We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Review”
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The restaurant and hotel has recently changed ownership so there may be teething troubles. The waiter staff has not changed and they are as good as they have ever been, oh I wish the food was the same. Poorly cooked vegetables, cold potatoes, poor serving size and a price increase which now sees a two course meal for the price of what used to be three courses.

I do wish the new chef every success with what used to be regarded as a top local restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RailwayNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    54
    29
    7
    12
See reviews for
86
87
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

There's not that much choice in the immediate area, so for me there was something of a feeling of chance in booking the Riverhill. However I was happy with my decision to stay there. My room was on the small side, but immaculately clean. Breakfast was good, albeit the hot selection portions were rather stingy - when only ordering a small selection from the full breakfast it's friendly to give more than one rasher of bacon and one sausage. But ingredients were quality. The restaurant was full so I couldn't eat in there in the evening, but I picked up from locals that the restaurant is very highly regarded indeed. It's a little on the pricey side - check their website for deals. Staff were friendly.

Beware that the cab firm they favour is not reliable - I ordered a cab for 5.00pm, and went downstairs at 4.55pm to see it driving away. "I'm afraid they are a bit impatient" I was told. Leaving because your fare has not turned up more than 5 minutes early is just downright rude and unacceptable, let alone impatient. I ended up late for an appointment - Riverhill, change your cab company!

Overall a good hotel staffed by pleasant, well-intentioned staff.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed on business with colleagues, the and would come again!
The rooms were to a very good standard, I had room 7 which was vast and included a four poster bed which was somewhat wasted on me but very nice all the same. The staff were brilliant, very attentive and worked hard throughout our stay. I broke on of my unwritten rules when I stayed here, based on my colleagues recommendation we elected to eat in as opposed to wandering off out to find something to eat as is my want. And I have to say it was the right thing to do! The food was in a word, EXCELLENT it really was fantastic, well cooked, tasty and well presented probably some of the best food I have eaten while on the road!

Would I come again? Absolutely I would, can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdcsmith2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

this was are 2nd visit for a meal to this hotel, had to go back after our first visit, we found the service, food, and staff,brilliant, would highly recommend!!! and steve the general manager bent over backwards, delivering quality service yet again!!! we will be returning again in the future for are special nights!!!!!! allan b. lennon505

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lennon505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2011

What a great Hotel, room fantastic, sunday lunch was out of this world and plenty of it. The service was also excellent. Sorry, could not find a negative. During our month in the UK we stayed at some 4 star hotels that were not up to this standard.

Room Tip: We had the room above the restaurant, I think it was No. 3. Lovely view of the front garden and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife's sister and mother stayed in the Riverhill Hotel for the third time recently and again received excellent & friendly service from all of the staff. Their favourite room is nicely decorated with a cosy feel, the beds being fitted out with very firm mattresses that ensure comfort. When they visit we always join them for an evening meal, and found the food to be at it's usual excellent standard this time. For visitors like ourselves the attractive price makes it great value, especially with the excellent choice of desserts. We look forward to the next time they visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My mother and I stayed at the Riverhill Hotel approx two weeks ago. We stayed for three nights in this little gem. We got an exceptionally warm welcome from the staff at this establishment and were shown to our room by the GM Steve. Our room was comfortable and better than many 4 stars I have stayed in. Lovely white bed linen, super comfy beds and flat screen tv. We ate dinner in the hotel on our first and second nights and we were truly impressed with the food, service and well appointed dining room, we were given a great table by the bay window overlooking the garden. Breakfast is served in the same room and it also was very good. It appears we were not the only ones impressed with this hotel as at breakfast on the first morning others were also commenting on the high caliber of this hotel. I cannot thank the Riverhill enough for our lovely stay and if I ever find myself in this lovely part of the world again I will definitely be staying with Steve and Co. If you do decide to stay here, it only takes a few minutes to walk to the quaint village of Oxton - well worth a wander.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
782 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,245 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
282 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Property: Riverhill Hotel
Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing