We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel!”
Review of Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed here over the Easter Holidays and we have nothing but positive things to say about this Hotel! Situated near Portrush and other attractions, it was wonderful. we had our meals on easter sunday and monday, to which the food was presented very pleasently and the staff were very nice and polite. the room itself was very big, with a nice warm shower and all of the nessessary items you would need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was self serviced, and the staff were very polite and always checked up on you to see how you were and if you needed anything else! I could not recommend this hotel enough, ignore any negative comments you may read or find online about this place, it is such a nice calm and peaceful hotel, and we would both defiantly return to it if we had the chance!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_qprfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are very proud of the team we have at The Lodge and fully appreciate that it is they that really make the difference to our guests' experiences. We all look forward to welcoming you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    180
    67
    25
    12
See reviews for
218
225
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
armagh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

first i want to talk about is food. my god it was probably the best food i personaly have ever eaten. the staff were superb and the room was good size and warm also spotless. have to say also their prices were superb both in restaurent and nightly rate. one girl i want to pick out in particular is the receptionest on easter mondy 1st april. when i was checking in that evening she was under pressure from different angles but nothing was a bother. she might remember booking a taxi for me later on .sorry did not get her name but a real gem .definately reccomend and stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casioman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience. I will be sure and pass on your compliments to all the staff especially the Chef's and Receptionists. We all look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Called here today for lunch and opted for the 3 course carvery as its very reasonably priced. We were seated in the conservatory as it was very busy but unfortunately as we were not in the main room we were somewhat forgotten about. Had a long wait for soup starters to arrive. The chef serving the main course wasn't very pleasant and they were no mashed potatoes,disappointing! Wished we had requested main room seating and not chosen the carvery as we had heard great reviews about this hotel but unfortunately it didnt live up to our expectations today.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for posting your review regarding a recent visit to Elliot's Bistro for lunch time carvery. Having received so many excellent reveiws regarding the high quality of service and food offered at the hotel, I am disappointed to read your comments. The hotel is very popular for dining and is especially busy over holiday periods. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience experienced on this occasion and thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Easter Sunday with my husband and three children.the food was great really nice and loads of it. The staff are really helpfully my baby was unwell and the waitress went and got a wet tea towel fr his head without us even having to ask. The room was great loads of room the only thing I didn't like was no lift we here on the second floor and with my soon being sick we had him in the pram.there was no staff around but lucky enough another guest helped my Husband up and the next morning we had to take trips to get are bags down and the parm. I old to back but just make sure we are down stairs are in the main hotel next time

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your overnight stay with us and I hope your son is feeling better. Unfortunately, we do not have a lift at the hotel, however, our staff are more than happy to help with luggage. Next time you stay, please request a ground floor family room in the Annex building or a family room in the main hotel and advise reception you require porterage. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My friend and I stayed for a weekend break offer (very good value!), the Friday and Saturday nights. The double room was enormous, with a very very comfortable bed and all the mod cons you would expect (and some you wouldn't - even an ironing board and iron!), a little chocolate on the pillow and very handy free wi-fi. Our package included breakfast (great buffet!) + a 4 course meal which we had on the Friday night - lovely (although don't eat too much during your day before hand 'cause you get plenty! + the starter of mackerel was amazing! We had a lovely weekend watching rugby and dining on great food. The best part though, was the staff - they are very attentive and cannot do enough - always with a smile, no matter how busy they are. We eat here quite often, but we will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The TravelStop building is quiet and rooms are spacious (yet lovely and warm, with temperature contr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BroniaColeraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the overall experience at The Lodge Hotel. I will be sure and pass your kind comments onto all the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co antrim
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here last year and didnt enjoy meal but went for weekend with two other women for a wkend break 22nd - 24th march and had such a good time - place was spotless, food was extremely good and staff couldnt have been more helpful - there was music on both nights which was reason we went - last time it was the food which was the problem but not this time and prices for a drink in bar were very reasonable - thank you for good weekend keep it up Lodge we will be back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbyCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor n.i.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Went to the Lodge hotel on 22 March for weekend break with wife and another couple. We set out from Bangor on the Friday in terrible winter conditions and to add more misery there was a bomb scare on the Belfast road and we were diverted through Newtownards. Taking our time we finally arrived at the Lodge hotel after nearly three hours travel. Now to the hotel:.

On arrival we checked in at reception and warmly greeted by the staff. We had requested rooms in the annex and our room was excellent. Large room with a double bed and single bed, tea and coffee making facilities with plenty of coffee and tea bags and an assortment of biscuits. Trouser press, hair dryer and the room was nice and warm. The bathroom is spacious with soap,shampoo and conditioner so no need to bring your own. Plenty of towels and face cloths also.

Forgot to say a chocolate was left on each pillow ( a nice touch ).

The food at the Lodge is exceptional with a large varied menu. The menu for the meal that was included in the weekend break was fantastic. The breakfast are buffet cold and hot and could not fault.

The atmosphere in the Lodge is great and the staff from waiters, barmen and waitresses in the dining rooms are a credit to the Lodge. Special note to Adrian in the bar, great guy. These people cant do enough for you to make your stay memorable. There was also good entertainment on the Saturday night which we enjoyed.

So to Norma and all the staff thanks for brightening up our weekend break,we will certainly be back. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel without question.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxflyBangorN_i_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you all enjoyed The Lodge Hotel experience! We are very proud of the team we have at the hotel and fully appreciate that it is they that really make the difference to our guests' experiences. I shall pass your compliments on to all the staff with a special mention to Adrian. We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
6.5 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
2.1 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,780 reviews
4.2 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
382 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Hotel

Property: Lodge Hotel
Address: Lodge Road, Coleraine BT52 1NF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its hospitality and great food, The Lodge hotel, Coleraine is the ideal base for touring the North Coast. The 56 guest rooms are spacious and equipped with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and direct dial telephone. The seaside resorts of Portrush and Portstewart are only a 10 minute drive away. The medieval Dunluce Castle is just 8 miles from the hotel and the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Giant's Causeway is a 20 minute drive away. In addition the North Coast is renowned as a golfer's paradise boasting 7 challenging courses including the famous Royal Portrush a mere 10 minute drive away. However you choose to spend your day, the Lodge Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay on the North Coast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Travelstop
And Travelstop Hotel
Lodge Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing