We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First family holiday”
Review of Ulster Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ulster Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was tasked with booking our first family holiday which was a nerving task. I didn't have to worry after arriving at the cottages I knew we / I had made the right choice.

Its a little out of town which was perfect for us but everything is on your doorstep.

Nothing was a problem and I would be happily recommend this as an excellent choice for your holidays on the Antrim North Coast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Ulster Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Quiet rural location away from the traffic jams of nearby towns. Approx 5-7 mins drive to White Rocks area. Cottage spotless and probably the best equipped of any self-catering we have used in UK or USA. Bedrooms large and very well furnished. Safe environment for kids to play in communal area. Owners on site to help out and provide security.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelleysmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Beautifully decorated & spacious cottage and very friendly & helpful couple that own the cottages. Their offers to make our holiday special were above & beyond the call of duty and it certainly was a holiday we will never forget
We have recommended the cottages to friends and hope to return ourselves again sometime too. We had a super time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarlaGUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The cottage was beautiful,everything you could need was provided and the owner was more than helpful.The whole ambiance was excellent and Ann even did some laundry for us.Price for that was excellent.The only thing we found expensive was the electricity which for three nights was £19,We were only there in the evening and used as we thought, very little, so I think a winter break could be expensive.In the summer it wouldn't matter.Would stay again and our American friends were thrilled with it.

Room Tip: No choice necessary,all excellent
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parker_rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A lovely house that has everything you need. The surroundings were beautiful and the owners were absolutely perfect. We didn't have a car, so it was a little bit difficult to go somewhere, so I would definitely recommend you come by car. The weather was rather bad during our stay so we had to stay indoors for a day which we didn't mind at all since the cottage was so comfortable and homey. Very close to the station, the Giant's Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede, Bushmills and the Game of Thrones-set. If you have a friendly taxi-driver, he'll give you a little tour for a very cheap price. I would say Ulster Cottages is pretty perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anjelien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Ideal location close to Bushmills, Giant's Causeway, the Walled City of Londonderry, Portrush ect. Modern, clean, bright & spacious, family friendly holiday accommodation. Nothing too much trouble for owners Ann & Paul,a very welcoming couple.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GlasgowHSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann h, Owner at Ulster Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hi
Just to say a big thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in my cottages.
I am pleased you had a good time and you where happy with your cottage.
Thank you for commenting on the cleanness of the cottage as we try very hard to maintain and clean to a very high standard.

Thank You
Hope to see you all again.
Annx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A cycling buddy and myself had decided to ride the Giant's Causeway Sportive in September 2013. We looked for a suitable place to sleep the night before the event and the night of the event. We were fortunate enough to find the Ulster Cottages. They were PERFECT! Clean, quiet, warm and a perfect location for us. There were 3 bedrooms, 2 of them en suite. A bathroom, a small kitchen and a lounge/dining area all perfectly clean, comfortable and suitable for us. 2 couples stayed the 1st night, then another couple joined us with their 4 month old baby for the 2nd night. There is a TV in each bedroom and a perferctly adequate kitchen with fridge, cooker and microwave.
If you are touring round the Glens of Antrim and want a nice place to stay....book this place up!
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
4.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,845 reviews
5.7 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
790 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
733 reviews
4.6 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
709 reviews
3.7 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulster Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulster Cottages

Address: 32 Ballywatt Road, Coleraine BT52 2LT, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Coleraine
Price Range: £80 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Fantastic holiday cottages situated just 2.5 miles from the Royal Portrush Golf Course which hosted the 2012 Irish Open and just 3.5 miles from both Coleraine and Bushmills. Set in rural tranquil surroundings along the spectacular North Coast this property has much to offer including TV's in all 3 bedrooms and living room with all RTE channels, Scandinavian Styled Kitchen and cosy wood burning stove. Ground Floor The Lounge /kitchen/diner, double (tV), bathroom. First Floor double (tv & dressing room) with ensuite shower room, twin (tv) with ensuite shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ulster Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulster Cottages Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing