hotel is old but pretty, when you get inside it just looks old and dated i'm afraid. The hotel just smells old and musty, except the hallway to our room which smelt very strongly of washing detergent as the laundry in on the ground floor.

On arrival the reception staff were friendly and helpful, they weren't sure if the room was ready and tried to contact housekeeping to check but got no reply, this set the tone for the housekeeping staff, but I'll get to that later. The receptionist had to go walking around the hotel to check if our room was ready which thankfully it was.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and have no complaints at all, the staff were amazing in there and the food was very tasty and very good value we felt. Likewise with breakfast, staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the only issue I had was that even the tea and coffee was self service and not brought to the table for you, but that is nothing major at all.

The biggest disappointment was the cleaning and housekeeping, the entire hotel looks like it needs a huge deep clean, it appears that only what people can see is cleaned. Prime example in our bedroom, one of the kids moved the bed and underneath it we found an empty wine bottle and some biscuits that had been dropped, we left the bottle out to be removed but it was left there for another day and night. When we found the bottle I stated to move some of the other furniture out of curiosity and found loads of wrappers and papers in behind them. On one of the days the room was made up very late in the day, again no major issue except for the fact that one bed wasn't made, another one had the duvet thrown over a cushion that had been on the bed and the 3rd bed it was clear that someone had been sitting on it either having a break or waiting for someone to finish, I brought this up with the receptionist and was advised they would bring it up with housekeeping the next day, the issue was never rectified nor mentioned to us at check out. It left a bad taste in the mouth.

We also used the pool at the hotel, small in size but we were happy with that as our kids are still learning to swim. There wasn't enough towels when we arrived so were advised to bring some from our room to use and there are no signs advising of the depth of the pool in either the shallow or deep end.

Overall, it's not bad enough for us to never to stay there again, a lot more attention to detail and this would be a lovely place but if I had a choice between here and another hotel of similar price I would go elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room which looked at a wall out the back, poor natural light in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us here at The Bushtown Hotel.

Firstly, we are very glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and we will certainly pass your kind comments on to the relative departments mentioned.

In high season all departments are very busy, as the hotel experiences 100% occupancy on most nights. However; at all times we expect that each department is consistent in maintaining the high standards set, and we are at fault if these standards are not met.

Please be assured that your review prompted an in depth investigation as to the cleanliness of our rooms and we are glad to report that this was an isolated oversight by our housekeeping staff. Also, after bringing this to the attention to our reception staff, it does seem the communication between management and reception has failed. This should have been dealt with immediately and we apologize for any inconvenience or concern that this may have caused you and your family.

We thank you for bringing this to our attention and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    69
    46
    27
    23
See reviews for
101
95
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Longford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here having booked through Supervalu. Food was excellent-superior to three star. Staff were to be highly commended:most efficient & facilitating. Rooms were comfortable & well serviced. Facilities in general were vg although the swimming pool etc need revamping. Overall would recommend this venue as a base while touring Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Bushtown.

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and we will pass your comments to all staff regarding same.

Being so close to some of the major attractions on the North Coast means that even on a short visit you can take in many of these amazing sights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is a short distance from Coleraine itself. very pleasent staff who make you feel more than welcome.
This is an ideal venue for weddings and also for touring the surrounding areas.
We had a relaxing weekend.
Well worth the money, both food & drink top class.
We were not impressed by our room, but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review regarding your visit to the Bushtown Hotel.

We are very proud of our reputation for food and service and are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. The hotel is indeed very popular for weddings as you mentioned and we strive for excellence on all occasions.

We will pass your kind comments on to all staff who work very hard to ensure all customers have a memorable experience.

Yours sincerely,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in room 11, & it smelled really bad. The room is very old fashioned & very dark as little natural light gets into the room as it looks out on a bank.The shower is a hose from the bath taps, which means it is hard to set the temperature, I have never had a worse shower in a hotel. Breakfast was ok if you want a cooked breakfast. I was very disappointed especially for the price we paid, and I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodiewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us and are confused why you did not raise these issues with management or staff during your visit. The hotel has a new pressurised water system and we have investigated why you did not have sufficient water pressure in your room. We found that the mixing value washer had perished and this was disabling the ability to have the shower turned on properly. If we had been notified or made us aware of this at the time we could have had the problem fixed. We could not find any smells in the room as mentioned however, if you had wanted a different room we would have been happy to accommodate you elsewhere.

The management and staff try very hard to make sue that all customers have a very good experience but on occasion things can happen that are beyond our control. Its is at this time we rely on our customer's feedback (at the time the unforeseen problems arises) to enable hotel management/staff to resolve the issue immediately.

We hope you do return to the hotel again and would invite you to give management a call on 028 7035 8367 so we can explain our investigation in more detail.

Yours sincerely,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here for a three night break with my mum, niece and daughter. The room was very clean and there were fresh towels and cleaning every day. The staff were very attentive and friendly.
The food was beautiful. Portions were very generous and the breakfasts were lovely.
Also lots to choose from on the menu. The duck was delicious!
The kids menu was very good too.
It’s a nice location, just a mile outside of Coleraine and only a few miles from the Jet Centre.
We booked some treatments with Eileen who runs Vintage Beauty at the hotel.
I would highly recommend the Maxi Eye treatment and my daughter and niece were delighted with the twinkle toes polish for wee fingers and wee toes. Eileen’s contact details are on the hotel’s website.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Coleraine area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding so many of the various departments within the hotel.

Our team at the Bushtown will be delighted with your comments and we will certainly pass them on to all.

We look forward to you and your families return to the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just home from a great wee night in the Bushtown, staff brilliant, second to none, food great, rooms lovely, spacious and clean, had a lovely breakfast as well, we'll worth the money, would definitely go back next time I'm in that neck of the woods!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just home from a wonderful weekend in the Bushtown Hotel in Coleraine with good family and great company. food was excellent drink was good too ain't that right from one Mrs McKeown to another. Would def reccomend this Hotel.

Room Tip: No 6 or No 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
5.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
7.7 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
5.9 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Property: The Bushtown Hotel
Address: 283 Drumcroon Road, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing