We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly overwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shrewsbury Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Birkenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed here last weekend and had room 15 and i was totally and utterly impressed. My husband and I found this sized bedroom very accommodating and airy. The bathroom was very big with a lovely large window right above your head. It was lovely to have a shower and look into the sky! Very clean and staff were very generous. Free complimentary drink on arrival and great atmosphere in the drinking area. Considering the hotel was full it was so lovely and peaceful. The gardens outside of the premises where very highly maintained and car parking is very secure. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. I would also consider staying again and again the great hospitality from the staff and owner makes a massive difference on the overall stay. Thank you a*********

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melmarscar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here 1 night, we did enjoy it but felt that the room was a little on the small side, however the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is clean and the breakfast was good. Our hosts seemed friendly enough, but did not see them very often.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our stay here was disappointing. The main problem was the bedroom, which was very small with no space to move around at all. There was one wardrobe but this was tiny and we ended up constantly tripping over our bags. There was a dreadful noise every time we flushed the toilet, which we complained about - but suspect they already knew about. Also the bathroom door did not fit very well and thus was very noisy when shutting. The bed was okay, and the breakfast was very good. When we go back to Oxton we will stay elsewhere. Overall, we do not believe this to be good value for money.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 14.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed in this Hotel for around 4 Months, I have nothing but good things to say about this Hotel, Nick and Julie were really friendly and made me feel more than welcome, nothing was too much trouble, the food was very good, and the service was always excellent, rooms was always nice and clean, i'd like to thank all the people who worked there, Bob,Tom and Dave(the barman??). If i am back in the area in the future, i will if possible stay there again, Thank you all for a very pleasant stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liquorice219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We recently stayed at the the above mentioned hotel. The owners Nick and Julie Champion along with Julie's parents Bob and Pauline could not have made us more welcome.
Nothing was too much effort and we were made to feel special during our entire stay. We will definitely be back again and again and also will recommend the hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Reataurant meal. Booked for mid-week with a vouvher from Groupon. Despite discount, would not return for food; however, wines were great. Mushrooms with stilton were tasty. Steaks were a big disappointment. Even after stating that steaks were not to my liking, the waiter only offered to cook the steak some more (how much more than "rare" is acceptable?). £77 bill for 2 people was way OTT for the quality of food served.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casanueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Fabulous place to stay, exceptionally friendly helpful staff, great clean rooms, lovely location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
310 reviews
4.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Manor Garden Lodge
Manor Garden Lodge
#1 of 1 in Irby
40 reviews
2.4 mi away
Black Lions Guest House
Black Lions Guest House
#3 of 7 in Birkenhead
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Venezia
Villa Venezia
#6 of 7 in Birkenhead
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Lodge

Address: 31 Shrewsbury Road | Oxton Prenton, Birkenhead CH43 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Birkenhead
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shrewsbury Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shrewsbury Lodge is a quaint Guesthouse in the heart of the beautiful quiet conservation area of Oxton, minutes on foot to the small but welcoming village of Oxton and its wonderful old village pubs, yet only a five minute drive to the town of Birkenhead with its many shops and its most famous local Birkenhead Market We are proud to be one of only a few Wirral Guesthouses to have received a three star guest accommodation rating from the AA. We provide sumptuous comfortable surroundings with a sense of occasion in a welcoming and unpretentious atmosphere with strong emphasis on personal customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Shrewsbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shrewsbury Lodge Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing