We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely helpful Hotel”
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex now and again
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Homely helpful Hotel”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

AS the title suggests, called Hotel late on Wednesday and was given last room available for the following Saturday night. Arrived and shown room wow a four poster. Very friendly staff. Dinner was apar with an exclusive restaurant with good service. Comfy night and then good breakfast.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casualitinerent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    51
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
78
85
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed at The Riverhill with friends for 2 nights 15/16 Feb 2013. I had a large comfy room and good breakfasts. I didn't have dinner there but the bar was buzzing on Sat night with those who were dining in. Parking was available. It was a short walk to good restaurants in Oxton village and a short drive to Birkenhead centre and Liverpool.I enjoyed being in a non corporate hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Bedroom was small and the bed particularly small.
The newer bedroom extension had the feel of a suburban house with budget decor.
I wasnt sure what to expect of a resturant with a chief with huge talent in charge, but the meal from the a la Carte menu was Ok.
I suppose we were expecting the outcome to be better, but it was the same as many other expensive resturants.
Pudding from the trolly seemed however a downmarket idea, no effort therefore made to offer a hot pudding choice.
Service was first class, prompt and attentive.
The decor and lighting in the resturant and bar was flat and uninspiring.
There was nothing at all to complain about but little to shout about either.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberleyabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We chose this hotel firstly because of the Chef Claire Lara who runs the restaurant and secondly it is close to Tranmere Rovers football ground. We got a warm welcome on arrival and our room was spacious, spotlessley clean with lots of nice touches. The service we received both in the bar and in the restaurant was second to none and the food was magnificent and in my opinion not to expensive. We will definitely go back there when we are up that way again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I went for a meal with some friends and enjoyed the evening very much. The staff were very busy but took time to greet us and make sure we were supplied with drinks. The food was excellent, as usual. I highly recommend The Riverhill.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Lovely Food & Great Service. Went with friends for a Christmas meal.The food was as you would expect from a winner of Master Chef very well cooked and presented. Plenty to eat and served very hot. A good selection on the menu thankfully not all turkey and trimmings

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Came here for a birthday meal with my family and based primarily on what I hoped a Masterchef winner could produce in terms of food. The welcome was nice and attentive and we started in the bar with a few drinks. Felt a little rushed on ordering but think this was due to a number of large parties dining at the same time. Starters arrived pretty much as soon as we sat down which was not ideal but again I understand the need for the kitchen to get the meals out. Waiters were not very attentive and it took a while each time we wanted to order a drink. We could have spent more on wine if only we could get it before we had finished eating a course.

I had scallops and duck and it was cooked and presented vey nicely and as I expected. The fish and lentils as well as the seafood starter did not inspire. The meats were served carvery style and my family seemed to enjoy them. Potatoes and veg were served on the side in massive portions, it seemed like a pound of each and not necessary. Puds were served old style off a trolley.

All in all, we enjoyed the meal but I would like to come back and try the tasting menu/regular menu to see if the cooking on the whole has moved away from carvery type food, and loaded portions. I would also like to see desserts made to order. I suspect there is a balancing act going on between the traditional and the modern, and hopefully the balance will tip more in favour of the modern.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mynameisalwaystaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedpj, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear guest
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback we always welcome feedback from our guest is it positive or negative,
We are still in a transition period were we are developing new menu ranges while at the same time catering for our loyal customer base, we will be launching our new taster menu and The à la Carte Menu plus our normal two course dinner menu from Monday the 7th January were we will again challenge our own high standards of food and service at all times to meet all our customer expectations
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Riverhill Hotel in the near future, where we can have the pleasure of serving you once again.

Regards
steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
747 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,156 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
280 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Property: Riverhill Hotel
Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing