We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downhill Beachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downhill Beachhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

A really beautiful place to stay with the beach on your doorstep in the morning and the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep at night. The facilities are great, the kitchen has all you need and the living/dining rooms are lovely, cosy and comfortable. Lovely steamy power showers very welcome after a chilly dip in the sea! I advise you to book an extra night as you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: Try to get one with an ocean view, it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
41
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This place was so perfectly located, it was absolutely picturesque. The owners were the nicest and most accommodating people. The place was very clean. Other guests were nice and clean as well. Seriously - I would definitely stay here again. Absolutely loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSP838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hostel has the most perfect location. It is overlooking a superb long beach in Northern Ireland which is clean and safe and large enough for the many activities taking place there i.e. fishing, surfing, dog walking and of course swimming. The hostel is friendly, clean and has great cooking facilities. We stayed in an en-suite family room facing the back of the house where the rooms are not as bright and lack a sea view. While the facilities are great it would be advisable to bring your provisions with you as the local shops are some distance away. Tea, coffee and other essentials are provided at the hostel which is a nice touch. Book early as this hostel is popular

Room Tip: rooms to the front of the house are bright with sea views but you must share bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle45161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Long time reader of tripadvisor here, first time reviewer (Downhill Hostel inspired me to put fingers to keyboard). My family and I (wife and four children) spent a night at Downhill Hostel during our recent visit to Ireland and all agree it was the highlight of the trip. When we were initially booking our trip, we wanted just to land somewhere close to Giant's Causeway. Little did we know Downhill Hostel, Downhill Strand, Mussenden Temple, Magilligan Point (and The Point Bar/Restaurant) would steal the show. Coming from the States, we get so much information about the West/Southwest of Ireland, but relatively little about Northern Ireland (and the Antrim Coast in particular). We happened to arrive at Downhill Hostel on a bright, clear sunny day. After swimming in the Atlantic during the afternoon, we headed up to get the view from Mussenden Temple. My sixteen year old was the first to notice: "You can see three countries from here" - NI, Inishowen peninsula (Donegal, Ireland) and Islay and Jura coasts (Scotland). Pretty cool moment. The next time we are fortunate enough to return to Ireland, Downhill Hostel will not be a "happy accident", but rather "the destination".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farrellhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Down, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from a night at Downhill hostel. We love this place so much that we go at least once a year. The setting is stunning and the rooms are very comfortable. We usually have a room with shared bathroom on the top floor (which sleeps 4), or an ensuite room if its available but this time we had a room with shared bathroom on the middle floor. The room was just as good with a comfortable double bed & a set of bunk beds. We still also had a fantastic sea view. The room was a bit noisy as it was situated above the kitchen and there was some noise from the room upstairs also but despite that we all slept well and woke up refreshed and ready for a morning walk on the beautiful downhill beach. I can't recommend this place highly enough and we can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at Downhill Hostel for 2 nights in Aug 2013. We had a wonderful time and plan to return. The location is out of this world, the hostel is very well equipped and William was super friendly and knowledgeable.

We had one of the en suite rooms, very comfortable and clean - good shower and plenty of space (it would sleep 4).

All in all a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I've used tripadvisor to book several places on my travels and never been so inspired and satisfied that I've wanted to leave a review. This hostel is more like a self-catering hotel. Nestled amongst the hills and beside a gorgeous stretch of beach, Downhill is comfortable, clean, and run by incredibly friendly folk. The kitchen is well-equipped, the showers are clean and hot (only 2, but it's a small house and I never encountered a problem or had to wait), the beds are super-comfy and there's a lounge with books and board games if the weather keeps you indoors! We were staying over on a tour of the North Coast and found this the perfect place to relax, rest, and sleep before heading on the next day. We've been recommending it to everyone likely to travel that way already! Thanks for the good craic, Downhill ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Country_Hopper_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
12.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
7.1 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
6.6 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downhill Beachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downhill Beachhouse

Property: Downhill Beachhouse
Address: 12 Mussenden Road | Downhill, Coleraine BT51 4RP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downhill Beachhouse (formerly Downhill Hostel) is a self-catering Victorian Villa accepting both individual and group bookings. Accommodation is in double, twin, and 4 persons rooms. Use of a guest kitchen, dining and living room is included in the tariff. This atmospheric home is very popular with couples, families, outdoor enthusiasts, and groups of friends or families. The property borders the National Trust property containing the famous 'Mussenden Temple' and fronts onto the Downhill/Benone Beach. Local outdoor and arts activities can be arranged by the owners for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Downhill Beachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Beachhouse Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing