We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shrewsbury Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Birkenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel was warm, homely and spotlessly clean. The rooms we had were quite small, but they were well equipped and comfortable, with large, fluffy duvets. The bed in my double room was a little on the firm side for me, but that's a personal preference.

The service was excellent here. Everyone we met was very friendly and keen to offer advice about the local area. They booked our taxis for us and opened the bar later than usual when we were waiting for them. When I was in a delicate state the next morning, Julie gave me a complimentary glass of orange juice, even though breakfast was long over.

We couldn't comment on the breakfasts- we missed them as the service finished at 9.30 and that was just too early for us after our very late night!

We had chosen the hotel based on location for an event we were attending on The Wirral, but actually, it only took around 10-15 minutes to get into the centre of Liverpool via the tunnel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    44
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
46
41
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as I was going out to Liverpool for my birthday. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were standard but, clean. We brought a pizza back and the staff provided plates, knives and forks which I thought was a nice touch. I would stay here again for a one night stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bassyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed for several days at the Shrewsbury Lodge and felt very welcomed there. Every member of the staff gave me excellent advice about the area and helped me as I found a place to live permanently. My room was clean and comfortable, and always well-stocked with tea and biscuits. There is also a bright and open common area that is ideal for relaxing or getting work done.

And last but not least: outstandingly delicious breakfasts that are perfectly cooked, every time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Had a girly weekend away and couldn't have chosen a better venue. Nick and Julie were perfect hosts. Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious and cooked to order.
The hotel is ideally located in a quiet area and both Central Birkenhead and Liverpool are easily accessible. Would not hesitate in recommending this most welcoming of places.
Thank you both for your hospitality and attention, we will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 835lizn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

ive stayed a the shrewsbury lodge many a time after the match at anfield and i can never find a fault with it its in a quiet part of birkenhead and there is no noise from outside to disturb u ive always found the staff really helpful and friendly and whilst leaving the hotel on monday i was stopped by julie one of the owners and she asked me how my stay was and was everything alright and how i was keeping and i thought that very nice of her it made me feel a valued regular guest and for that i will definatly reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: as long as it suits your needs any room the shrewsbury lodge has to offer is perfect. there are 3 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Spent I night over the Mother's Day weekend at the shrewsbury. We stayed in the family room and very much enjoyed our stay the room was big and roomy the bed was comfy and most importantly breakfast hit the spot in the morning . Everything was as it should be nick and Julie are genial hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewthommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I needed a good value place to stay for the weekend when visiting family. I chose the perfect place. Set in a great location, in a lovely little area. The staff were super friendly and informative when I checked in and made me feel thoroughly at home. The single room was perfect for my needs, quiet, clean and lots of space. Dinner in the restaurant was brilliant and had a great full english breakfast in the morning. I thoroughly look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StruanPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
0.4 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
4.8 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,190 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Lodge

Property: The Shrewsbury Lodge
Address: 31 Shrewsbury Road | Oxton Prenton, Birkenhead CH43 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shrewsbury Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shrewsbury Lodge is a quaint Guesthouse in the heart of the beautiful quiet conservation area of Oxton, minutes on foot to the small but welcoming village of Oxton and its wonderful old village pubs, yet only a five minute drive to the town of Birkenhead with its many shops and its most famous local Birkenhead Market We are proud to be one of only a few Wirral Guesthouses to have received a three star guest accommodation rating from the AA. We provide sumptuous comfortable surroundings with a sense of occasion in a welcoming and unpretentious atmosphere with strong emphasis on personal customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shrewsbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shrewsbury Lodge Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing