We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Pictures Can Show”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downhill Beachhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The Downhill Hostel was one of my favorite places that I stayed in all of Ireland. During my 23 days in Ireland and Northern Ireland, the scenery of the Downhill Hostel was certainly the best of any place me and my friends stayed. McCall and William were hospitable and gracious.

We definitely recommend going up to Giant's Causeway and really enjoyed the Downhill Estate. The Carrick-A-Rede rope bridge was a dud for me and my friends, just didn't seem worth the price. I definitely recommend anyone stay at the Downhill Hostel for more than one night. We tried to do just one night and that simply wasn't enough, so we stayed a second night.

The beach is incredible and it was one of the most relaxing days we had on our whole trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotysloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

the hostel sits in front of a beautiful 6 mile long golden beach. If you like hostels, you'll love this one. I woke up in the middle of the night and took the 30 second stroll onto the beach. It was deadly looking out for the pirates ghosts. Didn't manage to see any but you could be sure they were there. I did manage to meet a night fisherman and maybe he was a ghost or maybe he was a dream. Who knows? Downhill was magical for me anyway.......

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Have been here quite a few times and all my friends and myself loved it every time. It's great to wake up with the sound of waves that drags you out to this great beach just in front of the house. The area is great, so is the house and the people! Will always come back when I need to get away from everything else and want to spend a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Situated in a calm and tranquil area .The sea breeze and beautiful coast line .Hostel - clean and very up to date .

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
Thank CymroMagyarorszag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

There are no words. I only stayed there one night two years ago but, when the city is too much for me, I close my eyes and go back to Downhill - there's like a higher power in this place, it made me so peaceful.
The hostel itself is great too, I particularly loved the room downstairs with all the books from where you could see the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We went here for a romantic holiday and little did I know we would leave being engaged! The location is fab and the house is beautiful! It is perfect for going to all the tourist attractions around the north. I hope to be back at some stage and would def. recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tippvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

‎5 stars is not enough to describe Downhill Hostel. It's amazing place, with magical atmosphere, friendly stuff and.. chance to surf! If I didn't have appointment for next day I'd stay longer, and we'll be back next year for sure! Words can't describe how wonderful it is :D

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zgAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coleraine hotels
9.6 mi away
Ulster Cottages
Ulster Cottages
#1 of 6 in Coleraine
316 reviews
12.4 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
7.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
367 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lisnagalt Lodge
Lisnagalt Lodge
#8 of 19 in Coleraine
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downhill Beachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downhill Beachhouse

Address: 12 Mussenden Road | Downhill, Coleraine BT51 4RP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Coleraine
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downhill Beachhouse (formerly Downhill Hostel) is a self-catering Victorian Villa accepting both individual and group bookings. Accommodation is in double, twin, and 4 persons rooms. Use of a guest kitchen, dining and living room is included in the tariff. This atmospheric home is very popular with couples, families, outdoor enthusiasts, and groups of friends or families. The property borders the National Trust property containing the famous 'Mussenden Temple' and fronts onto the Downhill/Benone Beach. Local outdoor and arts activities can be arranged by the owners for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Downhill Beachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Beachhouse Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing