We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed on business with colleagues, the and would come again!
The rooms were to a very good standard, I had room 7 which was vast and included a four poster bed which was somewhat wasted on me but very nice all the same. The staff were brilliant, very attentive and worked hard throughout our stay. I broke on of my unwritten rules when I stayed here, based on my colleagues recommendation we elected to eat in as opposed to wandering off out to find something to eat as is my want. And I have to say it was the right thing to do! The food was in a word, EXCELLENT it really was fantastic, well cooked, tasty and well presented probably some of the best food I have eaten while on the road!

Would I come again? Absolutely I would, can't wait!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdcsmith2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

this was are 2nd visit for a meal to this hotel, had to go back after our first visit, we found the service, food, and staff,brilliant, would highly recommend!!! and steve the general manager bent over backwards, delivering quality service yet again!!! we will be returning again in the future for are special nights!!!!!! allan b. lennon505

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennon505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

What a great Hotel, room fantastic, sunday lunch was out of this world and plenty of it. The service was also excellent. Sorry, could not find a negative. During our month in the UK we stayed at some 4 star hotels that were not up to this standard.

Room Tip: We had the room above the restaurant, I think it was No. 3. Lovely view of the front garden and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife's sister and mother stayed in the Riverhill Hotel for the third time recently and again received excellent & friendly service from all of the staff. Their favourite room is nicely decorated with a cosy feel, the beds being fitted out with very firm mattresses that ensure comfort. When they visit we always join them for an evening meal, and found the food to be at it's usual excellent standard this time. For visitors like ourselves the attractive price makes it great value, especially with the excellent choice of desserts. We look forward to the next time they visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My mother and I stayed at the Riverhill Hotel approx two weeks ago. We stayed for three nights in this little gem. We got an exceptionally warm welcome from the staff at this establishment and were shown to our room by the GM Steve. Our room was comfortable and better than many 4 stars I have stayed in. Lovely white bed linen, super comfy beds and flat screen tv. We ate dinner in the hotel on our first and second nights and we were truly impressed with the food, service and well appointed dining room, we were given a great table by the bay window overlooking the garden. Breakfast is served in the same room and it also was very good. It appears we were not the only ones impressed with this hotel as at breakfast on the first morning others were also commenting on the high caliber of this hotel. I cannot thank the Riverhill enough for our lovely stay and if I ever find myself in this lovely part of the world again I will definitely be staying with Steve and Co. If you do decide to stay here, it only takes a few minutes to walk to the quaint village of Oxton - well worth a wander.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed just one night here in October and was pleasantly surprised. Had been told the hotel was a bit 'chintzy' but this doesn't detract from the good things about this place.
The room was large, clean and warm with a huge bathroom. Bed was extremely comfy and large, we'd chosen one of the four poster rooms and I'd definitely recommend it.
What's great about this place though is the staff. Friendly, courteous and helpful. Nothing felt too much trouble.
What's even better is the food! I'd really suggest eating here if you're staying. The dining room is very smart but without being snooty and although the hotel is 3 star, the food is fantastic. The staff (again) are excellent, menu is fairly extensive and should meet everyone's tastes.
Would definitely come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forevared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay and unfortunately we were disappointed as the hotel did not meet our expectations.
We were allocated room 23 next to the front door and as identified in another review this room smells strongly of smoke and did not feel particularly clean especially as we discovered a pair of dirty socks and used tissues in one of the drawers on arrival. This room is in a part of the hotel that appears to be a prefabricated extension and is a little like staying in a caravan being a little cramped and can be very noisy particularly when the night porter decides to sweep up outside the front entrance at 6am which he did on Sunday morning, every time his brush touched something solid the noise echoed through the room and made it impossible to sleep.
Staff were generally pleasant and helpful particularly as we checked in quite late and despite the restaurant being about to close we were able to order sandwiches which we ate in a comfortable bar area.
Breakfast is okay, although despite the menu detailing the items included in the standard cooked breakfast, what you get seems to be just what is available in the kitchen as I ordered the same breakfast each morning but it was noticeably different on each occasion. Service is also slow and haphazard as I had finished my cooked breakfast before my wife received the boiled egg she ordered at the same time, it was also noticeable that she had ordered two eggs but only received one.
In conclusion this hotel is quite dated, lacks quality and as such is over-priced at £89.50 per room per night. Its shame our stay was not good and it was perhaps not surprising the reception staff did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay. Sorry but we cannot recommend this hotel as a place to stay but get the impression the restaurant may be worth a visit.

Room Tip: Avoid room 23 if you need a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarlisleSpitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 October 2011

dear guest
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.com

I would like to assure you that your observations are personally read by me and then further reviewed by my team. Thank you for bringing to my attention your concerns with regards to your stay and the organization and breakfast . We are right now investigating what might have gone wrong during your stay to ensure we provide best stay and dining experience for our guests. I sincerely apologize if there was anything not up to your expectations. At the Riverhill hotel guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and we continuously strive to achieve this goal.

We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and I only wish you had informed me of your issues earlier as i would have dealt with all your complaints as soon as possible, i have investigated all the issues you have outlined as follows;

A pair of dirty socks and an used tissue, there is no excuse for this being found in your room

Room 23 is a ground floor room, when making your booking you requested a ground floor room for your mother and that is the reason we allocated the ground floor room. We acknowledge that some guests have been smoking in the garden, we will review this and make changes that ensure other guests do not have the problem of the smell of smoke in the room.

I have spoken to the night porter in respect of him brushing up so early this was due to the amount of rubbish and leaves which had fallen due to the heavy winds the evening before and I have pointed out that it would have been wiser to have done this at a later time.

With ref to breakfast we do not rush our guests, but it seems that we did not on this occasion meet the usual standards we set ourselves.

We always want and welcome feedback from our guests be it positive or negative.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Riverhill Hotel in the near future, where we can have the pleasure of serving you once again.

Kind Regards
steve
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
824 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,734 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range: £74 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing