We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE TO HAVE A WEDDING RECEPTION”
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE TO HAVE A WEDDING RECEPTION”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we chose the riverhill to have our wedding reception, all the staff were fantastic in helping us prepare for our big day we found the whole time we spent there was a pleasurable experience throughout . the food was delicious and staff were wonderful. our honeymoon suite was beautiful. the hotel has a homely and intimate feeling would recommend anyone to have there wedding reception here plus it has a lovely garden to have beautiful photos taken.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnm209958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Sir
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to being of service to you and your family on their big wedding day , the weather help us at the weekend as it was very kind to all our brides and grooms as we had catered for weddings on the Friday Saturday and Sunday of that week.
We look forward to being of service to the bride and groom on their first anniversary meal which is free of charge as we always provide that in their wedding package
Kind regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    52
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
80
85
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My nieces wedding reception was held here and since we were the only couple who were not local decided to take advantage and stay at the hotel. There service during the wedding reception was excellent with everybody having their starters, main & sweet at the same time. Very generous with the top quality food. Steven the manager was an added bonus as he kept the order running with humour not like other stuffy managers! Our room was spacious and had a decent sized bathroom in with the very reasonable price. Comfortable beds (genuinely) and although we were situated offsite the carpark we didn't hear a peep. I made a joke to the receptionist that they even have VELVET toilet paper!,
Why the perfect end to a weekend? I told Steven if the breakfast was as good as the rest of our stay there would be a write up... They didn't disappoint and here I am. Thanks again to you and your team. For anybody stopping in Liverpool town centre it would be cheaper to take a taxi through the tunnel and stay at the quietly located hotel as it is not far from the tunnel exit. It would still work out cheaper and you get all the above to add.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coza9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Sir
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to being of service to you and your family on their big wedding day , and you all enjoyed our offerings of our highly rated full English breakfast
I was pleased to see you all enjoyed my humour as it does help to break the ice when brides or more so grooms are getting ready to give there speech also the weather help us at the weekend as it was very kind to all our brides and grooms as we had catered for weddings on the Friday Saturday and Sunday of that week.
We look forward to being of service to the bride and groom on their first anniversary meal which is free of charge as we always provide that in their wedding package
When you are next in the Wirral please do pop in for a coffee and a catch up on your family
Kind regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great meal at the Riverhill to celebrate my wife's birthday.
Service was very good and attentive, Food from the kitchen was excellent. Very tasty, very well presented definitely 5*! One thing let it down, Attention to Detail! I am not sure if that was the fault of the kitchen or the restaurant.
but it was a pity such a fantastic dining experience was spoiled by being offered hard (not crusty) Bread Rolls and non other were available and I was offered some bread instead which I declined.

On the table was a feedback card which stated that our Feedback was impotant. (was this meant to be important or impotent one wonders)

Again, it's down to Attention to Detail. Had it not been for these issues the evening would have been perfect and I would have given 5* gladly

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark19449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at this hotel.
We stayed here when visiting our son who stays in Birkenhead and the arrival of our new grand-daughter katlin in Feb.
The staff at this hotel could not do enough for us,they were helpful and freindly.
When our daughter and husband came down at short notice for the night they put a small bed in our room for our other grandaughter Ava to sleep in.
Was just a great 4 days away and looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I've been to the Riverhill for dinner with family and friends on so many occasions, tonight being the latest and it never fails to hit the nail on the head. The food is perfect, flavoursome and well portioned. The dessert trolley is such a brilliant touch and full of treats. The service couldn't be more attentive without being over the top and the price is very reasonable for such a great evening. A really comfortable dining experience every time. I couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissOAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night prior to a business trip to Belfast. From my arrival until leaving I was truly impressed with the friendly, attentive and good humoured staff. They really went out of their way to ensure I was provided for. My room was clean and very well furnished and had a modern en suite which was superb. I had an evening meal in the restaurant and although the food was not cheap it was excellent and very well presented and served quickly. I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation and recommend it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Have visited before for dinners but on this occasion it was a funeral buffet. Drinks were quite expensive(unless you live down south), however staff were friendly, polite and efficient and the buffet food was excellence with a choice of hot and cold dishes, coated chicken pieces, sandwiches, pies, volovents, quiche, crisps, nuts etc. There was plenty of food which was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,547 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,190 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Property: Riverhill Hotel
Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing