We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply brill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shrewsbury Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Birkenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simply brill”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

ive stayed a the shrewsbury lodge many a time after the match at anfield and i can never find a fault with it its in a quiet part of birkenhead and there is no noise from outside to disturb u ive always found the staff really helpful and friendly and whilst leaving the hotel on monday i was stopped by julie one of the owners and she asked me how my stay was and was everything alright and how i was keeping and i thought that very nice of her it made me feel a valued regular guest and for that i will definatly reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: as long as it suits your needs any room the shrewsbury lodge has to offer is perfect. there are 3 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    44
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
46
41
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Spent I night over the Mother's Day weekend at the shrewsbury. We stayed in the family room and very much enjoyed our stay the room was big and roomy the bed was comfy and most importantly breakfast hit the spot in the morning . Everything was as it should be nick and Julie are genial hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewthommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I needed a good value place to stay for the weekend when visiting family. I chose the perfect place. Set in a great location, in a lovely little area. The staff were super friendly and informative when I checked in and made me feel thoroughly at home. The single room was perfect for my needs, quiet, clean and lots of space. Dinner in the restaurant was brilliant and had a great full english breakfast in the morning. I thoroughly look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StruanPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It was a lovely weekend away spent with my friends- we each had a room which was lovely and cosy! The breakfast was good- and I liked the fact that I could have a cooked breakfast as well as cereal and toast etc! The hotel was clean and throughout the stay there was a friendly atmosphere with reliable staff! I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoshana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here with 2 friends for catch up. The service was fantastic, they could not do enough for you. Julie and nick are brilliant and most attentive hosts. Our room was lovely with views across to Liverpool, overall a most enjoyable stay and really handy for trips to Liverpool and surrounding areas. Breakfast was great and freshly cooked to order, coffee cups topped up regularly and plenty of fresh fruit juice. Oxton is a lovely place too with nice bars and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again and enjoy the hospitality of this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a weekend away with the girls and we were all really pleased we stayed here. Julie and Nick went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
Our room was clean and spacious, we had the family room which has two singles and a double bed. We were greeted with a full english breakfast in the morning complimented by fresh coffee and a pot of tea. We will definitely be going back in the summer to make the most of the garden and terraced area. Keep up the great work Julie and Nick.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the Shrewsbury Lodge Hotel on Saturday night and had a really lovely time. We received a wonderfully warm welcome from owners Julie and Nick, stayed in a lovely room with soft, fresh bedding (great pillows!) and a fab full English next morning. The hotel is just off the motorway, very easy to find, and there is lots to see and do in Liverpool. Will most definitely visit again and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSLSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Lodge

Property: The Shrewsbury Lodge
Address: 31 Shrewsbury Road | Oxton Prenton, Birkenhead CH43 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shrewsbury Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shrewsbury Lodge is a quaint Guesthouse in the heart of the beautiful quiet conservation area of Oxton, minutes on foot to the small but welcoming village of Oxton and its wonderful old village pubs, yet only a five minute drive to the town of Birkenhead with its many shops and its most famous local Birkenhead Market We are proud to be one of only a few Wirral Guesthouses to have received a three star guest accommodation rating from the AA. We provide sumptuous comfortable surroundings with a sense of occasion in a welcoming and unpretentious atmosphere with strong emphasis on personal customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Shrewsbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shrewsbury Lodge Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing