We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to impress!”
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I've been to the Riverhill for dinner with family and friends on so many occasions, tonight being the latest and it never fails to hit the nail on the head. The food is perfect, flavoursome and well portioned. The dessert trolley is such a brilliant touch and full of treats. The service couldn't be more attentive without being over the top and the price is very reasonable for such a great evening. A really comfortable dining experience every time. I couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissOAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night prior to a business trip to Belfast. From my arrival until leaving I was truly impressed with the friendly, attentive and good humoured staff. They really went out of their way to ensure I was provided for. My room was clean and very well furnished and had a modern en suite which was superb. I had an evening meal in the restaurant and although the food was not cheap it was excellent and very well presented and served quickly. I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation and recommend it

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Have visited before for dinners but on this occasion it was a funeral buffet. Drinks were quite expensive(unless you live down south), however staff were friendly, polite and efficient and the buffet food was excellence with a choice of hot and cold dishes, coated chicken pieces, sandwiches, pies, volovents, quiche, crisps, nuts etc. There was plenty of food which was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

AS the title suggests, called Hotel late on Wednesday and was given last room available for the following Saturday night. Arrived and shown room wow a four poster. Very friendly staff. Dinner was apar with an exclusive restaurant with good service. Comfy night and then good breakfast.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casualitinerent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed at The Riverhill with friends for 2 nights 15/16 Feb 2013. I had a large comfy room and good breakfasts. I didn't have dinner there but the bar was buzzing on Sat night with those who were dining in. Parking was available. It was a short walk to good restaurants in Oxton village and a short drive to Birkenhead centre and Liverpool.I enjoyed being in a non corporate hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Bedroom was small and the bed particularly small.
The newer bedroom extension had the feel of a suburban house with budget decor.
I wasnt sure what to expect of a resturant with a chief with huge talent in charge, but the meal from the a la Carte menu was Ok.
I suppose we were expecting the outcome to be better, but it was the same as many other expensive resturants.
Pudding from the trolly seemed however a downmarket idea, no effort therefore made to offer a hot pudding choice.
Service was first class, prompt and attentive.
The decor and lighting in the resturant and bar was flat and uninspiring.
There was nothing at all to complain about but little to shout about either.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimberleyabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We chose this hotel firstly because of the Chef Claire Lara who runs the restaurant and secondly it is close to Tranmere Rovers football ground. We got a warm welcome on arrival and our room was spacious, spotlessley clean with lots of nice touches. The service we received both in the bar and in the restaurant was second to none and the food was magnificent and in my opinion not to expensive. We will definitely go back there when we are up that way again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
826 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
196 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
277 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range: £74 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing