We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downhill Beachhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2006

I stayed at this hostel about 2 years ago in one of the dorm rooms for a very cheap £8 a night. The stay itself was fine, the rooms and the (communal) bathrooms were clean, but I think I was too old (30+) to be doing the dorm/backpacker thing. There were 6 or 8 bunk beds to a dorm room and I really felt my age being amongst a bunch of 18 year olds. This isn't the fault of the hostel, but mine. They also had private ensuite rooms which I should have booked on hindsight.

The couple that run the hotel are very friendly and helpful and the hostel has a large communal kitchen for cooking your own meals.

The location itself is stunning, right on Downhill beach itself. Be aware, if you're planning to cook for yourself, that the nearest shops are in the town of Castlerock, about 2 miles away. So get your groceries before arriving, esp. if you don't have a car. Bus and train timetables are crucial if you want to see more of the coast by public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hitchhiker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Réservez directement sur le site de l'hôtel =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Seb9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhillBeachhouse, Manager at Downhill Beachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank PDSGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rom som har vinduer vendt ut mot havet har best utsikt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhillBeachhouse, Owner at Downhill Beachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les grandes chambres d'angles on vue sur la mer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank THOMAS5 H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015
Thank D4v1d13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HenryCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coleraine hotels
9.6 mi away
Ulster Cottages
Ulster Cottages
#1 of 6 in Coleraine
316 reviews
12.4 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
7.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
367 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lisnagalt Lodge
Lisnagalt Lodge
#8 of 19 in Coleraine
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downhill Beachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downhill Beachhouse

Address: 12 Mussenden Road | Downhill, Coleraine BT51 4RP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Coleraine
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downhill Beachhouse (formerly Downhill Hostel) is a self-catering Victorian Villa accepting both individual and group bookings. Accommodation is in double, twin, and 4 persons rooms. Use of a guest kitchen, dining and living room is included in the tariff. This atmospheric home is very popular with couples, families, outdoor enthusiasts, and groups of friends or families. The property borders the National Trust property containing the famous 'Mussenden Temple' and fronts onto the Downhill/Benone Beach. Local outdoor and arts activities can be arranged by the owners for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Downhill Beachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Beachhouse Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing