We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot for a day trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shrewsbury Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Birkenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here 1 night, we did enjoy it but felt that the room was a little on the small side, however the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is clean and the breakfast was good. Our hosts seemed friendly enough, but did not see them very often.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for The Shrewsbury Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our stay here was disappointing. The main problem was the bedroom, which was very small with no space to move around at all. There was one wardrobe but this was tiny and we ended up constantly tripping over our bags. There was a dreadful noise every time we flushed the toilet, which we complained about - but suspect they already knew about. Also the bathroom door did not fit very well and thus was very noisy when shutting. The bed was okay, and the breakfast was very good. When we go back to Oxton we will stay elsewhere. Overall, we do not believe this to be good value for money.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 14.!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed in this Hotel for around 4 Months, I have nothing but good things to say about this Hotel, Nick and Julie were really friendly and made me feel more than welcome, nothing was too much trouble, the food was very good, and the service was always excellent, rooms was always nice and clean, i'd like to thank all the people who worked there, Bob,Tom and Dave(the barman??). If i am back in the area in the future, i will if possible stay there again, Thank you all for a very pleasant stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liquorice219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We recently stayed at the the above mentioned hotel. The owners Nick and Julie Champion along with Julie's parents Bob and Pauline could not have made us more welcome.
Nothing was too much effort and we were made to feel special during our entire stay. We will definitely be back again and again and also will recommend the hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Reataurant meal. Booked for mid-week with a vouvher from Groupon. Despite discount, would not return for food; however, wines were great. Mushrooms with stilton were tasty. Steaks were a big disappointment. Even after stating that steaks were not to my liking, the waiter only offered to cook the steak some more (how much more than "rare" is acceptable?). £77 bill for 2 people was way OTT for the quality of food served.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casanueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Fabulous place to stay, exceptionally friendly helpful staff, great clean rooms, lovely location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here for 1 night in order to visit a local restaurant. Probably won't find myself in the area again, but if i do I will probably stay elsewhere.

Positives
Convenient location for Oxton (and the michelin starred restaurant Fraiche).
Staff polite and helpful
Room (15) was pretty large and the bed/furniture was clean and comfortable.

Negatives
£75 for the room (breakfast not included) is ridiculously overpriced for what you get
Double glazing seals had gone, so room was drafty and road noise carried through
Bathroom smelled funny (possibly of damp)
Bathroom lino was coming away in places and hanging loose
Shower door was hanging off and wouldn't close
Hot water tap was stiff to turn on and then impossible to turn off
The metal pipes in the shower were covered in an unidentifiable substance that looked like (but hopefully wasn't!) battery acid
The soap hanger was in an awfully tatty, rusted state (inexcusable really when a replacement would be about 70p)

Someone needs to give this hotel a good bit of tlc - starting with a few small things that would make a huge difference.

For £75 (no breakfast) I expected far better than this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calico_demon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
0.4 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,688 reviews
3.7 mi away
Albion Guest House
Albion Guest House
#3 of 5 in New Brighton
123 reviews
3.6 mi away
Peel Hey
Peel Hey
#1 of 1 in Frankby
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Lodge

Address: 31 Shrewsbury Road | Oxton Prenton, Birkenhead CH43 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Birkenhead
Price Range: £51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shrewsbury Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shrewsbury Lodge is a quaint Guesthouse in the heart of the beautiful quiet conservation area of Oxton, minutes on foot to the small but welcoming village of Oxton and its wonderful old village pubs, yet only a five minute drive to the town of Birkenhead with its many shops and its most famous local Birkenhead Market We are proud to be one of only a few Wirral Guesthouses to have received a three star guest accommodation rating from the AA. We provide sumptuous comfortable surroundings with a sense of occasion in a welcoming and unpretentious atmosphere with strong emphasis on personal customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Shrewsbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shrewsbury Lodge Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing